Question · asked by 1 review
Powered toothbrush, unknown/other action vs Manual toothbrush: Plaque
- Population
- Individuals of any age with no reported disability that might affect toothbrushing (including people wearing orthodontic appliances)
- Intervention
- Powered toothbrush, unknown/other action
- Comparison
- Manual toothbrush
- Outcome
- Plaque
Powered toothbrush, unknown/other action showed no clear difference in plaque score (1 to 3 months) compared with manual toothbrush; GRADE not reported.
What each review found
Current versions onlyNo studies found 0 · 0%GRADE not reported 3 · 100%Very low 0 · 0%Low 0 · 0%Moderate 0 · 0%High 0 · 0%
| Finding | Effect | Studies | GRADE certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Powered toothbrush, unknown/other action vs Manual toothbrush Plaque score (1 to 3 months) · Individuals of any age with no reported disability that might affect toothbrushing (including people wearing… · Short term (1 to 3 months) Powered versus manual toothbrushing for oral health (2014) · Cochrane All outcomes | Unknown/other action vs manual, plaque at 1 to 3 months: 2 trials; totals not selected (data presented in forest plots but not pooled owing to lack of clarity about the toothbrushes). | 2 studies | GRADE not reported |
Powered toothbrush, unknown/other action vs Manual toothbrush Plaque score (1 to 3 months) · Individuals of any age with no reported disability that might affect toothbrushing (including people wearing… · Short term (1 to 3 months) Powered toothbrush, unknown/other action showed no clear difference in plaque score (1 to 3 months) compared with manual toothbrush; GRADE not reported. Powered versus manual toothbrushing for oral health (2005) · Cochrane All outcomesearlier version CD002281.PUB2, superseded | SMD -0.32 [-0.84, 0.20] | 1 study · 57 participants | GRADE not reported |
Powered toothbrush, unknown/other action vs Manual toothbrush Plaque score (1 to 3 months) · Individuals of any age with no reported disability that might affect toothbrushing (including people wearing… · Short term (1 to 3 months) Powered toothbrush, unknown/other action showed no clear difference in plaque score (1 to 3 months) compared with manual toothbrush; GRADE not reported. Powered versus manual toothbrushing for oral health (2003) · Cochrane All outcomesearlier version CD002281, superseded | SMD -0.32 [-0.84, 0.20] | 1 study · 57 participants | GRADE not reported |
Findings are shown side by side, never pooled across reviews.
The reviews
| Review | Searched up to | Included studies | AMSTAR 2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Powered versus manual toothbrushing for oral health 2014 · Cochrane All outcomes | 2014-01-23 | Not listed | Not assessed |
How reviews are matched to this question
Reviews word the same question differently. Four decision models (TypeSafe's Jev, Liquid AI's d1-ultra, SubQ Snap and Baseten's Elephant) judged each wording of the population, intervention, comparator and outcome against the others; two wordings count as the same when at least three of them agree and none clearly disagrees, and findings count as this question only when all four elements match. Timing, setting and subgroup never split a question: they are shown on each finding.