Partial pulpotomy (PP) with calcium hydroxide vs Direct pulp capping (DPC) with calcium hydroxide: Overall success (composite of clinical and radiographic success)
- Population
- Adults (>=18 y) with mature permanent teeth, carious exposure and normal/reversibly inflamed pulp
- Intervention
- Partial pulpotomy (PP) with calcium hydroxide
- Comparison
- Direct pulp capping (DPC) with calcium hydroxide
- Outcome
- Overall success (composite of clinical and radiographic success)
At 1 year, partial pulpotomy and direct pulp capping (both calcium hydroxide) gave similarly low success in reversibly inflamed pulps (34.5% vs 31.8%; ungraded, single trial).
What each review found
Current versions only| Finding | Effect | Studies | GRADE certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Partial pulpotomy (PP) with calcium hydroxide vs Direct pulp capping (DPC) with calcium hydroxide Clinical and radiographic success rate · Adults (>=18 y) with mature permanent teeth, carious exposure and normal/reversibly inflamed pulp · 1 year, Dental/endodontic clinical practice At 1 year, partial pulpotomy and direct pulp capping (both calcium hydroxide) gave similarly low success in reversibly inflamed pulps (34.5% vs 31.8%; ungraded, single trial). Partial pulpotomy for carious pulp exposure in adult mature permanent teeth: a systematic review and… (2025) All outcomes | Success rate (%) 34.5 vs 31.8 | 1 study · 51 participants | GRADE not reported |
Partial pulpotomy (PP) with calcium hydroxide vs Direct pulp capping (DPC) with calcium hydroxide Clinical and radiographic success rate · Adults (>=18 y) with mature permanent teeth, carious exposure and normal/reversibly inflamed pulp · 5 years, Dental/endodontic clinical practice At 5 years, both partial pulpotomy and direct pulp capping with calcium hydroxide had very low success (11.1% vs 5.9%; ungraded, single trial). Partial pulpotomy for carious pulp exposure in adult mature permanent teeth: a systematic review and… (2025) All outcomes | Success rate (%) 11.1 vs 5.9 | 1 study · 44 participants | GRADE not reported |
Findings are shown side by side, never pooled across reviews.
The reviews
| Review | Searched up to | Included studies | AMSTAR 2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Partial pulpotomy for carious pulp exposure in adult mature permanent teeth: a systematic review and meta-analysis. 2025 All outcomes | September 2025 | 11 | Low / Critically Low |
Related questions
The same intervention and outcome, asked in another population or against another comparator.
- Partial pulpotomy (PP) with calcium hydroxide vs No comparator · Adults aged 18 years or older with mature permanent teeth and carious pulp exposure · 1 review
Studies behind the findings
The primary studies the full-text reviews tie to this outcome. Reviews with headline outcomes only do not list them here.
- Randomized Clinical Trials on Deep Carious Lesions: 5-Year Follow-up · 2017 · included by 1 of these review
- Treatment of deep caries lesions in adults: randomized clinical trials comparing stepwise vs. direct complete excavation, and direct pulp… · 2010 · included by 1 of these review
How reviews are matched to this question
Reviews word the same question differently. Four decision models (TypeSafe's Jev, Liquid AI's d1-ultra, SubQ Snap and Baseten's Elephant) judged each wording of the population, intervention, comparator and outcome against the others; two wordings count as the same when at least three of them agree and none clearly disagrees, and findings count as this question only when all four elements match. Timing, setting and subgroup never split a question: they are shown on each finding.