Primary study · included by 1 review

Results of a third Gamma Knife radiosurgery for trigeminal neuralgia

Helis 2021 · Helis Corbin A., Hughes Ryan T., Munley Michael T., et al. · Journal of Neurosurgery · 2021

Included by

Repeat gamma knife radiosurgery for recurrent trigeminal neuralgia: a systematic review and meta-analysis.
Non-Cochrane · intervention · 2026 · cited as Helis 2021 · Table 1; reference list
Outcome this study informsPooled effectEvidenceCertainty
Pain recurrence after repeat GKRS
Repeat Gamma Knife radiosurgery (GKRS) vs No comparator (single-arm)
Meta-regression coefficient -0.00577 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain recurrence after repeat GKRS
Repeat Gamma Knife radiosurgery (GKRS) vs No comparator (single-arm)
Meta-regression coefficient -0.00048 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain relief after repeat GKRS
Repeat Gamma Knife radiosurgery (GKRS) vs No comparator (single-arm)
Meta-regression coefficient 0.00228 studiesGRADE not reported
Facial hypoesthesia after repeat GKRS
Repeat Gamma Knife radiosurgery (GKRS) vs No comparator (single-arm) · After repeat GKRS
Proportion (%) 39.04 [26.65, 51.42]12 studies · 564 participantsGRADE not reported
BNI pain score I-III (favorable pain outcome) after latest treatment
Repeat Gamma Knife radiosurgery (GKRS) vs No comparator (single-arm) · After latest (repeat) treatment
Proportion (%) 76.68 [69.70, 82.46]13 studies · 606 participantsGRADE not reported
Pain recurrence after repeat GKRS
Repeat Gamma Knife radiosurgery (GKRS) vs No comparator (single-arm) · After repeat GKRS
Proportion (%) 29.07 [22.68, 35.46]14 studies · 1404 participantsGRADE not reported
BNI pain score I-III (favorable pain outcome) at latest follow-up
Repeat Gamma Knife radiosurgery (GKRS) vs No comparator (single-arm) · Latest available follow-up (median follow-up 14-74 months across studies)
Proportion (%) 61.94 [35.59, 82.74]8 studies · 350 participantsGRADE not reported
Corneal dryness after repeat GKRS
Repeat Gamma Knife radiosurgery (GKRS) vs No comparator (single-arm) · After repeat GKRS
Proportion (%) 10.99 [3.42, 21.54]3 studies · 199 participantsGRADE not reported
Pain relief after repeat GKRS
Repeat Gamma Knife radiosurgery (GKRS) vs No comparator (single-arm) · After repeat GKRS
Proportion (%) 68.44 [58.44, 78.44]12 studies · 1078 participantsGRADE not reported
Pain recurrence after repeat GKRS
Repeat Gamma Knife radiosurgery (GKRS) vs No comparator (single-arm)
Meta-regression coefficient -0.01099 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain relief after repeat GKRS
Repeat Gamma Knife radiosurgery (GKRS) vs No comparator (single-arm)
Meta-regression coefficient -0.00866 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain relief after repeat GKRS
Repeat Gamma Knife radiosurgery (GKRS) vs No comparator (single-arm)
Meta-regression coefficient 0.00478 studiesGRADE not reported
BNI pain score I-III (favorable pain outcome) after prior treatment
Repeat Gamma Knife radiosurgery (GKRS) vs No comparator (single-arm) · Before repeat GKRS (after prior treatment)
Proportion (%) 70.57 [25.81, 94.30]10 studies · 481 participantsGRADE not reported
Pain recurrence after repeat GKRS
Repeat Gamma Knife radiosurgery (GKRS) vs No comparator (single-arm)
Meta-regression coefficient -0.000010 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain recurrence after repeat GKRS
Repeat Gamma Knife radiosurgery (GKRS) vs No comparator (single-arm)
Meta-regression coefficient 0.003510 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain relief after repeat GKRS
Repeat Gamma Knife radiosurgery (GKRS) vs No comparator (single-arm)
Meta-regression coefficient 0.00126 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain relief after repeat GKRS
Repeat Gamma Knife radiosurgery (GKRS) vs No comparator (single-arm)
Meta-regression coefficient -0.001110 studiesGRADE not reported

1 including review in total.