Primary study · included by 2 reviews

Efficacy of clear aligners vs rapid palatal expanders on palatal volume and surface area in mixed dentition patients: A randomized controlled trial.

Bruni et al. 2024 · Bruni Alessandro, Ferrillo Martina, Gallo Vittorio, et al. · American journal of orthodontics and dentofacial orthopedics : official publication of the American Association of Orthodontists, its constituent societies, and the American Board of Orthodontics · 2024

Included by

Effectiveness of clear aligners for maxillary expansion in growing patients: a systematic review and meta-analysis.
Non-Cochrane · intervention · 2026 · cited as Bruni 2024 · Table 1; Results forest plots Figs. 4-9
Outcome this study informsPooled effectEvidenceCertainty
Quantity of expansion: intermolar distance (6-6)
Clear aligners (Invisalign First) vs Conventional maxillary expanders (RME/Hyrax, leaf, removable acrylic, slow expansion) · Change from baseline to end of treatment
MD -1.77 [-2.57, -0.97]7 studies · 333 participantsModerate
Total palatal volume
Clear aligners (Invisalign First) vs Conventional maxillary expanders (RME/Hyrax, leaf, removable acrylic, slow expansion) · Change from baseline to end of treatment
MD -460.63 [-738.32, -182.94]2 studies · 85 participantsModerate
Total palatal area
Clear aligners (Invisalign First) vs Conventional maxillary expanders (RME/Hyrax, leaf, removable acrylic, slow expansion) · Change from baseline to end of treatment
MD -48.15 [-104.07, 7.76]2 studies · 85 participantsLow
Intercanine distance (C-C)
Clear aligners (Invisalign First) vs Conventional maxillary expanders (RME/Hyrax, leaf, removable acrylic, slow expansion) · Change from baseline to end of treatment
MD -0.74 [-1.68, 0.20]7 studies · 333 participantsGRADE not reported
Intercanine distance (C-C)
Clear aligners (Invisalign First) vs Conventional maxillary expanders (RME/Hyrax, leaf, removable acrylic, slow expansion) · Change from baseline to end of treatment
MD -0.507 [-1.44, 0.426]7 studies · 333 participantsGRADE not reported

The review does not say which of its outcomes this study informs.

2 including reviews in total.