Question · asked by 1 review
Oral propranolol vs placebo: Reduction in pain intensity
- Population
- Adult patients aged >=18 years, clinically or radiographically diagnosed with TMD (McNeill 1997 criteria); moderate to severe pain of minimum 3 months' duration
- Intervention
- Oral propranolol
- Comparison
- placebo
- Outcome
- Reduction in pain intensity
Oral propranolol (beta-blocker) led to lower reduction in pain intensity (percentage of patients responding) compared with placebo; GRADE not reported.
What each review found
Current versions onlyNo studies found 0 · 0%GRADE not reported 2 · 100%Very low 0 · 0%Low 0 · 0%Moderate 0 · 0%High 0 · 0%
| Finding | Effect | Studies | GRADE certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Oral propranolol (beta-blocker) vs Placebo Reduction in pain intensity (percentage of patients responding) · Adult patients aged >=18 years, clinically or radiographically diagnosed with TMD (McNeill 1997 criteria); moderate to… · 1 week per period (cross-over) Oral propranolol (beta-blocker) led to lower reduction in pain intensity (percentage of patients responding) compared with placebo; GRADE not reported. Pharmacological interventions for pain in patients with temporomandibular disorders (2010) · Cochrane All outcomes | Tchivileva et al 2010: a significantly greater percentage of patients (67.5% versus 32.5%) experienced reduction in pain intensity rating during the propranolol treatment period than the placebo treatment period (P =… | 1 study · 40 participants | GRADE not reported |
Oral propranolol (beta-blocker) vs Placebo Reduction in pain intensity rating · Adult patients aged >=18 years, clinically or radiographically diagnosed with TMD (McNeill 1997 criteria); moderate to… · 1 week per period (cross-over) Oral propranolol (beta-blocker) showed no clear difference in reduction in pain intensity rating compared with placebo; GRADE not reported. Pharmacological interventions for pain in patients with temporomandibular disorders (2010) · Cochrane All outcomes | Tchivileva et al 2010: Reduction in pain intensity rating (primary outcome) comparing propranolol treatment to placebo treatment did not reach statistical significance (P = 0.104); pairwise differences between… | 1 study · 40 participants | GRADE not reported |
Findings are shown side by side, never pooled across reviews.
The reviews
| Review | Searched up to | Included studies | AMSTAR 2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pharmacological interventions for pain in patients with temporomandibular disorders 2010 · Cochrane All outcomes | 2010-08 | Not listed | Not assessed |
How reviews are matched to this question
Reviews word the same question differently. Four decision models (TypeSafe's Jev, Liquid AI's d1-ultra, SubQ Snap and Baseten's Elephant) judged each wording of the population, intervention, comparator and outcome against the others; two wordings count as the same when at least three of them agree and none clearly disagrees, and findings count as this question only when all four elements match. Timing, setting and subgroup never split a question: they are shown on each finding.