Primary study · included by 2 reviews

A comparison of rofecoxib versus celecoxib in treating pain after dental surgery: A single-center, randomized, double-blind, placebo- and active-comparator-controlled, parallel-group, single-dose study using the dental impaction pain model

Malmstrom 2002 · Malmstrom Kerstin, Fricke James R., Kotey Paul, et al. · Clinical Therapeutics · 2002

Included by

Cyclooxygenase-2 selective inhibitors increase the risk of alveolar osteitis: A systematic review and meta-analysis.
Non-Cochrane · intervention · 2026 · cited as Malmstrom 2002 · Reference [51]; Figures 1-2
Outcome this study informsPooled effectEvidenceCertainty
Alveolar osteitis (dry socket) occurrence
Rofecoxib vs Placebo or untreated control
OR 1.83 [1.05, 3.18]4 studies · 752 participantsGRADE not reported
Alveolar osteitis (dry socket) occurrence
Rofecoxib vs Placebo or untreated control
OR 1.59 [0.92, 2.77]4 studies · 824 participantsGRADE not reported
Alveolar osteitis (dry socket) occurrence
Celecoxib vs Placebo or untreated control
OR 0.28 [0.15, 0.52]3 studies · 682 participantsGRADE not reported
Alveolar osteitis (dry socket) occurrence
Rofecoxib vs Placebo or untreated control
OR 2.00 [1.18, 3.41]4 studies · 763 participantsGRADE not reported
Alveolar osteitis (dry socket) occurrence
Rofecoxib vs Placebo or untreated control
OR 1.89 [1.15, 3.10]5 studies · 947 participantsGRADE not reported
Alveolar osteitis (dry socket) occurrence
Ibuprofen vs Placebo or untreated control
OR 0.72 [0.46, 1.13]7 studies · 1166 participantsGRADE not reported
Alveolar osteitis (dry socket) occurrence
Rofecoxib vs Placebo or untreated control
OR 2.22 [1.21, 4.07]4 studies · 623 participantsGRADE not reported
Alveolar osteitis (dry socket)
COX-2 selective inhibitors, all drugs combined vs Placebo or untreated control
Overall results showed no statistical difference (no overall estimate reported)13 studies · 3820 participantsGRADE not reported
Alveolar osteitis (dry socket) occurrence
Rofecoxib vs Placebo or untreated control
OR 1.89 [1.11, 3.24]4 studies · 826 participantsGRADE not reported

The review does not say which of its outcomes this study informs.

2 including reviews in total.