Non-Cochrane · intervention · PM42782997

Complete, Selective, and Stepwise Carious Tissue Removal for Deep Carious Lesions in Vital Permanent Teeth: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis.

Laville Emile, Rodrigues Alexandra Pinto, Mascarenhas Paulo · Dentistry journal · 2026 · PubMed · doi:10.3390/dj14090610

Findings

33 findings

Population
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsSelective carious tissue removalStepwise carious tissue removalRestorative failure
18 months · Recchi 2024; sensitivity
HR 3.846 [0.585, 25]
Very low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
1 study
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsSelective carious tissue removalStepwise carious tissue removalIntraoperative pulp exposure
Intraoperative · ICC 0.05 sensitivity
RR 0.11 [0.003, 4.54]
GRADE not reported
3 studies
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsSelective carious tissue removalStepwise carious tissue removalLate pulpal failure
36 months · Maltz 2012
HR 0.21 [0.07, 0.63]
Moderate
Downgraded: risk of bias
1 study
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsSelective carious tissue removalStepwise carious tissue removalIntraoperative pulp exposure
Intraoperative · ICC 0.2 sensitivity
RR 0.11 [0.003, 4.85]
GRADE not reported
3 studies
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsSelective carious tissue removalStepwise carious tissue removalLate pulpal failure
12–24 months · Consistency model; exploratory network
RR 0.66 [0.15, 2.87]
GRADE not reported
5 studies
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsSelective carious tissue removalStepwise carious tissue removalLate pulpal failure
12–24 months · ICC 0.05 sensitivity
RR 0.5 [0.01, 21.52]
GRADE not reported
3 studies
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsSelective carious tissue removalStepwise carious tissue removalIntraoperative pulp exposure
Intraoperative · Primary direct random-effects, ICC 0.10
RR 0.111 [0.00264, 4.64]
-37 [-42, 152] per 1000
Very low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
3 studies
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsSelective carious tissue removalStepwise carious tissue removalIntraoperative pulp exposure
Intraoperative · No continuity correction; modified Knapp–Hartung
RD -0.036 [-0.083, 0.012]
GRADE not reported
3 studies
Vital permanent teeth with deep carious lesions (children, adolescents and adults)Selective carious tissue removal (SCR)Stepwise carious tissue removal (SWR)Late pulpal failure
12-24 months · Dental clinical trials (Europe, Africa, South America, Asia) · Exploratory network: unrelated mean-effects (inconsistency) model
RR 0.50 [0.10, 2.60]
GRADE not reported
3 studies
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsSelective carious tissue removalStepwise carious tissue removalLate pulpal failure
60 months · Maltz 2018
HR 0.38 [0.23, 0.63]
Moderate
Downgraded: risk of bias
1 study
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsSelective carious tissue removalStepwise carious tissue removalLate pulpal failure
12–24 months · ICC 0 sensitivity
RR 0.5 [0.01, 21.52]
GRADE not reported
3 studies
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsSelective carious tissue removalStepwise carious tissue removalIntraoperative pulp exposure
Intraoperative · Exact conditional CMH common effect
OR 0 [0, 0.344]
GRADE not reported
3 studies
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsSelective carious tissue removalStepwise carious tissue removalLate pulpal failure
12–24 months · Primary direct random-effects, ICC 0.10
RR 0.499 [0.0116, 21.5]
-45 [-90, 909] per 1000
Very low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, inconsistency
3 studies
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsSelective carious tissue removalStepwise carious tissue removalIntraoperative pulp exposure
Intraoperative · ICC 0 sensitivity
RR 0.11 [0.003, 4.44]
GRADE not reported
3 studies
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsSelective carious tissue removalStepwise carious tissue removalRestorative failure
60 months · Jardim 2020
HR 0.83 [0.41, 1.69]
Very low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
1 study
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsSelective carious tissue removalStepwise carious tissue removalLate pulpal failure
