Question · asked by 1 review

Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy (aPDT) applied after subgingival instrumentation (SI) vs Subgingival instrumentation (SI) alone (hand or power-driven, or both), or SI plus placebo/sham aPDT: Change in probing pocket depth (PPD)

Population
Adults (> 18 years) with recurrent periodontitis, receiving supportive (maintenance) periodontal care
Intervention
Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy (aPDT) applied after subgingival instrumentation (SI)
Comparison
Subgingival instrumentation (SI) alone (hand or power-driven, or both), or SI plus placebo/sham aPDT
Outcome
Change in probing pocket depth (PPD)

Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy (aPDT) applied after… showed no clear difference in change in probing pocket depth (PPD) compared with subgingival instrumentation (SI) alone (hand or power-driven, or…; GRADE not reported.

What each review found

Current versions only
No studies found 0 · 0%GRADE not reported 1 · 50%Very low 1 · 50%Low 0 · 0%Moderate 0 · 0%High 0 · 0%
FindingEffectStudiesGRADE certainty
Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy (aPDT) applied after subgingival instrumentation (SI) vs Subgingival instrumentation (SI) alone (hand or power-driven, or both), or SI plus placebo/sham aPDT
Change in probing pocket depth (PPD) · Adults (> 18 years) with recurrent periodontitis, receiving supportive (maintenance) periodontal care · 3 months (change from baseline)
Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy (aPDT) applied after… showed no clear difference in change in probing pocket depth (PPD) compared with subgingival instrumentation (SI) alone (hand or power-driven, or…; GRADE not reported.
Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy for treating periodontal and peri‐implant diseases (2024) · Cochrane All outcomes
MD 0.44 [-0.20, 1.08]6 studies · 244 participantsGRADE not reported
Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy (aPDT) applied after subgingival instrumentation (SI) vs Subgingival instrumentation (SI) alone (hand or power-driven, or both), or SI plus placebo/sham aPDT
Change in probing pocket depth (PPD) · Adults (> 18 years) with recurrent periodontitis, receiving supportive (maintenance) periodontal care · 6 months (change from baseline)
It is very uncertain whether adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy (aPDT) applied after… changes change in probing pocket depth (PPD) compared with subgingival instrumentation (SI) alone (hand or power-driven, or… (very low certainty).
Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy for treating periodontal and peri‐implant diseases (2024) · Cochrane All outcomes
MD -0.04 [-0.19, 0.10]3 studies · 125 participantsVery low

Findings are shown side by side, never pooled across reviews.

The reviews

ReviewSearched up toIncluded studiesAMSTAR 2
Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy for treating periodontal and peri‐implant diseases
2024 · Cochrane All outcomes
2024-02Not listedNot assessed

The same intervention and outcome, asked in another population or against another comparator.

How reviews are matched to this question

Reviews word the same question differently. Four decision models (TypeSafe's Jev, Liquid AI's d1-ultra, SubQ Snap and Baseten's Elephant) judged each wording of the population, intervention, comparator and outcome against the others; two wordings count as the same when at least three of them agree and none clearly disagrees, and findings count as this question only when all four elements match. Timing, setting and subgroup never split a question: they are shown on each finding.