Question · asked by 1 review
Arthroscopy vs Arthrocentesis: Maximal mouth opening (interincisal distance)
- Population
- Adults (older than 18 years) with a temporomandibular disorder (synovitis, disc displacement with or without reduction, myofascial dysfunction, degenerative disease, or psycho-affective disorder with orofacial pain)
- Intervention
- Arthroscopy
- Comparison
- Arthrocentesis
- Outcome
- Maximal mouth opening (interincisal distance)
Arthroscopy led to higher maximum interincisal opening (mm) after 12 months compared with arthrocentesis; GRADE not reported.
What each review found
Current versions only| Finding | Effect | Studies | GRADE certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Arthroscopy vs Arthrocentesis Maximum interincisal opening (mm) after 12 months · Adults (older than 18 years) with a temporomandibular disorder (synovitis, disc displacement with or without… · 12 months Arthroscopy led to higher maximum interincisal opening (mm) after 12 months compared with arthrocentesis; GRADE not reported. Arthroscopy for temporomandibular disorders (2011) · Cochrane All outcomes | MD 5.28 [3.46, 7.10] | 2 studies · 81 participants | GRADE not reported |
Findings are shown side by side, never pooled across reviews.
The reviews
| Review | Searched up to | Included studies | AMSTAR 2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Arthroscopy for temporomandibular disorders 2011 · Cochrane All outcomes | 2010-12 | Not listed | Not assessed |
How reviews are matched to this question
Reviews word the same question differently. Four decision models (TypeSafe's Jev, Liquid AI's d1-ultra, SubQ Snap and Baseten's Elephant) judged each wording of the population, intervention, comparator and outcome against the others; two wordings count as the same when at least three of them agree and none clearly disagrees, and findings count as this question only when all four elements match. Timing, setting and subgroup never split a question: they are shown on each finding.