Primary study · included by 2 reviews

Does Combining Arthrocentesis With Injectable Platelet-Rich Fibrin Outperform Arthrocentesis or Injectable Platelet-Rich Fibrin Alone in Alleviating Pain and Improving Function in Temporomandibular Joint Dysfunction?

Chaulagain 2025 · Chaulagain Ram Sundar, Simre Saurabh S., Shukla Sagrika, et al. · Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery · 2025

Included by

Outcome this study informsPooled effectEvidenceCertainty
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD -1.57 [-2.36, -0.78]7 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD -1.68 [-2.46, -0.91]7 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD -1.86 [-2.35, -1.37]7 studiesGRADE not reported
Maximum mouth opening (MMO), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD 5.39 [3.29, 7.5]6 studiesGRADE not reported
Maximum mouth opening (MMO), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD 5.03 [2.99, 7.07]7 studies · 270 participantsModerate
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Not specified
MD -1.61 [-2.26, -0.95]2 studies · 112 participantsGRADE not reported
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · 6 months
MD -1.83 [-2.43, -1.24]2 studies · 70 participantsGRADE not reported
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
Meta-regression coefficient 0.0232 [-0.2078, 0.2542]8 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Not specified
MD -1.59 [-1.88, -1.3]2 studies · 112 participantsGRADE not reported
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD -1.64 [-2.41, -0.86]7 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD -1.62 [-2.28, -0.96]8 studies · 298 participantsModerate
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD -1.55 [-2.33, -0.77]7 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD -1.73 [-2.41, -1.05]7 studiesGRADE not reported
Maximum mouth opening (MMO), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD 5.12 [2.87, 7.37]6 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · 9-12 months
MD -1.13 [-2.13, -0.12]3 studies · 140 participantsGRADE not reported
Maximum mouth opening (MMO), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD 3.94 [3.14, 4.73]6 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Not specified
MD -1.66 [-2.18, -1.14]2 studies · 112 participantsGRADE not reported
Maximum mouth opening (MMO), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD 4.85 [2.33, 7.38]6 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD -1.5 [-2.18, -0.81]7 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · 3 months
MD -2.13 [-3.75, -0.51]3 studies · 88 participantsGRADE not reported
Contralateral excursion, change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD 0.94 [0.41, 1.48]3 studies · 144 participantsModerate
Maximum mouth opening (MMO), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD 4.99 [2.5, 7.48]6 studiesGRADE not reported
Maximum mouth opening (MMO), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD 5.51 [3.06, 7.96]6 studiesGRADE not reported
Maximum mouth opening (MMO), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD 5.31 [2.66, 7.96]6 studiesGRADE not reported
Protrusive movement, change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD 1.08 [0.48, 1.69]3 studies · 144 participantsModerate
Quality of life (OHIP-14), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD -3.61 [-10.87, 3.65]2 studies · 52 participantsModerate
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD -1.44 [-2.06, -0.81]7 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Not specified
MD -1.49 [-1.99, -0.99]2 studies · 112 participantsGRADE not reported
Efficacy of combined therapies on degenerative joint disease of the temporomandibular joint: A systematic review and meta-analysis.
Non-Cochrane · intervention · 2026 · cited as Chaulagain 2025 · Supplement mmc1 Appendix C section A (RCTs in meta-analysis), A7

The review does not say which of its outcomes this study informs.

2 including reviews in total.