Primary study · included by 1 review
Prospective randomized comparison of tongue base resection techniques: Robotic vs coblation.
Babademez 2019 · Babademez Mehmet Ali, Gul Fatih, Sancak Mecit, et al. · Clinical otolaryngology : official journal of ENT-UK ; official journal of Netherlands Society for Oto-Rhino-Laryngology & Cervico-Facial Surgery · 2019
Included by
| Outcome this study informs | Pooled effect | Evidence | Certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Snoring score (VAS), change Non-robotic posterior midline glossectomy (coblation, laser, radiofrequency or conventional) vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 13 months in non-robotic studies | MD -5.62 [-6.35, -4.9] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Apnea-hypopnea index (AHI), change Robotic (TORS) posterior midline glossectomy vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 7.5 months in robotic studies | MD -25.93 [-31.82, -20.03] | 9 studies | GRADE not reported |
Surgical success rate (Sher criteria) Non-robotic posterior midline glossectomy (coblation, laser, radiofrequency or conventional) vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 13 months in non-robotic studies | Proportion 0.57 [0.47, 0.69] | 13 studies | GRADE not reported |
Operative time Robotic (TORS) posterior midline glossectomy vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 7.5 months in robotic studies | MEAN 50.26 [31.79, 68.73] | 3 studies | GRADE not reported |
Epworth Sleepiness Scale (ESS), change Non-robotic posterior midline glossectomy (coblation, laser, radiofrequency or conventional) vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 13 months in non-robotic studies | MD -5.58 [-7.83, -3.34] | 12 studies | GRADE not reported |
Snoring score (VAS), change Robotic (TORS) posterior midline glossectomy vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 7.5 months in robotic studies | MD -5.59 [-7.12, -4.06] | 4 studies | GRADE not reported |
Surgical success rate (Sher criteria) Robotic (TORS) posterior midline glossectomy vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 7.5 months in robotic studies | Proportion 0.64 [0.56, 0.73] | 9 studies | GRADE not reported |
Operative time Non-robotic posterior midline glossectomy (coblation, laser, radiofrequency or conventional) vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 13 months in non-robotic studies | MEAN 48.79 [32.12, 65.45] | 3 studies | GRADE not reported |
Surgical success rate (Sher criteria) Posterior midline glossectomy, robotic and non-robotic combined vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; follow-up varied | Proportion 0.61 [0.54, 0.69] | 22 studies | GRADE not reported |
Apnea-hypopnea index (AHI), change Posterior midline glossectomy, robotic and non-robotic combined vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; follow-up varied | MD -25.33 [-29.86, -20.81] | 28 studies | GRADE not reported |
Snoring score (VAS), change Posterior midline glossectomy, robotic and non-robotic combined vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; follow-up varied | MD -5.61 [-6.2, -5.01] | 10 studies | GRADE not reported |
Epworth Sleepiness Scale (ESS), change Robotic (TORS) posterior midline glossectomy vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 7.5 months in robotic studies | MD -7.43 [-8.65, -6.21] | 9 studies | GRADE not reported |
Time to oral intake (days to diet) Robotic (TORS) posterior midline glossectomy vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 7.5 months in robotic studies | MEAN 3.39 [-1.3, 8.07] | 2 studies | GRADE not reported |
Apnea-hypopnea index (AHI), change Non-robotic posterior midline glossectomy (coblation, laser, radiofrequency or conventional) vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 13 months in non-robotic studies | MD -24.99 [-30.97, -19.0] | 19 studies | GRADE not reported |
Oxygen desaturation index (ODI), change Posterior midline glossectomy, robotic and non-robotic combined vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; follow-up varied | MD -16.41 [-23.45, -9.37] | 4 studies | GRADE not reported |
Epworth Sleepiness Scale (ESS), change Posterior midline glossectomy, robotic and non-robotic combined vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; follow-up varied | MD -6.32 [-7.94, -4.7] | 21 studies | GRADE not reported |
Time to oral intake (days to diet) Non-robotic posterior midline glossectomy (coblation, laser, radiofrequency or conventional) vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 13 months in non-robotic studies | MEAN 4.72 [3.74, 5.7] | 2 studies | GRADE not reported |
Operative time Posterior midline glossectomy, robotic and non-robotic combined vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; follow-up varied | MEAN 49.34 [38.29, 60.4] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
1 including review in total.