Question · asked by 1 review
Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy (aPDT) applied after subgingival instrumentation (SI) vs Subgingival instrumentation (SI) alone (hand or power-driven, or both), or SI plus placebo/sham aPDT: Pocket closure
- Population
- Adults (> 18 years) with a clinical diagnosis of periodontitis, receiving active (non-surgical anti-infective) treatment
- Intervention
- Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy (aPDT) applied after subgingival instrumentation (SI)
- Comparison
- Subgingival instrumentation (SI) alone (hand or power-driven, or both), or SI plus placebo/sham aPDT
- Outcome
- Pocket closure
The review found no eligible studies for this question.
What each review found
Current versions onlyNo studies found 1 · 50%GRADE not reported 1 · 50%Very low 0 · 0%Low 0 · 0%Moderate 0 · 0%High 0 · 0%
| Finding | Effect | Studies | GRADE certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy (aPDT) applied after subgingival instrumentation (SI) vs Subgingival instrumentation (SI) alone (hand or power-driven, or both), or SI plus placebo/sham aPDT Pocket closure · Adults (> 18 years) with a clinical diagnosis of periodontitis, receiving active (non-surgical anti-infective) treatment · 3 months (change from baseline) Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy for treating periodontal and peri‐implant diseases (2024) · Cochrane All outcomes | Three studies evaluated the proportion of closed pockets three months after treatment (Al-Zahrani 2011; Courval 2020; Rodrigues 2023); studies used different criteria to measure this outcome. All studies reported an… | 3 studies | GRADE not reported |
Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy (aPDT) applied after subgingival instrumentation (SI) vs Subgingival instrumentation (SI) alone (hand or power-driven, or both), or SI plus placebo/sham aPDT Pocket closure · Adults (> 18 years) with a clinical diagnosis of periodontitis, receiving active (non-surgical anti-infective) treatment · 6 months (change from baseline) The review found no eligible studies for this question. Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy for treating periodontal and peri‐implant diseases (2024) · Cochrane All outcomes | No studies measured this outcome at 6 months (SoF row labeled 'Change in pocket depth from baseline to 6 months after initial treatment'). | Not reported | No studies found |
Findings are shown side by side, never pooled across reviews.
The reviews
| Review | Searched up to | Included studies | AMSTAR 2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy for treating periodontal and peri‐implant diseases 2024 · Cochrane All outcomes | 2024-02 | Not listed | Not assessed |
Related questions
The same intervention and outcome, asked in another population or against another comparator.
- Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy (aPDT) applied after subgingival instrumentation (SI) vs Subgingival instrumentation (SI) alone (hand or power-driven, or both), or SI plus placebo/sham aPDT · Adults (> 18 years) with recurrent periodontitis, receiving supportive (maintenance)… · 1 review
How reviews are matched to this question
Reviews word the same question differently. Four decision models (TypeSafe's Jev, Liquid AI's d1-ultra, SubQ Snap and Baseten's Elephant) judged each wording of the population, intervention, comparator and outcome against the others; two wordings count as the same when at least three of them agree and none clearly disagrees, and findings count as this question only when all four elements match. Timing, setting and subgroup never split a question: they are shown on each finding.