Primary study · included by 3 reviews

Platelet-Rich Fibrin With 1.2% Rosuvastatin for Treatment of Intrabony Defects in Chronic Periodontitis: A Randomized Controlled Clinical Trial.

Pradeep 2016 · Pradeep A R, Garg Vibhuti, Kanoriya Dharmendra, et al. · Journal of periodontology · 2016

Included by

Outcome this study informsPooled effectEvidenceCertainty
Bone fill (BF)
Rosuvastatin (RSV) plus PRF vs PRF alone (placebo-containing PRF) · 6 and 9 months post-treatment (follow-up times combined)
SMD 2.32NRGRADE not reported
Clinical attachment level (CAL) gain
Rosuvastatin (RSV) plus PRF vs PRF alone (placebo-containing PRF) · 6 and 9 months post-treatment (follow-up times combined)
SMD 0.99NRGRADE not reported
Clinical attachment level (CAL) gain
Rosuvastatin (RSV) plus PRF vs PRF alone (placebo-containing PRF) · 6 and 9 months post-treatment (follow-up times combined)
SMD 1.55 [1.17, 1.94]1 studyGRADE not reported
Bone fill (BF)
Rosuvastatin (RSV) plus PRF vs PRF alone (placebo-containing PRF) · 6 and 9 months post-treatment (follow-up times combined)
SMD 2.32 [1.99, 2.65]1 studyGRADE not reported
Bone fill (BF)
Rosuvastatin (RSV) plus PRF vs PRF alone (placebo-containing PRF) · 6 and 9 months post-treatment (follow-up times combined)
SMD 2.24NRGRADE not reported
Clinical attachment level (CAL) gain
Rosuvastatin (RSV) plus PRF vs PRF alone (placebo-containing PRF) · 6 and 9 months post-treatment (follow-up times combined)
SMD 1.55NRGRADE not reported
Adjunctive Use of Locally Delivered Statins in Periodontal Therapy and Pre-Implant Bone Regeneration: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis.
Non-Cochrane · intervention · 2026 · cited as Pradeep 2016b · Figures 2-4; Tables 4-5 and reference list
Outcome this study informsPooled effectEvidenceCertainty
Clinical attachment level (CAL), change from baseline (mm)
Open flap debridement with PRF (and HA in furcation) plus locally delivered statin gel (atorvastatin or rosuvastatin) vs Same surgical procedure without statin · 9 months
MD 0.69 [0.42, 0.96]3 studies · 190 participantsGRADE not reported
Probing pocket depth (PPD), change from baseline (mm)
Open flap debridement with PRF (and HA in furcation) plus locally delivered statin gel (atorvastatin or rosuvastatin) vs Same surgical procedure without statin · 9 months
MD 0.80 [0.56, 1.05]3 studies · 190 participantsGRADE not reported

The review does not say which of its outcomes this study informs.

3 including reviews in total.