Question · asked by 1 review
Powered toothbrush, rotation oscillation action vs Manual toothbrush: Plaque
- Population
- Individuals of any age with no reported disability that might affect toothbrushing (including people wearing orthodontic appliances)
- Intervention
- Powered toothbrush, rotation oscillation action
- Comparison
- Manual toothbrush
- Outcome
- Plaque
Powered toothbrush, rotation oscillation action led to lower plaque score (>3 months) compared with manual toothbrush; GRADE not reported.
What each review found
Current versions onlyNo studies found 0 · 0%GRADE not reported 6 · 100%Very low 0 · 0%Low 0 · 0%Moderate 0 · 0%High 0 · 0%
| Finding | Effect | Studies | GRADE certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Powered toothbrush, rotation oscillation action vs Manual toothbrush Plaque score (>3 months) · Individuals of any age with no reported disability that might affect toothbrushing (including people wearing… · Long term (>3 months) Powered toothbrush, rotation oscillation action led to lower plaque score (>3 months) compared with manual toothbrush; GRADE not reported. Powered versus manual toothbrushing for oral health (2014) · Cochrane All outcomes | SMD -0.66 [-1.28, -0.03] | 7 studies · 527 participants | GRADE not reported |
Powered toothbrush, rotation oscillation action vs Manual toothbrush Plaque score (1 to 3 months) · Individuals of any age with no reported disability that might affect toothbrushing (including people wearing… · Short term (1 to 3 months) Powered toothbrush, rotation oscillation action led to lower plaque score (1 to 3 months) compared with manual toothbrush; GRADE not reported. Powered versus manual toothbrushing for oral health (2014) · Cochrane All outcomes | SMD -0.53 [-0.74, -0.31] | 20 studies · 1404 participants | GRADE not reported |
Powered toothbrush, rotation oscillation action vs Manual toothbrush Plaque score (1 to 3 months) · Individuals of any age with no reported disability that might affect toothbrushing (including people wearing… · Short term (1 to 3 months) Powered toothbrush, rotation oscillation action led to lower plaque score (1 to 3 months) compared with manual toothbrush; GRADE not reported. Powered versus manual toothbrushing for oral health (2005) · Cochrane All outcomesearlier version CD002281.PUB2, superseded | SMD -0.43 [-0.72, -0.14] | 15 studies · 1181 participants | GRADE not reported |
Powered toothbrush, rotation oscillation action vs Manual toothbrush Plaque score (>3 months) · Individuals of any age with no reported disability that might affect toothbrushing (including people wearing… · Long term (>3 months) Powered toothbrush, rotation oscillation action showed no clear difference in plaque score (>3 months) compared with manual toothbrush; GRADE not reported. Powered versus manual toothbrushing for oral health (2005) · Cochrane All outcomesearlier version CD002281.PUB2, superseded | SMD -1.29 [-2.67, 0.08] | 3 studies · 266 participants | GRADE not reported |
Powered toothbrush, rotation oscillation action vs Manual toothbrush Plaque score (1 to 3 months) · Individuals of any age with no reported disability that might affect toothbrushing (including people wearing… · Short term (1 to 3 months) Powered toothbrush, rotation oscillation action led to lower plaque score (1 to 3 months) compared with manual toothbrush; GRADE not reported. Powered versus manual toothbrushing for oral health (2003) · Cochrane All outcomesearlier version CD002281, superseded | SMD -0.44 [-0.66, -0.21] | 10 studies · 867 participants | GRADE not reported |
Powered toothbrush, rotation oscillation action vs Manual toothbrush Plaque score (>3 months) · Individuals of any age with no reported disability that might affect toothbrushing (including people wearing… · Long term (>3 months) Powered toothbrush, rotation oscillation action led to lower plaque score (>3 months) compared with manual toothbrush; GRADE not reported. Powered versus manual toothbrushing for oral health (2003) · Cochrane All outcomesearlier version CD002281, superseded | SMD -1.15 [-2.02, -0.29] | 4 studies · 423 participants | GRADE not reported |
Findings are shown side by side, never pooled across reviews.
The reviews
| Review | Searched up to | Included studies | AMSTAR 2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Powered versus manual toothbrushing for oral health 2014 · Cochrane All outcomes | 2014-01-23 | Not listed | Not assessed |
How reviews are matched to this question
Reviews word the same question differently. Four decision models (TypeSafe's Jev, Liquid AI's d1-ultra, SubQ Snap and Baseten's Elephant) judged each wording of the population, intervention, comparator and outcome against the others; two wordings count as the same when at least three of them agree and none clearly disagrees, and findings count as this question only when all four elements match. Timing, setting and subgroup never split a question: they are shown on each finding.