Cochrane · systematic review · CD004029
Non‐antiepileptic drugs for trigeminal neuralgia
Zhang, J, Yang, M, Zhou, M, et al. · Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews · 2013 · Cochrane Library
NeuromuscularAMSTAR 2: not assessed
SoF tableOnly the outcomes this review put in its Summary of Findings table are listed (the Cochrane Handbook caps them at about seven per comparison). Its other analyses are not shown here.
Questions
16
current version
GRADE rated
3
No studies
6
Included studies
NR
No studies 6 · 37.5%Ungraded 7 · 43.8%Very low 0 · 0%Low 3 · 18.8%Moderate 0 · 0%High 0 · 0%
Ungraded means an effect was reported without a GRADE rating; it is not a gap. No studies means the review found nothing to answer the question. The six categories are a display order, not a score.
Questions and results
Tizanidine versus carbamazepine for trigeminal neuralgia
Population: patients with trigeminal neuralgia
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Immediate improvement in pain relief Number of participants improved (good/very good efficacy) on a self assessed categorical 'overall efficacy score' (0 = no efficacy to 4 = very good) Tizanidine vs carbamazepine | RR 0.3 [0.05, 1.89] | 1 study · 11 participants | Low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, indirectness |
50% pain reduction 12 weeks after the start of treatment Not measured Tizanidine vs carbamazepine | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Quality of life assessment 12 weeks after the start of treatment Not measured Tizanidine vs carbamazepine | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Adverse effects (not reported) Tizanidine vs carbamazepine | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 11 participants | Ungraded |
Tocainide versus carbamazepine for trigeminal neuralgia
Population: patients with trigeminal neuralgia
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Pain relief (frequency and intensity) from the baseline 0 to 10‐point scale Tocainide vs carbamazepine | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 24 participants | Ungraded |
50% pain reduction 12 weeks after the start of treatment Not measured Tocainide vs carbamazepine | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Quality of life assessment 12 weeks after the start of treatment Not measured Tocainide vs carbamazepine | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Adverse effects Tocainide vs carbamazepine | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 24 participants | Ungraded |
Proparacaine hydrochloride 0.5% eye drops versus placebo for trigeminal neuralgia
Population: patients with trigeminal neuralgia
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Immediate improvement in pain relief Number of participants improved (≥ 2 level decrease in pain on 10‐point verbal rating scale, or pain gone or rare) Proparacaine hydrochloride 0.5% eye drops vs placebo | RR 1.06 [0.37, 2.99] | 1 study · 47 participants | Low Downgraded: imprecision |
50% pain reduction 12 weeks after the start of treatment Not measured Proparacaine hydrochloride 0.5% eye drops vs placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Quality of life assessment 12 weeks after the start of treatment Not measured Proparacaine hydrochloride 0.5% eye drops vs placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Adverse effects (not reported) Proparacaine hydrochloride 0.5% eye drops vs placebo | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 47 participants | Ungraded |
Pimozide versus carbamazepine for trigeminal neuralgia
Population: patients with trigeminal neuralgia
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Pain relief (TN score) Pimozide vs carbamazepine | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 96 participants | Low Downgraded: risk of bias |
50% pain reduction 12 weeks after the start of treatment Not measured Pimozide vs carbamazepine | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 96 participants | Ungraded |
Quality of life assessment 12 weeks after the start of treatment Not measured Pimozide vs carbamazepine | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 96 participants | Ungraded |
Adverse effects The number of participants with adverse effects Pimozide vs carbamazepine | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 96 participants | Ungraded |