Question · asked by 1 review

Passive maxillary/obturating plate (worn until surgical closure of soft palate) vs No plate: Weight (kg)

Population
Infants up to 6 months (from term) born with cleft lip, cleft palate or cleft lip and palate (Pierre Robin sequence or other syndromes excluded)
Intervention
Passive maxillary/obturating plate (worn until surgical closure of soft palate)
Comparison
No plate
Outcome
Weight (kg)

Passive maxillary/obturating plate (worn until surgical closure of… showed no clear difference in weight (kg) compared with no plate; GRADE not reported.

What each review found

Current versions only
No studies found 0 · 0%GRADE not reported 2 · 100%Very low 0 · 0%Low 0 · 0%Moderate 0 · 0%High 0 · 0%
FindingEffectStudiesGRADE certainty
Passive maxillary/obturating plate (worn until surgical closure of soft palate) vs No plate
Weight (kg) · Infants up to 6 months (from term) born with cleft lip, cleft palate or cleft lip and palate (Pierre Robin sequence or… · 12 months (351 to 379 days)
Passive maxillary/obturating plate (worn until surgical closure of… showed no clear difference in weight (kg) compared with no plate; GRADE not reported.
Feeding interventions for growth and development in infants with cleft lip, cleft palate or cleft lip and… (2011) · Cochrane All outcomes
MD 0.10 [-0.53, 0.73]2 studies · 50 participantsGRADE not reported
Passive maxillary/obturating plate (worn until surgical closure of soft palate) vs No plate
Weight (kg) · Infants up to 6 months (from term) born with cleft lip, cleft palate or cleft lip and palate (Pierre Robin sequence or… · 2 to 12 months
Feeding interventions for growth and development in infants with cleft lip, cleft palate or cleft lip and… (2004) · Cochrane All outcomesearlier version CD003315.PUB2, superseded
One study (Prahl in press/2005): 54 babies randomised, 40 with sufficient anthropometric measurements. Weight reported as weight-for-length, length-for-age and weight-for-age z-scores; no statistically significant…1 study · 40 participantsGRADE not reported

Findings are shown side by side, never pooled across reviews.

The reviews

ReviewSearched up toIncluded studiesAMSTAR 2
Feeding interventions for growth and development in infants with cleft lip, cleft palate or cleft lip and palate
2011 · Cochrane All outcomes
2010-10Not listedNot assessed
How reviews are matched to this question

Reviews word the same question differently. Four decision models (TypeSafe's Jev, Liquid AI's d1-ultra, SubQ Snap and Baseten's Elephant) judged each wording of the population, intervention, comparator and outcome against the others; two wordings count as the same when at least three of them agree and none clearly disagrees, and findings count as this question only when all four elements match. Timing, setting and subgroup never split a question: they are shown on each finding.