Primary study · included by 1 review

Association Between Corticosteroids and Outcomes in Children Hospitalized With Orbital Cellulitis.

Gill 2022 · Gill Peter J, Mahant Sanjay, Hall Matt, et al. · Hospital pediatrics · 2022

Included by

Outcome this study informsPooled effectEvidenceCertainty
Hospital stay (days)
Adjunctive oral or intravenous corticosteroids plus standard treatment vs Standard treatment alone (antibiotics, NSAIDs or no steroids) · At discharge
MD -1.87 [-5.90, 2.16]3 studiesGRADE not reported
Hospital stay (days)
Adjunctive oral or intravenous corticosteroids plus standard treatment vs Standard treatment alone (antibiotics, NSAIDs or no steroids) · At discharge
MD -2.65 [-6.23, 0.91]4 studiesGRADE not reported
Hospital stay (days)
Adjunctive oral or intravenous corticosteroids plus standard treatment vs Standard treatment alone (antibiotics, NSAIDs or no steroids) · At discharge
MD -0.93 [-4.14, 2.27]4 studiesGRADE not reported
Hospital stay (days)
Adjunctive oral or intravenous corticosteroids plus standard treatment vs Standard treatment alone (antibiotics, NSAIDs or no steroids) · At discharge
MD -1.63 [-3.55, 0.28]8 studiesGRADE not reported
Hospital stay (days)
Adjunctive oral or intravenous corticosteroids plus standard treatment vs Standard treatment alone (antibiotics, NSAIDs or no steroids) · At discharge
MD -0.77 [-2.68, 1.15]6 studiesGRADE not reported
Hospital stay (days)
Adjunctive oral or intravenous corticosteroids plus standard treatment vs Standard treatment alone (antibiotics, NSAIDs or no steroids) · At discharge
MD -1.61 [-3.17, -0.05]10 studies · 13058 participantsLow
Hospital stay (days)
Adjunctive oral or intravenous corticosteroids plus standard treatment vs Standard treatment alone (antibiotics, NSAIDs or no steroids) · At discharge
MD -1.32 [-30.48, 27.85]2 studiesGRADE not reported
Hospital stay (days)
Adjunctive oral or intravenous corticosteroids plus standard treatment vs Standard treatment alone (antibiotics, NSAIDs) or no steroids · Until discharge
MD -5.75 [-8.19, -3.31]1 studyGRADE not reported
Number of surgeries
Adjunctive oral or intravenous corticosteroids plus standard treatment vs Standard treatment alone (antibiotics, NSAIDs or no steroids) · At discharge
OR 0.48 [0.17, 1.34]7 studies · 10951 participantsLow
Hospital stay (days)
Adjunctive oral or intravenous corticosteroids plus standard treatment vs Standard treatment alone (antibiotics, NSAIDs or no steroids) · At discharge
MD -1.65 [-23.09, 19.81]2 studiesGRADE not reported

1 including review in total.