Question · asked by 1 review

Four-point expansion appliance (Hyrax) vs Two-point expansion appliance: Molar expansion

Population
Children and adults with a posterior crossbite, without a Class III skeletal relationship, cleft lip or palate (or both), or other syndrome associated with craniofacial anomalies (included studies were children and adolescents aged 5 to 17 years)
Intervention
Four-point expansion appliance (Hyrax)
Comparison
Two-point expansion appliance
Outcome
Molar expansion

What each review found

Current versions only
FindingEffectStudiesGRADE certainty
Four-point expansion appliance (Hyrax) vs Two-point expansion appliance
Molar expansion · Children and adults with a posterior crossbite, without a Class III skeletal relationship, cleft lip or palate (or… · 3 months after completion of expansion
Orthodontic treatment for posterior crossbites (2021) · Cochrane All outcomes
Lamparski 2003: not reported by group; 'no significant differences were found'1 studyGRADE not reported

Findings are shown side by side, never pooled across reviews.

The reviews

ReviewSearched up toIncluded studiesAMSTAR 2
Orthodontic treatment for posterior crossbites
2021 · Cochrane All outcomes
2021-04Not listedNot assessed
How reviews are matched to this question

Reviews word the same question differently. Four decision models (TypeSafe's Jev, Liquid AI's d1-ultra, SubQ Snap and Baseten's Elephant) judged each wording of the population, intervention, comparator and outcome against the others; two wordings count as the same when at least three of them agree and none clearly disagrees, and findings count as this question only when all four elements match. Timing, setting and subgroup never split a question: they are shown on each finding.