Primary study · included by 1 review

Abdel Aziz 2016

ProbableThe reviews cited this study without a PMID, DOI or NCT, so it is matched by first author and year. Two different studies by the same author in the same year could be merged here.

Included by

Effect of Self-Assembling Peptide on White Spot Lesions in Orthodontic Patients: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis.
Non-Cochrane · intervention · 2026 · cited as Abdel Aziz 2016 · Table 1; Figure 3
Outcome this study informsPooled effectEvidenceCertainty
White spot lesion quantification (score, lesion size, fluorescence loss, microhardness, color change, mineral content)
Self-assembling peptide P11-4 (alone or with fluoride or ACP) vs Fluoride varnish, ACP varnish or no treatment · 6 weeks to 6 months
SMD -2.18 [-3.92, -0.45]5 studiesGRADE not reported
White spot lesion quantification (score, lesion size, fluorescence loss, microhardness, color change, mineral content)
Self-assembling peptide P11-4 (alone or with fluoride or ACP) vs Fluoride varnish, ACP varnish or no treatment · 6 weeks to 6 months
SMD -1.43 [-14.11, 11.25]2 studiesGRADE not reported
White spot lesion quantification (score, lesion size, fluorescence loss, microhardness, color change, mineral content)
Self-assembling peptide P11-4 (alone or with fluoride or ACP) vs Fluoride varnish, ACP varnish or no treatment · 6 weeks to 6 months
SMD -1.68 [-2.71, -0.67]8 studies · 395 participantsVery low
White spot lesion quantification (score, lesion size, fluorescence loss, microhardness, color change, mineral content)
Self-assembling peptide P11-4 (alone or with fluoride or ACP) vs Fluoride varnish, ACP varnish or no treatment · 6 weeks to 6 months
SMD -1.85 [-3.81, 0.11]5 studies · 206 participantsGRADE not reported
White spot lesion quantification (score, lesion size, fluorescence loss, microhardness, color change, mineral content)
Self-assembling peptide P11-4 (alone or with fluoride or ACP) vs Fluoride varnish, ACP varnish or no treatment · 6 weeks to 6 months
SMD -1.63 [-3.65, 0.4]3 studies · 158 participantsGRADE not reported
White spot lesion quantification (score, lesion size, fluorescence loss, microhardness, color change, mineral content)
Self-assembling peptide P11-4 (alone or with fluoride or ACP) vs Fluoride varnish, ACP varnish or no treatment · 6 weeks to 6 months
SMD -1.8 [-7.49, 3.89]3 studiesGRADE not reported
White spot lesion quantification (score, lesion size, fluorescence loss, microhardness, color change, mineral content)
Self-assembling peptide P11-4 (alone or with fluoride or ACP) vs Fluoride varnish, ACP varnish or no treatment · 6 weeks to 6 months
SMD -2.13 [-4.61, 0.35]2 studiesGRADE not reported
White spot lesion quantification (score, lesion size, fluorescence loss, microhardness, color change, mineral content)
Self-assembling peptide P11-4 (alone or with fluoride or ACP) vs Fluoride varnish, ACP varnish or no treatment · 6 weeks to 6 months
SMD -1.8 [-3.14, -0.47]6 studiesGRADE not reported
White spot lesion quantification (score, lesion size, fluorescence loss, microhardness, color change, mineral content)
Self-assembling peptide P11-4 (alone or with fluoride or ACP) vs Fluoride varnish, ACP varnish or no treatment · 6 weeks to 6 months
SMD -1.75 [-2.99, -0.53]7 studiesGRADE not reported
White spot lesion quantification (score, lesion size, fluorescence loss, microhardness, color change, mineral content)
Self-assembling peptide P11-4 (alone or with fluoride or ACP) vs Fluoride varnish, ACP varnish or no treatment · 6 weeks to 6 months
SMD -1.8 [-3.14, -0.47]6 studiesGRADE not reported
White spot lesion quantification (score, lesion size, fluorescence loss, microhardness, color change, mineral content)
Self-assembling peptide P11-4 (alone or with fluoride or ACP) vs Fluoride varnish, ACP varnish or no treatment · 6 weeks to 6 months
SMD -1.43 [-14.11, 11.25]2 studiesGRADE not reported
White spot lesion quantification (score, lesion size, fluorescence loss, microhardness, color change, mineral content)
Self-assembling peptide P11-4 (alone or with fluoride or ACP) vs Fluoride varnish, ACP varnish or no treatment · 6 weeks to 6 months
SMD -0.68 [-2.21, 0.85]2 studiesGRADE not reported

1 including review in total.