Primary study · included by 1 review
Surgery-first orthognathic approach vs traditional orthognathic approach: Oral health-related quality of life assessed with 2 questionnaires.
Pelo 2017 · Pelo Sandro, Gasparini Giulio, Garagiola Umberto, et al. · American journal of orthodontics and dentofacial orthopedics : official publication of the American Association of Orthodontists, its constituent societies, and the American Board of Orthodontics · 2017
Included by
| Outcome this study informs | Pooled effect | Evidence | Certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
OHIP-14 score (higher is worse OHRQoL) Orthodontic treatment (fixed appliances or clear aligners) and Orthognathic surgery (traditional or surgery-first) vs None (single-arm pooled post-treatment mean) · Last available assessment after treatment (time points not consistent) | Pooled mean score 9.69 [7.23, 12.16] | 13 studies | GRADE not reported |
OQLQ score (higher is worse OHRQoL) Orthognathic surgery (traditional or surgery-first) vs None (single-arm pooled post-treatment mean) · Last available assessment after surgery | Pooled mean score 17.93 [12.90, 22.95] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
OHIP-14 score (higher is worse OHRQoL) Orthodontic treatment (fixed appliances or clear aligners) and Orthognathic surgery (traditional or surgery-first) vs None (single-arm pooled post-treatment mean) · Last available assessment after treatment (time points not consistent) | Pooled mean score 9.94 [7.08, 12.80] | 13 studies | GRADE not reported |
OHIP-14 score (higher is worse OHRQoL) Orthodontic treatment (fixed appliances or clear aligners) and Orthognathic surgery (traditional or surgery-first) vs None (single-arm pooled post-treatment mean) · Last available assessment after treatment (time points not consistent) | Pooled mean score 10.23 [7.67, 12.80] | 13 studies | GRADE not reported |
OHIP-14 score (higher is worse OHRQoL) Orthodontic treatment (fixed appliances or clear aligners) and Orthognathic surgery (traditional or surgery-first) vs None (single-arm pooled post-treatment mean) · Last available assessment after treatment (time points not consistent) | Pooled mean score 10.27 [8.10, 12.44] | 13 studies | GRADE not reported |
OHIP-14 score (higher is worse OHRQoL) Orthodontic treatment (fixed appliances or clear aligners) and Orthognathic surgery (traditional or surgery-first) vs None (single-arm pooled post-treatment mean) · Last available assessment after treatment (time points not consistent) | Pooled mean score 9.66 [7.30, 12.02] | 14 studies · 435 participants | GRADE not reported |
OHIP-14 score (higher is worse OHRQoL) Orthodontic treatment (fixed appliances or clear aligners) and Orthognathic surgery (traditional or surgery-first) vs None (single-arm pooled post-treatment mean) · Last available assessment after treatment (time points not consistent) | Pooled mean score 9.76 [7.22, 12.30] | 13 studies | GRADE not reported |
OHIP-14 score (higher is worse OHRQoL) Orthodontic treatment (fixed appliances or clear aligners) and Orthognathic surgery (traditional or surgery-first) vs None (single-arm pooled post-treatment mean) · Last available assessment after treatment (time points not consistent) | Pooled mean score 9.29 [6.89, 11.69] | 13 studies | GRADE not reported |
OQLQ score (higher is worse OHRQoL) Orthognathic surgery (traditional or surgery-first) vs None (single-arm pooled post-treatment mean) · Last available assessment after surgery | Pooled mean score 21.76 [18.43, 25.10] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
OQLQ score (higher is worse OHRQoL) Orthognathic surgery (traditional or surgery-first) vs None (single-arm pooled post-treatment mean) · Last available assessment after surgery | Pooled mean score 19.08 [12.69, 25.48] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
