Diode laser, near infrared (700 nm to 850 nm) vs Placebo (placebo laser or placebo agent) or no treatment: Changes in intensity of pain (VAS 0 to 10) tested through tactile stimuli
- Population
- Patients aged above 12 years with self-reported tooth hypersensitivity confirmed on clinical evaluation
- Intervention
- Diode laser, near infrared (700 nm to 850 nm)
- Comparison
- Placebo (placebo laser or placebo agent) or no treatment
- Outcome
- Changes in intensity of pain (VAS 0 to 10) tested through tactile stimuli
Diode laser, near infrared (700 nm to 850 nm) showed no clear difference in changes in intensity of pain (VAS 0 to 10) tested through tactile… compared with placebo (placebo laser or placebo agent) or no treatment; GRADE not reported.
What each review found
Include earlier review versions| Finding | Effect | Studies | GRADE certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Diode laser, near infrared (700 nm to 850 nm) vs Placebo (placebo laser or placebo agent) or no treatment Changes in intensity of pain (VAS 0 to 10) tested through tactile stimuli · Patients aged above 12 years with self-reported tooth hypersensitivity confirmed on clinical evaluation · Medium term (24 hours to 2 months) Diode laser, near infrared (700 nm to 850 nm) showed no clear difference in changes in intensity of pain (VAS 0 to 10) tested through tactile… compared with placebo (placebo laser or placebo agent) or no treatment; GRADE not reported. Laser therapy for dentinal hypersensitivity (2021) · Cochrane All outcomes | MD -0.68 [-3.57, 2.21] | 2 studies | GRADE not reported |
Diode laser, near infrared (700 nm to 850 nm) vs Placebo (placebo laser or placebo agent) or no treatment Changes in intensity of pain (VAS 0 to 10) tested through tactile stimuli · Patients aged above 12 years with self-reported tooth hypersensitivity confirmed on clinical evaluation · Short term (0 to 24 hours) Diode laser, near infrared (700 nm to 850 nm) showed no clear difference in changes in intensity of pain (VAS 0 to 10) tested through tactile… compared with placebo (placebo laser or placebo agent) or no treatment; GRADE not reported. Laser therapy for dentinal hypersensitivity (2021) · Cochrane All outcomes | MD 0.27 [-0.60, 1.14] | 2 studies | GRADE not reported |
Findings are shown side by side, never pooled across reviews.
The reviews
| Review | Searched up to | Included studies | AMSTAR 2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Laser therapy for dentinal hypersensitivity 2021 · Cochrane All outcomes | 2020-10 | Not listed | Not assessed |
How reviews are matched to this question
Reviews word the same question differently. Four decision models (TypeSafe's Jev, Liquid AI's d1-ultra, SubQ Snap and Baseten's Elephant) judged each wording of the population, intervention, comparator and outcome against the others; two wordings count as the same when at least three of them agree and none clearly disagrees, and findings count as this question only when all four elements match. Timing, setting and subgroup never split a question: they are shown on each finding.