Primary study · included by 1 review

Effect of thermal cycling on the mechanical properties of conventional, milled, and 3D-printed base resin materials: a comparative in vitro study.

Xiao 2025 · Xiao Shuang, Zhang Ruo-Jin, Tan Fa-Bing · PeerJ · 2025

Included by

Mechanical Performance of CAD/CAM-Milled Versus 3D-Printed Resins for Prosthetic Applications: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis.
Non-Cochrane · intervention · 2026 · cited as Xiao 2025 · Table 1; Figures 3 and 6; reference list
Outcome this study informsPooled effectEvidenceCertainty
Hardness
CAD/CAM-milled resins vs 3D-printed resins (SLA/DLP)
SMD 2.71 [-0.90, 6.33]3 studies · 108 participantsGRADE not reported
Flexural strength
CAD/CAM-milled resins vs 3D-printed resins (SLA/DLP)
SMD 1.05 [-0.18, 2.29]2 studies · 28 participantsGRADE not reported
Hardness (Vickers, Shore, Barcol; standardized)
CAD/CAM-milled resins vs 3D-printed resins (SLA/DLP)
Meta-regression coefficient (beta) -0.314 studiesGRADE not reported
Flexural strength
CAD/CAM-milled resins vs 3D-printed resins (SLA/DLP)
Meta-regression coefficient (beta) 0.323 studiesGRADE not reported
Flexural strength
CAD/CAM-milled resins vs 3D-printed resins (SLA/DLP)
SMD 1.74 [0.82, 2.65]2 studies · 28 participantsGRADE not reported
Flexural strength
CAD/CAM-milled resins vs 3D-printed resins (SLA/DLP)
SMD 1.10 [-0.12, 2.30]2 studies · 24 participantsGRADE not reported
Flexural strength
CAD/CAM-milled resins vs 3D-printed resins (SLA/DLP)
SMD 1.28 [0.42, 2.14]3 studies · 40 participantsGRADE not reported
Hardness
CAD/CAM-milled resins vs 3D-printed resins (SLA/DLP)
SMD 2.27 [-0.86, 5.40]3 studies · 104 participantsGRADE not reported
Hardness (Vickers, Shore, Barcol; standardized)
CAD/CAM-milled resins vs 3D-printed resins (SLA/DLP)
SMD 2.92 [0.34, 5.49]4 studies · 124 participantsGRADE not reported
Hardness
CAD/CAM-milled resins vs 3D-printed resins (SLA/DLP)
SMD 2.50 [-0.90, 5.92]3 studies · 96 participantsGRADE not reported
Hardness
CAD/CAM-milled resins vs 3D-printed resins (SLA/DLP)
SMD 4.00 [3.15, 4.87]3 studies · 64 participantsGRADE not reported

1 including review in total.