OHIP-14 score (higher is worse OHRQoL) Orthodontic treatment (fixed appliances or clear aligners) and Orthognathic surgery (traditional or surgery-first) vs None (single-arm pooled post-treatment mean) · Last available assessment after treatment (time points not consistent) | Pooled mean score 10.04 [7.45, 12.64] | 13 studies | GRADE not reported |
OQLQ score (higher is worse OHRQoL) Orthognathic surgery (traditional or surgery-first) vs None (single-arm pooled post-treatment mean) · Last available assessment after surgery | Pooled mean score 20.24 [14.98, 25.49] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
OQLQ score (higher is worse OHRQoL) Orthognathic surgery (traditional or surgery-first) vs None (single-arm pooled post-treatment mean) · Last available assessment after surgery | Pooled mean score 19.50 [14.65, 24.36] | 7 studies · 151 participants | GRADE not reported |
OQLQ score (higher is worse OHRQoL) Orthognathic surgery (traditional or surgery-first) vs None (single-arm pooled post-treatment mean) · Last available assessment after surgery | Pooled mean score 19.33 [12.44, 26.23] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
OHIP-14 score (higher is worse OHRQoL) Orthodontic treatment (fixed appliances or clear aligners) and Orthognathic surgery (traditional or surgery-first) vs None (single-arm pooled post-treatment mean) · Last available assessment after treatment (time points not consistent) | Pooled mean score 9.40 [7.05, 11.75] | 13 studies | GRADE not reported |
OHIP-14 score (higher is worse OHRQoL) Orthodontic treatment (fixed appliances or clear aligners) and Orthognathic surgery (traditional or surgery-first) vs None (single-arm pooled post-treatment mean) · Last available assessment after treatment (time points not consistent) | Pooled mean score 9.67 [7.20, 12.14] | 13 studies | GRADE not reported |
OHIP-14 score (higher is worse OHRQoL) Orthodontic treatment (fixed appliances or clear aligners) and Orthognathic surgery (traditional or surgery-first) vs None (single-arm pooled post-treatment mean) · Last available assessment after treatment (time points not consistent) | Pooled mean score 9.46 [7.05, 11.87] | 13 studies | GRADE not reported |
OHIP-14 score (higher is worse OHRQoL) Orthodontic treatment (fixed appliances or clear aligners) and Orthognathic surgery (traditional or surgery-first) vs None (single-arm pooled post-treatment mean) · Last available assessment after treatment (time points not consistent) | Pooled mean score 9.80 [7.35, 12.24] | 13 studies | GRADE not reported |
OQLQ score (higher is worse OHRQoL) Orthognathic surgery (traditional or surgery-first) vs None (single-arm pooled post-treatment mean) · Last available assessment after surgery | Pooled mean score 18.03 [12.90, 23.15] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
OHIP-14 score (higher is worse OHRQoL) Orthodontic treatment (fixed appliances or clear aligners) and Orthognathic surgery (traditional or surgery-first) vs None (single-arm pooled post-treatment mean) · Last available assessment after treatment (time points not consistent) | Pooled mean score 8.93 [6.70, 11.17] | 13 studies | GRADE not reported |
OQLQ score (higher is worse OHRQoL) Orthognathic surgery (traditional or surgery-first) vs None (single-arm pooled post-treatment mean) · Last available assessment after surgery | Pooled mean score 20.21 [14.69, 25.72] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
OHIP-14 score (higher is worse OHRQoL) Orthodontic treatment (fixed appliances or clear aligners) and Orthognathic surgery (traditional or surgery-first) vs None (single-arm pooled post-treatment mean) · Last available assessment after treatment (time points not consistent) | Pooled mean score 9.45 [7.02, 11.89] | 13 studies | GRADE not reported |
OHIP-14 score (higher is worse OHRQoL) Orthodontic treatment (fixed appliances or clear aligners) and Orthognathic surgery (traditional or surgery-first) vs None (single-arm pooled post-treatment mean) · Last available assessment after treatment (time points not consistent) | Pooled mean score 9.27 [6.88, 11.66] | 13 studies | GRADE not reported |
1 including review in total.