12–24 months · ICC 0.2 sensitivity
RR 0.5 [0.01, 21.53]
GRADE not reported
3 studies
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsSelective carious tissue removalStepwise carious tissue removalRestorative failure
12–24 months · Recchi 2024; study-specific
RR 1.75 [0.32, 9.49]
Very low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
1 study
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsSelective carious tissue removalStepwise carious tissue removalOverall complications
12 months · Labib 2019; composite
HR 0.67 [0.24, 1.85]
GRADE not reported
1 study
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsSelective carious tissue removalStepwise carious tissue removalRestorative failure
12–24 months · Maltz 2013; double-zero sensitivity
RD 0 [-0.038, 0.034]
GRADE not reported
1 study
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsSelective carious tissue removalStepwise carious tissue removalRestorative failure
12–24 months · Labib 2019; double-zero sensitivity
RD 0 [-0.056, 0.056]
GRADE not reported
1 study
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsSelective carious tissue removalStepwise carious tissue removalIntraoperative pulp exposure
Intraoperative · Conventional Knapp–Hartung
RR 0.11 [0.063, 0.196]
GRADE not reported
3 studies
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsSelective carious tissue removalComplete carious tissue removalLate pulpal failure
12–24 months · Unrelated mean-effects model; exploratory network
RR 5 [0.11, 234.07]
GRADE not reported
1 study
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsSelective carious tissue removalComplete carious tissue removalIntraoperative pulp exposure
Intraoperative · Ahmed 2021; study-specific
RR 0.07 [0.004, 1.12]
Very low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
1 study
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsSelective carious tissue removalComplete carious tissue removalIntraoperative pulp exposure
Intraoperative · Khokhar 2018; study-specific
RR 0.04 [0.002, 0.63]
Very low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
1 study
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsSelective carious tissue removalComplete carious tissue removalLate pulpal failure
12–24 months · Rando-Meirelles 2013; double-zero sensitivity
RD 0 [-0.324, 0.324]
GRADE not reported
1 study
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsSelective carious tissue removalComplete carious tissue removalLate pulpal failure
12–24 months · Ahmed 2021; study-specific
RR 5 [0.25, 99.95]
Very low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
1 study
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsSelective carious tissue removalComplete carious tissue removalLate pulpal failure
12–24 months · Consistency model; exploratory network
RR 1.14 [0.12, 10.85]
GRADE not reported
5 studies
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsSelective carious tissue removalComplete carious tissue removalLate pulpal failure
18 months · Khokhar 2018; conditional on no exposure
RR 4.18 [0.5, 34.73]
GRADE not reported
1 study
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsStepwise carious tissue removalComplete carious tissue removalIntraoperative pulp exposure
Intraoperative · Bjørndal 2010; study-specific
RR 0.61 [0.39, 0.94]
Low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
1 study
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsStepwise carious tissue removalComplete carious tissue removalLate pulpal failure
12–24 months · Unrelated mean-effects model; exploratory network
RR 0.96 [0.08, 12.03]
GRADE not reported
1 study
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsStepwise carious tissue removalComplete carious tissue removalLate pulpal failure
12–24 months · Bjørndal 2010; study-specific
RR 0.96 [0.45, 2.04]
Very low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
1 study
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsStepwise carious tissue removalComplete carious tissue removalLate pulpal failure
12–24 months · Consistency model; exploratory network
RR 1.73 [0.23, 13.24]
GRADE not reported
5 studies
Patients with vital permanent teeth and deep carious lesionsStepwise carious tissue removalComplete carious tissue removalLate pulpal failure
60 months · Bjørndal 2017
HR 0.667 [0.455, 1.053]
Low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
1 study

