Question · asked by 1 review

Exercise vs no exercise: Patient‐reported pain intensity or pain relief (VAS, NRS or categorical scale)

Population
rheumatoid arthritis of the hand
Intervention
Exercise
Comparison
no exercise
Outcome
Patient‐reported pain intensity or pain relief (VAS, NRS or categorical scale)

What each review found

Include earlier review versions
No studies found 0 · 0%GRADE not reported 0 · 0%Very low 1 · 50%Low 0 · 0%Moderate 1 · 50%High 0 · 0%
FindingEffectStudiesGRADE certainty
Exercise vs no exercise
Pain ‐ short term (less than 3 months) visual analogue scale (0 to 100 mm, higher score means more pain) · rheumatoid arthritis of the hand
Exercise for rheumatoid arthritis of the hand (2018) · Cochrane Headline outcomes only
no estimate extracted2 studies · 124 participantsVery low
Exercise vs no exercise
Pain ‐ medium term (3 to 11 months) Pain subscale of Michigan Hand Outcomes Questionnaire (0 to 100 points, higher score means more pain) · rheumatoid arthritis of the hand
Exercise for rheumatoid arthritis of the hand (2018) · Cochrane Headline outcomes only
no estimate extracted1 study · 445 participantsModerate

Findings are shown side by side, never pooled across reviews.

The reviews

ReviewSearched up toIncluded studiesAMSTAR 2
Exercise for rheumatoid arthritis of the hand
2018 · Cochrane Headline outcomes only
Not reportedNot extractedNot assessed

The same intervention and outcome, asked in another population or against another comparator.

How reviews are matched to this question

Reviews word the same question differently. Four decision models (TypeSafe's Jev, Liquid AI's d1-ultra, SubQ Snap and Baseten's Elephant) judged each wording of the population, intervention, comparator and outcome against the others; two wordings count as the same when at least three of them agree and none clearly disagrees, and findings count as this question only when all four elements match. Timing, setting and subgroup never split a question: they are shown on each finding.