Primary study · included by 1 review

Results of coblation midline glossectomy for obstructive sleep apnea.

Suslu 2021 · Süslü Ahmet Emre, Katar Oğuzhan, Jafarov Shamkhal, et al. · Auris, nasus, larynx · 2021

Included by

Robotic versus non-robotic posterior midline glossectomy for obstructive sleep apnea: a systematic review and meta-analysis.
Non-Cochrane · intervention · 2026 · cited as Suslu 2021 · Supplementary Table 1; reference list; forest plots
Outcome this study informsPooled effectEvidenceCertainty
Epworth Sleepiness Scale (ESS), change
Non-robotic posterior midline glossectomy (coblation, laser, radiofrequency or conventional) vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 13 months in non-robotic studies
MD -5.58 [-7.83, -3.34]12 studiesGRADE not reported
Oxygen desaturation index (ODI), change
Non-robotic posterior midline glossectomy (coblation, laser, radiofrequency or conventional) vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 13 months in non-robotic studies
MD -13.68 [-20.15, -7.22]3 studiesGRADE not reported
Apnea-hypopnea index (AHI), change
Posterior midline glossectomy, robotic and non-robotic combined vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; follow-up varied
MD -25.33 [-29.86, -20.81]28 studiesGRADE not reported
Apnea-hypopnea index (AHI), change
Non-robotic posterior midline glossectomy (coblation, laser, radiofrequency or conventional) vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 13 months in non-robotic studies
MD -24.99 [-30.97, -19.0]19 studiesGRADE not reported
Postoperative pain (VAS)
Posterior midline glossectomy, robotic and non-robotic combined vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; follow-up varied
MEAN 4.39 [3.05, 5.72]7 studiesGRADE not reported
Epworth Sleepiness Scale (ESS), change
Posterior midline glossectomy, robotic and non-robotic combined vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; follow-up varied
MD -6.32 [-7.94, -4.7]21 studiesGRADE not reported

1 including review in total.