Question · asked by 1 review
Clinical examination with 24-month recall vs Clinical examination with 12-month recall: Total time (examination plus treatment) (minutes)
- Population
- Regular-attending primary-care dental patients aged 3, 16 or 18 years at entry (aged up to 20; low caries risk)
- Intervention
- Clinical examination with 24-month recall
- Comparison
- Clinical examination with 12-month recall
- Outcome
- Total time (examination plus treatment) (minutes)
Clinical examination with 24-month recall showed no clear difference in total time (examination plus treatment) (minutes) compared with clinical examination with 12-month recall; GRADE not reported.
What each review found
Current versions onlyNo studies found 0 · 0%GRADE not reported 6 · 75%Very low 2 · 25%Low 0 · 0%Moderate 0 · 0%High 0 · 0%
| Finding | Effect | Studies | GRADE certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Clinical examination with 24-month recall vs Clinical examination with 12-month recall Total time (examination plus treatment) (minutes) · Regular-attending primary-care dental patients aged 3, 16 or 18 years at entry (aged up to 20; low caries risk) · 2 years, 3-5 year olds (primary teeth) Clinical examination with 24-month recall showed no clear difference in total time (examination plus treatment) (minutes) compared with clinical examination with 12-month recall; GRADE not reported. Recall intervals for oral health in primary care patients (2020) · Cochrane All outcomes | MD -10 [-26.7, 6.7] | 1 study · 58 participants | GRADE not reported |
Clinical examination with 24-month recall vs Clinical examination with 12-month recall Total time (examination plus treatment) (minutes) · Regular-attending primary-care dental patients aged 3, 16 or 18 years at entry (aged up to 20; low caries risk) · 2 years, 16-20 year olds (permanent teeth) Clinical examination with 24-month recall led to lower total time (examination plus treatment) (minutes) compared with clinical examination with 12-month recall; GRADE not reported. Recall intervals for oral health in primary care patients (2020) · Cochrane All outcomes | MD -23.7 [-43.28, -4.12] | 1 study · 127 participants | GRADE not reported |
Clinical examination with 24-month recall vs Clinical examination with 12-month recall Total time (examination plus treatment) (minutes) · Regular-attending primary-care dental patients aged 3, 16 or 18 years at entry (aged up to 20; low caries risk) · 2 years, 3-5 year olds (primary teeth) It is very uncertain whether clinical examination with 24-month recall changes total time (examination plus treatment) (minutes) compared with clinical examination with 12-month recall (very low certainty). Recall intervals for oral health in primary care patients (2013) · Cochrane All outcomesearlier version CD004346.PUB4, superseded | MD -10 [-26.7, 6.7] | 1 study · 58 participants | Very low |
Clinical examination with 24-month recall vs Clinical examination with 12-month recall Total time (examination plus treatment) (minutes) · Regular-attending primary-care dental patients aged 3, 16 or 18 years at entry (aged up to 20; low caries risk) · 2 years, 16-20 year olds (permanent teeth) It is very uncertain whether clinical examination with 24-month recall changes total time (examination plus treatment) (minutes) compared with clinical examination with 12-month recall (very low certainty). Recall intervals for oral health in primary care patients (2013) · Cochrane All outcomesearlier version CD004346.PUB4, superseded | MD -23.7 [-43.28, -4.12] | 1 study · 127 participants | Very low |
Clinical examination with 24-month recall vs Clinical examination with 12-month recall Total time (examination plus treatment) (minutes) · Regular-attending primary-care dental patients aged 3, 16 or 18 years at entry (aged up to 20; low caries risk) · 2 years, 16-20 year olds (permanent teeth) Clinical examination with 24-month recall showed no clear difference in total time (examination plus treatment) (minutes) compared with clinical examination with 12-month recall; GRADE not reported. Recall intervals for oral health in primary care patients (2007) · Cochrane All outcomesearlier version CD004346.PUB3, superseded | Statistically significant difference in total clinical time favouring less time in the 24-month recall group among 18-20 year olds; not significant in 16-18 year olds; no pooled estimate reported. | 1 study | GRADE not reported |
Clinical examination with 24-month recall vs Clinical examination with 12-month recall Total time (examination plus treatment) (minutes) · Regular-attending primary-care dental patients aged 3, 16 or 18 years at entry (aged up to 20; low caries risk) · 2 years, 3-5 year olds (primary teeth) Clinical examination with 24-month recall showed no clear difference in total time (examination plus treatment) (minutes) compared with clinical examination with 12-month recall; GRADE not reported. Recall intervals for oral health in primary care patients (2007) · Cochrane All outcomesearlier version CD004346.PUB3, superseded | No statistically significant difference in total clinical time between 24-month and 12-month recall in the 3-5 year (and 16-18 year) group; a trend toward less time with 24-month recall; no pooled estimate reported. | 1 study | GRADE not reported |
Clinical examination with 24-month recall vs Clinical examination with 12-month recall Total time (examination plus treatment) (minutes) · Regular-attending primary-care dental patients aged 3, 16 or 18 years at entry (aged up to 20; low caries risk) · 2 years, 16-20 year olds (permanent teeth) Clinical examination with 24-month recall showed no clear difference in total time (examination plus treatment) (minutes) compared with clinical examination with 12-month recall; GRADE not reported. Recall intervals for oral health in primary care patients (2005) · Cochrane All outcomesearlier version CD004346.PUB2, superseded | Statistically significant difference in total clinical time favouring less time in the 24-month recall group among 18-20 year olds; not significant in 16-18 year olds; no pooled estimate reported. | 1 study | GRADE not reported |
Clinical examination with 24-month recall vs Clinical examination with 12-month recall Total time (examination plus treatment) (minutes) · Regular-attending primary-care dental patients aged 3, 16 or 18 years at entry (aged up to 20; low caries risk) · 2 years, 3-5 year olds (primary teeth) Clinical examination with 24-month recall showed no clear difference in total time (examination plus treatment) (minutes) compared with clinical examination with 12-month recall; GRADE not reported. Recall intervals for oral health in primary care patients (2005) · Cochrane All outcomesearlier version CD004346.PUB2, superseded | No statistically significant difference in total clinical time between 24-month and 12-month recall in the 3-5 year (and 16-18 year) group; a trend toward less time with 24-month recall; no pooled estimate reported. | 1 study | GRADE not reported |
Findings are shown side by side, never pooled across reviews.
The reviews
| Review | Searched up to | Included studies | AMSTAR 2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Recall intervals for oral health in primary care patients 2020 · Cochrane All outcomes | 2020-01 | Not listed | Not assessed |
How reviews are matched to this question
Reviews word the same question differently. Four decision models (TypeSafe's Jev, Liquid AI's d1-ultra, SubQ Snap and Baseten's Elephant) judged each wording of the population, intervention, comparator and outcome against the others; two wordings count as the same when at least three of them agree and none clearly disagrees, and findings count as this question only when all four elements match. Timing, setting and subgroup never split a question: they are shown on each finding.