Primary study · included by 1 review
Thyroidectomy with or without postoperative radioiodine for patients with low-risk differentiated thyroid cancer in the UK (IoN): a randomised, multicentre, non-inferiority trial.
Mallick 2025 · Mallick Ujjal, Newbold Kate, Beasley Matthew, et al. · Lancet (London, England) · 2025
Included by
| Outcome this study informs | Pooled effect | Evidence | Certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Recurrence Radioactive iodine (RAI) ablation after total thyroidectomy vs No RAI (total thyroidectomy alone) | OR 0.66 [0.41, 1.08] | 7 studies · 4101 participants | GRADE not reported |
5-year recurrence-free survival Radioactive iodine (RAI) ablation after total thyroidectomy vs No RAI (total thyroidectomy alone) · 5 years | OR 4.70 [1.39, 15.97] | 3 studies · 2493 participants | GRADE not reported |
Elevated thyroglobulin antibodies Radioactive iodine (RAI) ablation after total thyroidectomy vs No RAI (total thyroidectomy alone) | OR 0.91 [0.38, 2.16] | 2 studies · 1280 participants | GRADE not reported |
Xerostomia (adverse effect) Radioactive iodine (RAI) ablation after total thyroidectomy vs No RAI (total thyroidectomy alone) | OR 5.63 [0.05, 667.24] | 2 studies · 748 participants | GRADE not reported |
5-year recurrence-free survival Radioactive iodine (RAI) ablation after total thyroidectomy vs No RAI (total thyroidectomy alone) · 5 years | OR 2.47 [0.63, 9.62] | 4 studies · 2997 participants | GRADE not reported |
Dysphonia (adverse effect) Radioactive iodine (RAI) ablation after total thyroidectomy vs No RAI (total thyroidectomy alone) | OR 0.96 [0.53, 1.72] | 2 studies · 748 participants | GRADE not reported |
1 including review in total.