Primary study · included by 2 reviews

Influence of oral health on frailty in patients with type 2 diabetes aged 75 years or older

Ishii 2022 · Ishii Masaki, Yamaguchi Yasuhiro, Hamaya Hironobu, et al. · BMC Geriatrics · 2022

Included by

A systematic review and meta-analysis of the prevalence and risk factors of oral frailty among older adults.
Non-Cochrane · prognostic · 2026 · cited as Ishii 2022 · Table 1; reference list
Outcome this study informsPooled effectEvidenceCertainty
Oral frailty (OFI-6 or OFI-8)
Not applicable (prevalence) vs Not applicable
Prevalence 24.9 [17.3, 33.4]10 studiesGRADE not reported
Oral frailty (OFI-6 or OFI-8)
Not applicable (prevalence) vs Not applicable
Prevalence 29.2 [15.7, 44.9]5 studiesGRADE not reported
Oral frailty (OFI-6 or OFI-8)
Not applicable (prevalence) vs Not applicable
Prevalence 39.4 [31.3, 47.8]6 studiesGRADE not reported
Oral frailty (OFI-6 or OFI-8)
Not applicable (prevalence) vs Not applicable
Prevalence 19.2 [10.6, 29.5]4 studiesGRADE not reported
Oral frailty (OFI-6 or OFI-8)
Not applicable (prevalence) vs Not applicable
Prevalence 20.6 [12.1, 30.6]8 studiesGRADE not reported
Oral frailty (OFI-6 or OFI-8)
Not applicable (prevalence) vs Not applicable
Prevalence 43.3 [34.8, 52.0]8 studiesGRADE not reported
Oral frailty (OFI-6 or OFI-8)
Not applicable (prevalence) vs Not applicable
Prevalence 48.7 [35.2, 62.3]5 studiesGRADE not reported
Oral frailty (OFI-6 or OFI-8)
Not applicable (prevalence) vs Not applicable
Prevalence 34.7 [26.3, 43.7]13 studiesGRADE not reported
Prevalence of oral frailty
Oral frailty assessed by OFI-6 or OFI-8
OR (meta-regression) 0.80 [0.68, 0.93]15 studiesGRADE not reported
Prevalence of oral frailty
Oral frailty assessed by OFI-6 or OFI-8
OR (meta-regression) 0.84 [0.65, 1.09]15 studiesGRADE not reported
Oral frailty (OFI-6 or OFI-8)
Not applicable (prevalence) vs Not applicable
Prevalence 27.9 [17.4, 39.8]9 studiesGRADE not reported
Oral frailty (OFI-6 or OFI-8)
Not applicable (prevalence) vs Not applicable
Prevalence 32 [25, 41]15 studiesGRADE not reported
Oral frailty (OFI-6 or OFI-8)
Not applicable (prevalence) vs Not applicable
Prevalence 29.1 [19.7, 39.5]7 studiesGRADE not reported
Prevalence of oral frailty
Oral frailty assessed by OFI-6 or OFI-8
OR (meta-regression) 1.11 [0.93, 1.33]15 studiesGRADE not reported
Oral frailty (OFI-6 or OFI-8)
Not applicable (prevalence) vs Not applicable
Prevalence 47.6 [37.6, 57.8]7 studiesGRADE not reported
Oral frailty (OFI-6 or OFI-8)
Not applicable (prevalence) vs Not applicable
Prevalence 20.6 [14.6, 27.4]7 studiesGRADE not reported
Oral frailty (OFI-6 or OFI-8)
Not applicable (prevalence) vs Not applicable
Prevalence 35.5 [21.0, 51.5]8 studiesGRADE not reported
Prevalence of oral frailty
Oral frailty assessed by OFI-6 or OFI-8
OR (meta-regression) 1.07 [0.89, 1.28]15 studiesGRADE not reported
Oral frailty (OFI-6 or OFI-8)
Not applicable (prevalence) vs Not applicable
Prevalence 20.5 [18.7, 22.5]2 studiesGRADE not reported
Prevalence of oral frailty
Oral frailty assessed by OFI-6 or OFI-8
OR (meta-regression) 0.77 [0.68, 0.87]15 studiesGRADE not reported
Prevalence of oral frailty
Oral frailty assessed by OFI-6 or OFI-8
OR (meta-regression) 1.24 [1.08, 1.43]15 studiesGRADE not reported
Association between oral frailty and physical frailty among older adults: a meta-analysis.
Non-Cochrane · aetiology · 2026 · cited as Ishii 2022 · Table 1; Fig. 3; References
Outcome this study informsPooled effectEvidenceCertainty
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 2.05 [1.71, 2.46]3 studies · 4609 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 2.39 [1.62, 3.53]3 studies · 5114 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 2.00 [1.28, 3.11]5 studies · 6358 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 3.58 [1.11, 11.52]6 studies · 3869 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 2.34 [1.96, 2.79]4 studies · 24749 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 5.09 [1.83, 14.16]6 studies · 22804 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 5.69 [1.15, 28.02]4 studies · 3086 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 9.63 [1.33, 69.61]3 studies · 1340 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
meta-regression coefficient (beta) -1.55 [-2.23, -0.87]NRGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 3.33 [1.76, 6.31]11 studies · 11300 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 6.22 [0.60, 64.06]3 studies · 1858 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 2.53 [1.71, 3.74]3 studies · 22976 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 2.46 [2.05, 2.94]13 studiesGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 3.11 [1.89, 5.10]14 studiesGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 2.57 [2.09, 3.15]8 studies · 27809 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 2.77 [1.72, 4.46]3 studies · 4911 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 2.56 [2.08, 3.15]8 studies · 30407 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 1.76 [1.05, 2.97]3 studies · 1530 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 2.42 [1.99, 2.94]11 studies · 32936 participantsGRADE not reported

2 including reviews in total.