Primary study · included by 1 review

Three-Dimensional Analysis of Maxillary Expansion during Mixed Dentition: Comparison between Leaf Expander and Aligners—A Case-Control Study

Silvestrini-Biavati 2024 · Silvestrini-Biavati Francesca, Imenpour Sirus, Poli Francesca, et al. · Applied Sciences · 2024

Included by

Effectiveness of clear aligners for maxillary expansion in growing patients: a systematic review and meta-analysis.
Non-Cochrane · intervention · 2026 · cited as Silvestrini-Biavati 2024 · Table 1; reference list
Outcome this study informsPooled effectEvidenceCertainty
Quantity of expansion: intermolar distance (6-6)
Clear aligners (Invisalign First) vs Conventional maxillary expanders (RME/Hyrax, leaf, removable acrylic, slow expansion) · Change from baseline to end of treatment
MD -1.77 [-2.57, -0.97]7 studies · 333 participantsModerate
Second primary molar distance (E-E)
Clear aligners (Invisalign First) vs Conventional maxillary expanders (RME/Hyrax, leaf, removable acrylic, slow expansion) · Change from baseline to end of treatment
MD -0.38 [-1.16, 0.40]3 studies · 180 participantsGRADE not reported
Arch perimeter
Clear aligners (Invisalign First) vs Conventional maxillary expanders (RME/Hyrax, leaf, removable acrylic, slow expansion) · Change from baseline to end of treatment
MD -1.75 [-2.71, -0.80]2 studies · 102 participantsLow
Intercanine distance (C-C)
Clear aligners (Invisalign First) vs Conventional maxillary expanders (RME/Hyrax, leaf, removable acrylic, slow expansion) · Change from baseline to end of treatment
MD -0.74 [-1.68, 0.20]7 studies · 333 participantsGRADE not reported
First primary molar distance (D-D)
Clear aligners (Invisalign First) vs Conventional maxillary expanders (RME/Hyrax, leaf, removable acrylic, slow expansion) · Change from baseline to end of treatment
MD 0.14 [-1.08, 1.37]3 studies · 180 participantsGRADE not reported
Intercanine distance (C-C)
Clear aligners (Invisalign First) vs Conventional maxillary expanders (RME/Hyrax, leaf, removable acrylic, slow expansion) · Change from baseline to end of treatment
MD -0.507 [-1.44, 0.426]7 studies · 333 participantsGRADE not reported

1 including review in total.