Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy (aPDT) applied after subgingival instrumentation (SI) vs Subgingival instrumentation (SI) alone (hand or power-driven, or both), or SI plus placebo/sham aPDT: Change in probing pocket depth (PPD)
- Population
- Adults (> 18 years) with a clinical diagnosis of periodontitis, receiving active (non-surgical anti-infective) treatment
- Intervention
- Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy (aPDT) applied after subgingival instrumentation (SI)
- Comparison
- Subgingival instrumentation (SI) alone (hand or power-driven, or both), or SI plus placebo/sham aPDT
- Outcome
- Change in probing pocket depth (PPD)
Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy (aPDT) applied after… led to higher change in probing pocket depth (PPD) compared with subgingival instrumentation (SI) alone (hand or power-driven, or…; GRADE not reported.
What each review found
Current versions only| Finding | Effect | Studies | GRADE certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy (aPDT) applied after subgingival instrumentation (SI) vs Subgingival instrumentation (SI) alone (hand or power-driven, or both), or SI plus placebo/sham aPDT Change in probing pocket depth (PPD) · Adults (> 18 years) with a clinical diagnosis of periodontitis, receiving active (non-surgical anti-infective) treatment · 3 months (change from baseline) Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy (aPDT) applied after… led to higher change in probing pocket depth (PPD) compared with subgingival instrumentation (SI) alone (hand or power-driven, or…; GRADE not reported. Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy for treating periodontal and peri‐implant diseases (2024) · Cochrane All outcomes | MD 0.44 [0.29, 0.59] | 35 studies · 873 participants | GRADE not reported |
Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy (aPDT) applied after subgingival instrumentation (SI) vs Subgingival instrumentation (SI) alone (hand or power-driven, or both), or SI plus placebo/sham aPDT Change in probing pocket depth (PPD) · Adults (> 18 years) with a clinical diagnosis of periodontitis, receiving active (non-surgical anti-infective) treatment · 6 months (change from baseline) It is very uncertain whether adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy (aPDT) applied after… changes change in probing pocket depth (PPD) compared with subgingival instrumentation (SI) alone (hand or power-driven, or… (very low certainty). Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy for treating periodontal and peri‐implant diseases (2024) · Cochrane All outcomes | MD 0.52 [0.31, 0.74] | 15 studies · 452 participants | Very low |
Findings are shown side by side, never pooled across reviews.
The reviews
| Review | Searched up to | Included studies | AMSTAR 2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy for treating periodontal and peri‐implant diseases 2024 · Cochrane All outcomes | 2024-02 | Not listed | Not assessed |
Related questions
The same intervention and outcome, asked in another population or against another comparator.
- Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy (aPDT) applied after subgingival instrumentation (SI) vs Subgingival instrumentation (SI) alone (hand or power-driven, or both), or SI plus placebo/sham aPDT · Adults (> 18 years) with recurrent periodontitis, receiving supportive (maintenance)… · 1 review
How reviews are matched to this question
Reviews word the same question differently. Four decision models (TypeSafe's Jev, Liquid AI's d1-ultra, SubQ Snap and Baseten's Elephant) judged each wording of the population, intervention, comparator and outcome against the others; two wordings count as the same when at least three of them agree and none clearly disagrees, and findings count as this question only when all four elements match. Timing, setting and subgroup never split a question: they are shown on each finding.