Primary study · included by 1 review

Oral frailty is associated with mortality independently of physical and psychological frailty among older adults

Watanabe et al. 2024 · Watanabe Daiki, Yoshida Tsukasa, Watanabe Yuya, et al. · Experimental Gerontology · 2024

Included by

Association between oral frailty and physical frailty among older adults: a meta-analysis.
Non-Cochrane · aetiology · 2026 · cited as Watanabe 2024 · Table 1; Fig. 3; References
Outcome this study informsPooled effectEvidenceCertainty
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 2.05 [1.71, 2.46]3 studies · 4609 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 2.39 [1.62, 3.53]3 studies · 5114 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 2.00 [1.28, 3.11]5 studies · 6358 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 3.58 [1.11, 11.52]6 studies · 3869 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 2.34 [1.96, 2.79]4 studies · 24749 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 5.09 [1.83, 14.16]6 studies · 22804 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 5.69 [1.15, 28.02]4 studies · 3086 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 9.63 [1.33, 69.61]3 studies · 1340 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
meta-regression coefficient (beta) -1.55 [-2.23, -0.87]NRGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 3.33 [1.76, 6.31]11 studies · 11300 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 6.22 [0.60, 64.06]3 studies · 1858 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 2.53 [1.71, 3.74]3 studies · 22976 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 2.46 [2.05, 2.94]13 studiesGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 3.11 [1.89, 5.10]14 studiesGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 2.57 [2.09, 3.15]8 studies · 27809 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 2.77 [1.72, 4.46]3 studies · 4911 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 2.56 [2.08, 3.15]8 studies · 30407 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 1.76 [1.05, 2.97]3 studies · 1530 participantsGRADE not reported
Physical frailty
Oral frailty (exposure) vs No oral frailty (non-oral frailty or oral robust) · Cross-sectional association (baseline data)
OR 2.42 [1.99, 2.94]11 studies · 32936 participantsGRADE not reported

1 including review in total.