Question · asked by 1 review
Dental cavity liner (e.g. calcium hydroxide, glass ionomer, resin-modified glass ionomer, or flowable composite) placed under the restoration vs No liner (resin-based composite bonded directly to the tooth): Cost of materials
What each review found
Current versions only| Finding | Effect | Studies | GRADE certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Dental cavity liner (e.g. calcium hydroxide, glass ionomer, resin-modified glass ionomer, or flowable composite) placed under the restoration vs No liner (resin-based composite bonded directly to the tooth) Cost of materials · Adults or children with a Class I or Class II resin-based composite restoration in a permanent posterior tooth Dental cavity liners for Class I and Class II resin‐based composite restorations (2019) · Cochrane All outcomes | One study (Strober 2013) reported cost, concluding that eliminating a resin-modified glass ionomer lining could save approximately USD 4.50 per filling (about USD 2000 per dentist per year). No comparative effect… | 1 study | GRADE not reported |
Dental cavity liner (e.g. calcium hydroxide, glass ionomer, resin-modified glass ionomer, or flowable composite) placed under the restoration vs No liner (resin-based composite bonded directly to the tooth) Cost of materials · Adults or children with a Class I or Class II resin-based composite restoration in a permanent posterior tooth Dental cavity liners for Class I and Class II resin‐based composite restorations (2016) · Cochrane All outcomesearlier version CD010526.PUB2, superseded | One study (Strober 2013) reported cost, concluding that eliminating a resin-modified glass ionomer lining could save approximately USD 4.50 per filling (about USD 2000 per dentist per year). No comparative effect… | 1 study | GRADE not reported |
Findings are shown side by side, never pooled across reviews.
The reviews
| Review | Searched up to | Included studies | AMSTAR 2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dental cavity liners for Class I and Class II resin‐based composite restorations 2019 · Cochrane All outcomes | 2018-11 | list not extracted yet | Not assessed |
Studies behind the findings
None of these reviews ties its included studies to this outcome in the data here. Cochrane reviews and reviews with headline outcomes only do not list their studies yet.
How reviews are matched to this question
Reviews word the same question differently. Four decision models (TypeSafe's Jev, Liquid AI's d1-ultra, SubQ Snap and Baseten's Elephant) judged each wording of the population, intervention, comparator and outcome against the others; two wordings count as the same when at least three of them agree and none clearly disagrees, and findings count as this question only when all four elements match. Timing, setting and subgroup never split a question: they are shown on each finding.