Included primary studies 11

Open in Studies
StudyYearAlso included byOutcomes it informs hereTrial data
Jardim 2020
Restorations after selective caries removal: 5-Year randomized trial.
PMID:32585263
20202 other reviewsnot statednot extracted yet
Khokhar 2018
Outcomes of Partial and Complete Caries Excavation in Permanent Teeth: A 18 Month Clinical Study.
PMID:30166846
20181 other reviewnot statednot extracted yet
Labib 2019
Selective versus stepwise removal of deep carious lesions in permanent teeth: a randomised controlled trial from Egypt-an interim analysis.
PMID:31530615
20191 other reviewnot statednot extracted yet
Maltz 2018
Partial caries removal in deep caries lesions: a 5-year multicenter randomized controlled trial.
PMID:28988345
20181 other reviewnot statednot extracted yet
Ahmed 2021
Comparison of Partial and Complete Caries Excavation in Permanent Teeth: An 18 Months Follow-up
DOI:10.53350/pjmhs211551214
2021this review onlynot statednot extracted yet
Bjorndal 2010
Treatment of deep caries lesions in adults: randomized clinical trials comparing stepwise vs. direct complete excavation, and direct pulp…
PMID:20572864
2010this review onlynot statednot extracted yet
Bjorndal 2017
Randomized Clinical Trials on Deep Carious Lesions: 5-Year Follow-up.
PMID:28410008
2017this review onlynot statednot extracted yet
Maltz 2012
Randomized trial of partial vs. stepwise caries removal: 3-year follow-up.
PMID:22983407
2012this review onlynot statednot extracted yet
Maltz 2013
Partial removal of carious dentine: a multicenter randomized controlled trial and 18-month follow-up results.
PMID:23207420
2013this review onlynot statednot extracted yet
Rando-Meirelles 2013
Twenty-Four Months Of Follow-Up After Partial Removal Of Carious Dentin: A Preliminary Study
DOI:10.4172/2161-1122.1000162
2013this review onlynot statednot extracted yet
Recchi 2024
Restorations performance after selective caries removal to soft dentine: 18-month follow-up of a controlled clinical trial.
PMID:38797489
2024this review onlynot statednot extracted yet

Overlap with other reviews

Reviews that include the same primary studies are not independent evidence. Shared counts match studies by PMID, DOI or NCT, and otherwise by author and year (a probable match). Only the non-Cochrane dental reviews have study lists, so overlap with Cochrane reviews is not counted yet.

Review question

ElementPlanned (methods)Found (results)
PopulationPatients of any age with vital permanent teeth with deep carious lesions (at least middle third of dentin), without irreversible pulpitis, necrosis or apical diseaseChildren, adolescents and adults with deep lesions (middle third to three quarters of dentin) mainly in permanent molars and premolars; Europe, Africa, South America and Asia (n=7 trial families)
InterventionComplete (CCR), selective (SCR) or stepwise (SWR) carious tissue removalSCR (n=6 families), SWR (n=4 families), CCR (n=4 families)
ComparisonAnother of CCR, SCR or SWR (direct comparison of at least two)SCR vs SWR (n=3 families), SCR vs CCR (n=3 families), SWR vs CCR (n=1 family)
OutcomesIntraoperative pulp exposure; late pulpal failure; restorative failure; composite clinical-radiographic outcomes (descriptive)Intraoperative pulp exposure and late pulpal failure at 12-24 months pooled for SCR vs SWR; other contrasts, restorative failure and adjusted 36-60-month HRs reported study by study; composite outcome descriptive
Study designsRandomized clinical trials11 reports from 7 randomized trial families
TimingPost-treatment outcomes with at least 12 months of follow-up; exposure intraoperativeIntraoperative; 12-24 months; adjusted time-to-event estimates at 18, 36 and 60 months

AMSTAR 2 items

Two independent extractors rated each item. Their ratings are shown side by side because they have not been reconciled yet. The overall rating follows Shea et al. 2017: one critical flaw gives Low, more than one gives Critically Low.

ItemExtractor AExtractor BAgree
1Research question includes PICO componentsYesYesyes
2Protocol established before the reviewcriticalPartial YesNono
3Choice of study designs explainedNoYesno
4Comprehensive literature searchcriticalNoPartial Yesno
5Study selection in duplicateYesYesyes
6Data extraction in duplicateYesYesyes
7List of excluded studies with reasonscriticalYesYesyes
8Included studies described in detailYesYesyes
9Risk of bias assessed satisfactorilycriticalRCT: Yes · NRSI: N/ANRSI: N/A · RCT: Yesno
10Funding of included studies reportedNoNoyes
11Appropriate meta-analysis methodscriticalRCT: Yes · NRSI: N/ANRSI: N/A · RCT: Yesno
12Impact of risk of bias on the pooled resultsNoYesno
13Risk of bias accounted for in interpretationcriticalYesYesyes
14Heterogeneity explainedYesYesyes
15Publication bias investigatedcriticalNoNoyes
16Conflicts of interest reportedYesYesyes
OverallCritically LowCritically Lowyes