Primary study · included by 1 review

Same-stage palatopharyngeal and hypopharyngeal surgery for severe obstructive sleep apnea.

Li 2004 · Li Hsueh-Yu, Wang Pa-Chun, Hsu Chung-Yao, et al. · Acta oto-laryngologica · 2004

Included by

Robotic versus non-robotic posterior midline glossectomy for obstructive sleep apnea: a systematic review and meta-analysis.
Non-Cochrane · intervention · 2026 · cited as Li 2004 · Supplementary Table 1; reference list; forest plots
Outcome this study informsPooled effectEvidenceCertainty
Oxygen nadir (minimum oxygen saturation), change
Non-robotic posterior midline glossectomy (coblation, laser, radiofrequency or conventional) vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 13 months in non-robotic studies
MD 8.11 [5.06, 11.16]17 studiesGRADE not reported
Surgical success rate (Sher criteria)
Non-robotic posterior midline glossectomy (coblation, laser, radiofrequency or conventional) vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 13 months in non-robotic studies
Proportion 0.57 [0.47, 0.69]13 studiesGRADE not reported
Oxygen nadir (minimum oxygen saturation), change
Posterior midline glossectomy, robotic and non-robotic combined vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; follow-up varied
MD 7.42 [5.16, 9.69]23 studiesGRADE not reported
Time to oral intake (days to diet)
Posterior midline glossectomy, robotic and non-robotic combined vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; follow-up varied
MEAN 4.04 [1.27, 6.82]4 studiesGRADE not reported
Respiratory disturbance index (RDI), change
Non-robotic posterior midline glossectomy (coblation, laser, radiofrequency or conventional) vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; mean follow-up 13 months in non-robotic studies
MD -33.94 [-41.31, -26.58]6 studiesGRADE not reported
Surgical success rate (Sher criteria)
Posterior midline glossectomy, robotic and non-robotic combined vs None (single-arm pre/post change or absolute value) · Postoperative; follow-up varied
Proportion 0.61 [0.54, 0.69]22 studiesGRADE not reported

1 including review in total.