Question · asked by 1 review

Clinical examination with 24-month recall vs Clinical examination with 12-month recall: Dental caries: dmfs increment (primary teeth)

Population
Regular-attending primary-care dental patients aged 3, 16 or 18 years at entry (aged up to 20; low caries risk)
Intervention
Clinical examination with 24-month recall
Comparison
Clinical examination with 12-month recall
Outcome
Dental caries: dmfs increment (primary teeth)

It is very uncertain whether clinical examination with 24-month recall changes dental caries: dmfs increment (primary teeth) compared with clinical examination with 12-month recall (very low certainty).

What each review found

Current versions only
No studies found 0 · 0%GRADE not reported 2 · 50%Very low 2 · 50%Low 0 · 0%Moderate 0 · 0%High 0 · 0%
FindingEffectStudiesGRADE certainty
Clinical examination with 24-month recall vs Clinical examination with 12-month recall
Dental caries: dmfs increment (primary teeth) · Regular-attending primary-care dental patients aged 3, 16 or 18 years at entry (aged up to 20; low caries risk) · 2 years, 3-5 year olds (primary teeth)
It is very uncertain whether clinical examination with 24-month recall changes dental caries: dmfs increment (primary teeth) compared with clinical examination with 12-month recall (very low certainty).
Recall intervals for oral health in primary care patients (2020) · Cochrane All outcomes
MD 0.90 [-0.16, 1.96]1 study · 58 participantsVery low
Clinical examination with 24-month recall vs Clinical examination with 12-month recall
Dental caries: dmfs increment (primary teeth) · Regular-attending primary-care dental patients aged 3, 16 or 18 years at entry (aged up to 20; low caries risk) · 2 years, 3-5 year olds (primary teeth)
It is very uncertain whether clinical examination with 24-month recall changes dental caries: dmfs increment (primary teeth) compared with clinical examination with 12-month recall (very low certainty).
Recall intervals for oral health in primary care patients (2013) · Cochrane All outcomesearlier version CD004346.PUB4, superseded
MD 0.90 [-0.16, 1.96]1 study · 58 participantsVery low
Clinical examination with 24-month recall vs Clinical examination with 12-month recall
Dental caries: dmfs increment (primary teeth) · Regular-attending primary-care dental patients aged 3, 16 or 18 years at entry (aged up to 20; low caries risk) · 2 years, 3-5 year olds (primary teeth)
Clinical examination with 24-month recall showed no clear difference in dental caries: dmfs increment (primary teeth) compared with clinical examination with 12-month recall; GRADE not reported.
Recall intervals for oral health in primary care patients (2007) · Cochrane All outcomesearlier version CD004346.PUB3, superseded
No statistically significant difference in dmfs increment between 24-month and 12-month recall in 3-5 year olds; a trend toward lower increment with the shorter (12-month) interval; no pooled estimate reported.1 studyGRADE not reported
Clinical examination with 24-month recall vs Clinical examination with 12-month recall
Dental caries: dmfs increment (primary teeth) · Regular-attending primary-care dental patients aged 3, 16 or 18 years at entry (aged up to 20; low caries risk) · 2 years, 3-5 year olds (primary teeth)
Clinical examination with 24-month recall showed no clear difference in dental caries: dmfs increment (primary teeth) compared with clinical examination with 12-month recall; GRADE not reported.
Recall intervals for oral health in primary care patients (2005) · Cochrane All outcomesearlier version CD004346.PUB2, superseded
No statistically significant difference in dmfs increment between 24-month and 12-month recall in 3-5 year olds; a trend toward lower increment with the shorter (12-month) interval; no pooled estimate reported.1 studyGRADE not reported

Findings are shown side by side, never pooled across reviews.

The reviews

ReviewSearched up toIncluded studiesAMSTAR 2
Recall intervals for oral health in primary care patients
2020 · Cochrane All outcomes
2020-01Not listedNot assessed
How reviews are matched to this question

Reviews word the same question differently. Four decision models (TypeSafe's Jev, Liquid AI's d1-ultra, SubQ Snap and Baseten's Elephant) judged each wording of the population, intervention, comparator and outcome against the others; two wordings count as the same when at least three of them agree and none clearly disagrees, and findings count as this question only when all four elements match. Timing, setting and subgroup never split a question: they are shown on each finding.