Primary study · included by 1 review
Comparison of minimally invasive techniques in tongue base surgery in patients with obstructive sleep apnea.
Babademez 2011 · Babademez Mehmet Ali, Yorubulut Mehmet, Yurekli Muge Fethiye, et al. · Otolaryngology--head and neck surgery : official journal of American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery · 2011
Included by
| Outcome this study informs | Pooled effect | Evidence | Certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Epworth Sleepiness Scale (ESS), change Non-robotic posterior midline glossectomy (coblation, laser, radiofrequency or conventional) vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 13 months in non-robotic studies | MD -5.58 [-7.83, -3.34] | 12 studies | GRADE not reported |
Operative time Non-robotic posterior midline glossectomy (coblation, laser, radiofrequency or conventional) vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 13 months in non-robotic studies | MEAN 48.79 [32.12, 65.45] | 3 studies | GRADE not reported |
Apnea-hypopnea index (AHI), change Posterior midline glossectomy, robotic and non-robotic combined vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; follow-up varied | MD -25.33 [-29.86, -20.81] | 28 studies | GRADE not reported |
Snoring score (VAS), change Posterior midline glossectomy, robotic and non-robotic combined vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; follow-up varied | MD -5.61 [-6.2, -5.01] | 10 studies | GRADE not reported |
Apnea-hypopnea index (AHI), change Non-robotic posterior midline glossectomy (coblation, laser, radiofrequency or conventional) vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 13 months in non-robotic studies | MD -24.99 [-30.97, -19.0] | 19 studies | GRADE not reported |
Epworth Sleepiness Scale (ESS), change Posterior midline glossectomy, robotic and non-robotic combined vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; follow-up varied | MD -6.32 [-7.94, -4.7] | 21 studies | GRADE not reported |
Time to oral intake (days to diet) Non-robotic posterior midline glossectomy (coblation, laser, radiofrequency or conventional) vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 13 months in non-robotic studies | MEAN 4.72 [3.74, 5.7] | 2 studies | GRADE not reported |
Postoperative pain (VAS) Non-robotic posterior midline glossectomy (coblation, laser, radiofrequency or conventional) vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 13 months in non-robotic studies | MEAN 3.97 [2.45, 5.49] | 5 studies | GRADE not reported |
Operative time Posterior midline glossectomy, robotic and non-robotic combined vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; follow-up varied | MEAN 49.34 [38.29, 60.4] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Respiratory disturbance index (RDI), change Posterior midline glossectomy, robotic and non-robotic combined vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; follow-up varied | MD -33.12 [-38.89, -27.35] | 7 studies | GRADE not reported |
1 including review in total.