Primary study · included by 1 review
Transoral robotic surgery vs. endoscopic partial midline glossectomy for obstructive sleep apnea.
Folk 2017 · Folk David, D'Agostino Mark · World journal of otorhinolaryngology - head and neck surgery · 2017
Included by
| Outcome this study informs | Pooled effect | Evidence | Certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Apnea-hypopnea index (AHI), change Robotic (TORS) posterior midline glossectomy vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 7.5 months in robotic studies | MD -25.93 [-31.82, -20.03] | 9 studies | GRADE not reported |
Oxygen nadir (minimum oxygen saturation), change Non-robotic posterior midline glossectomy (coblation, laser, radiofrequency or conventional) vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 13 months in non-robotic studies | MD 8.11 [5.06, 11.16] | 17 studies | GRADE not reported |
Surgical success rate (Sher criteria) Non-robotic posterior midline glossectomy (coblation, laser, radiofrequency or conventional) vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 13 months in non-robotic studies | Proportion 0.57 [0.47, 0.69] | 13 studies | GRADE not reported |
Oxygen nadir (minimum oxygen saturation), change Robotic (TORS) posterior midline glossectomy vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 7.5 months in robotic studies | MD 5.48 [2.21, 8.75] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Epworth Sleepiness Scale (ESS), change Non-robotic posterior midline glossectomy (coblation, laser, radiofrequency or conventional) vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 13 months in non-robotic studies | MD -5.58 [-7.83, -3.34] | 12 studies | GRADE not reported |
Oxygen nadir (minimum oxygen saturation), change Posterior midline glossectomy, robotic and non-robotic combined vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; follow-up varied | MD 7.42 [5.16, 9.69] | 23 studies | GRADE not reported |
Surgical success rate (Sher criteria) Robotic (TORS) posterior midline glossectomy vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 7.5 months in robotic studies | Proportion 0.64 [0.56, 0.73] | 9 studies | GRADE not reported |
Surgical success rate (Sher criteria) Posterior midline glossectomy, robotic and non-robotic combined vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; follow-up varied | Proportion 0.61 [0.54, 0.69] | 22 studies | GRADE not reported |
Apnea-hypopnea index (AHI), change Posterior midline glossectomy, robotic and non-robotic combined vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; follow-up varied | MD -25.33 [-29.86, -20.81] | 28 studies | GRADE not reported |
Epworth Sleepiness Scale (ESS), change Robotic (TORS) posterior midline glossectomy vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 7.5 months in robotic studies | MD -7.43 [-8.65, -6.21] | 9 studies | GRADE not reported |
Apnea-hypopnea index (AHI), change Non-robotic posterior midline glossectomy (coblation, laser, radiofrequency or conventional) vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 13 months in non-robotic studies | MD -24.99 [-30.97, -19.0] | 19 studies | GRADE not reported |
Epworth Sleepiness Scale (ESS), change Posterior midline glossectomy, robotic and non-robotic combined vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; follow-up varied | MD -6.32 [-7.94, -4.7] | 21 studies | GRADE not reported |
1 including review in total.