Primary study · included by 2 reviews
Effect of different platelet‐rich fibrin matrices for ridge preservation in multiple tooth extractions: A split‐mouth randomized controlled clinical trial
Castro et al., 2021 · Castro Ana B., Van Dessel Jeroen, Temmerman Andy, et al. · Journal of Clinical Periodontology · 2021
Included by
| Outcome this study informs | Pooled effect | Evidence | Certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Alveolar ridge width reduction (mm) PRF alone placed in the extraction socket (any preparation protocol) vs Spontaneous healing (blood clot) · 6 months | MD -0.11 [-0.41, 0.18] | 2 studies · 110 participants | GRADE not reported |
Percentage of new bone formation (BV/TV, histomorphometry) PRF alone placed in the extraction socket (any preparation protocol) vs Spontaneous healing (blood clot) · 2 months | MD 22.11 [-10.27, 54.49] | 2 studies · 74 participants | GRADE not reported |
Alveolar ridge height reduction (mm) PRF alone placed in the extraction socket (any preparation protocol) vs Spontaneous healing (blood clot) · 4 months | MD -0.57 [-0.93, -0.20] | 5 studies · 122 participants | GRADE not reported |
Percentage of new bone formation (BV/TV, histomorphometry) PRF alone placed in the extraction socket (any preparation protocol) vs Spontaneous healing (blood clot) · 2 to 4 months (pooled over time points) | MD 15.92 [1.87, 29.97] | 7 studies · 237 participants | Low |
Alveolar ridge width reduction (mm) PRF alone placed in the extraction socket (any preparation protocol) vs Spontaneous healing (blood clot) · 4 months | MD -0.23 [-0.66, 0.20] | 5 studies · 122 participants | GRADE not reported |
Alveolar ridge width reduction (mm) PRF alone placed in the extraction socket (any preparation protocol) vs Spontaneous healing (blood clot) · 2 months | MD -0.62 [-1.18, -0.05] | 2 studies · 41 participants | GRADE not reported |
Alveolar ridge height reduction (mm) PRF alone placed in the extraction socket (any preparation protocol) vs Spontaneous healing (blood clot) · 2 to 6 months (pooled over time points) | MD -0.60 [-0.85, -0.34] | 13 studies · 457 participants | Moderate |
Percentage of new bone formation (BV/TV, histomorphometry) PRF alone placed in the extraction socket (any preparation protocol) vs Spontaneous healing (blood clot) · 3 months | MD 11.36 [4.70, 18.02] | 3 studies · 83 participants | GRADE not reported |
Percentage of new bone formation (BV/TV, histomorphometry) PRF alone placed in the extraction socket (any preparation protocol) vs Spontaneous healing (blood clot) · 4 months | MD 16.97 [4.14, 29.81] | 2 studies · 80 participants | GRADE not reported |
Alveolar ridge width reduction (mm) PRF alone placed in the extraction socket (any preparation protocol) vs Spontaneous healing (blood clot) | MD -0.47 [-0.74, -0.21] | 14 studies · 478 participants | GRADE not reported |
Alveolar ridge height reduction (mm) PRF alone placed in the extraction socket (any preparation protocol) vs Spontaneous healing (blood clot) · 6 months | MD -0.28 [-0.53, -0.03] | 2 studies · 110 participants | GRADE not reported |
Alveolar ridge width reduction (mm) PRF alone placed in the extraction socket (any preparation protocol) vs Spontaneous healing (blood clot) · 3 months | MD -0.77 [-1.56, 0.03] | 6 studies · 225 participants | GRADE not reported |
Alveolar ridge width reduction (mm) PRF alone placed in the extraction socket (any preparation protocol) vs Spontaneous healing (blood clot) · 2 to 6 months (pooled over time points) | MD -0.42 [-0.68, -0.16] | 15 studies · 498 participants | Low |
Percentage of new bone formation (BV/TV, histomorphometry) PRF alone placed in the extraction socket (any preparation protocol) vs Spontaneous healing (blood clot) | MD 17.07 [1.96, 32.19] | 6 studies · 217 participants | GRADE not reported |
Alveolar ridge height reduction (mm) PRF alone placed in the extraction socket (any preparation protocol) vs Spontaneous healing (blood clot) · 3 months | MD -0.95 [-1.59, -0.31] | 6 studies · 225 participants | GRADE not reported |
Alveolar ridge height reduction (mm) PRF alone placed in the extraction socket (any preparation protocol) vs Spontaneous healing (blood clot) | MD -0.57 [-0.82, -0.32] | 12 studies · 437 participants | GRADE not reported |
The review does not say which of its outcomes this study informs.
2 including reviews in total.