Cochrane · systematic review · CD003725
Corticosteroids for the treatment of Duchenne muscular dystrophy
Matthews, E, Brassington, R, Kuntzer, T, et al. · Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews · 2016 · Cochrane Library
NeuromuscularAMSTAR 2: not assessed
SoF tableOnly the outcomes this review put in its Summary of Findings table are listed (the Cochrane Handbook caps them at about seven per comparison). Its other analyses are not shown here.
Questions
23
current version
GRADE rated
14
No studies
7
Included studies
NR
No studies 7 · 30.4%Ungraded 2 · 8.7%Very low 2 · 8.7%Low 3 · 13%Moderate 9 · 39.1%High 0 · 0%
Ungraded means an effect was reported without a GRADE rating; it is not a gap. No studies means the review found nothing to answer the question. The six categories are a display order, not a score.
Questions and results
Corticosteroids versus placebo for Duchenne muscular dystrophy
Population: patients with Duchenne muscular dystrophy
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Prolongation of time to loss of ambulation ‐ not reported Corticosteroids vs placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Mean change in average muscle score: prednisone ‐ daily dose regimen (0.75 mg/kg/day) Corticosteroids vs placebo | no estimate extracted | 3 studies · 147 participants | Moderate Downgraded: risk of bias, publication bias |
Nine‐metre walking/running time: prednisone ‐ daily dose regimen (0.75 mg/kg/day) Corticosteroids vs placebo | no estimate extracted | 3 studies · 111 participants | Moderate Downgraded: risk of bias, publication bias |
4‐stair climbing time: prednisone ‐ daily dose regimen (0.75 mg/kg/day) Corticosteroids vs placebo | no estimate extracted | 4 studies · 152 participants | Moderate Downgraded: risk of bias, publication bias |
Mean % weight gain: prednisone ‐ daily dose regimen (0.75 mg/kg/day) Corticosteroids vs placebo | no estimate extracted | 2 studies · 126 participants | Moderate Downgraded: risk of bias, publication bias |
Behavioural changes ‐ prednisone (0.75 mg/kg/day) Corticosteroids vs placebo | RR 1.39 [0.94, 2.06] | 2 studies · 135 participants | Moderate Downgraded: risk of bias, publication bias |
Fractures Corticosteroids vs placebo | no estimate extracted | 3 studies · 143 participants | Ungraded |
Weekend‐only versus daily prednisone for Duchenne muscular dystrophy
Population: patients with Duchenne muscular dystrophy
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Prolongation of time to loss of ambulation ‐ not reported Weekend‐only vs daily prednisone | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Change in muscle strength ‐ QMT arm score (lb) Weekend‐only vs daily prednisone | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 57 participants | Moderate Downgraded: imprecision |
Change in muscle strength ‐ QMT leg score (lb) Weekend‐only vs daily prednisone | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 57 participants | Moderate Downgraded: imprecision |
Change in muscle strength ‐ MMT score Weekend‐only vs daily prednisone | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 54 participants | Low Downgraded: imprecision |
Change in 10‐metre walking time Weekend‐only vs daily prednisone | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 56 participants | Moderate Downgraded: imprecision |
Change in 4‐stair climbing time Weekend‐only vs daily prednisone | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 55 participants | Moderate Downgraded: imprecision |
BMI (kg/m2) at end of study Weekend‐only vs daily prednisone | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 58 participants | Low Downgraded: imprecision |
Behavioural changes Weekend‐only vs daily prednisone | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 54 participants | Low Downgraded: imprecision |
Fractures ‐ not reported Weekend‐only vs daily prednisone | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 53 participants | Ungraded |
Deflazacort versus prednisone for Duchenne muscular dystrophy
Population: patients with Duchenne muscular dystrophy
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Prolongation of time to loss of ambulation ‐ not reported Deflazacort vs prednisone | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Muscle strength ‐ not reported Deflazacort vs prednisone | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Change in 10‐metre walking time Deflazacort vs prednisone | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Change in 4‐stair climbing time Deflazacort vs prednisone | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Weight gain (%) Deflazacort vs prednisone | no estimate extracted | 2 studies · 43 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, publication bias |
Behavioural changes Deflazacort vs prednisone | RR 1.07 [0.53, 2.17] | 1 study · 17 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, publication bias |
Fractures Deflazacort vs prednisone | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |