Primary study · included by 1 review

Efficacy of injectable platelet-rich fibrin and concentrated platelet-rich fibrin injections combined with arthrocentesis in the management of temporomandibular joint internal disorders: Randomized clinical trial

Yilmaz 2026 · Yilmaz Muhammed Furkan, Omezli Mehmet Melih, Torul Damla, et al. · Journal of Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery · 2026

Included by

Outcome this study informsPooled effectEvidenceCertainty
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD -1.57 [-2.36, -0.78]7 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD -1.68 [-2.46, -0.91]7 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD -1.86 [-2.35, -1.37]7 studiesGRADE not reported
Maximum mouth opening (MMO), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD 5.39 [3.29, 7.5]6 studiesGRADE not reported
Maximum mouth opening (MMO), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD 5.03 [2.99, 7.07]7 studies · 270 participantsModerate
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Not specified
MD -1.61 [-2.26, -0.95]2 studies · 112 participantsGRADE not reported
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · 6 months
MD -1.83 [-2.43, -1.24]2 studies · 70 participantsGRADE not reported
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
Meta-regression coefficient 0.0232 [-0.2078, 0.2542]8 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Not specified
MD -1.59 [-1.88, -1.3]2 studies · 112 participantsGRADE not reported
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD -1.64 [-2.41, -0.86]7 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD -1.62 [-2.28, -0.96]8 studies · 298 participantsModerate
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD -1.55 [-2.33, -0.77]7 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD -1.73 [-2.41, -1.05]7 studiesGRADE not reported
Maximum mouth opening (MMO), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD 5.12 [2.87, 7.37]6 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · 9-12 months
MD -1.13 [-2.13, -0.12]3 studies · 140 participantsGRADE not reported
Maximum mouth opening (MMO), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD 3.94 [3.14, 4.73]6 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Not specified
MD -1.66 [-2.18, -1.14]2 studies · 112 participantsGRADE not reported
Maximum mouth opening (MMO), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD 4.85 [2.33, 7.38]6 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD -1.5 [-2.18, -0.81]7 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · 3 months
MD -2.13 [-3.75, -0.51]3 studies · 88 participantsGRADE not reported
Maximum mouth opening (MMO), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD 4.99 [2.5, 7.48]6 studiesGRADE not reported
Maximum mouth opening (MMO), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD 5.51 [3.06, 7.96]6 studiesGRADE not reported
Maximum mouth opening (MMO), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD 5.31 [2.66, 7.96]6 studiesGRADE not reported
Quality of life (OHIP-14), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD -3.61 [-10.87, 3.65]2 studies · 52 participantsModerate
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months
MD -1.44 [-2.06, -0.81]7 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain (VAS), change from baseline
Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Not specified
MD -1.49 [-1.99, -0.99]2 studies · 112 participantsGRADE not reported

1 including review in total.