Non-Cochrane · prognostic · PM42165879
Basal cell adenocarcinoma of the parotid gland: prognostic factors and survival outcomes: a systematic review and pooled patient-level analysis.
Chiari Francesco, Dalmazzini Cecilia, Fermi Matteo, et al. · European archives of oto-rhino-laryngology : official journal of the European Federation of Oto-Rhino-Laryngological Societies (EUFOS) : affiliated with the German Society for Oto-Rhino-Laryngology - Head and Neck Surgery · 2026 · PubMed · doi:10.1007/s00405-026-10313-w
Findings
Population Patients with parotid basal cell adenocarcinoma treated with surgery with or without adjuvant therapy
100 findings
| Surgery with or without adjuvant therapy | None (single cohort) | Overall survival (OS) 5 years · Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | 5-year Kaplan-Meier survival (%) 88.3 GRADE not reported 23 studies · 68 participants |
| Surgery with or without adjuvant therapy | None (single cohort) | Local recurrence Mean follow-up 46.4 months (range 1 to 201) · Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | Pooled proportion (%) 18 GRADE not reported 23 studies · 68 participants |
| Surgery with or without adjuvant therapy | None (single cohort) | Disease-specific survival (DSS) 5 years · Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | 5-year Kaplan-Meier survival (%) 92.7 GRADE not reported 23 studies · 68 participants |
| Surgery with or without adjuvant therapy | None (single cohort) | Regional recurrence Mean follow-up 46.4 months (range 1 to 201) · Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | Pooled proportion (%) 6 GRADE not reported 23 studies · 68 participants |
| Surgery with or without adjuvant therapy | None (single cohort) | Overall recurrence Mean follow-up 46.4 months (range 1 to 201) · Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | Pooled proportion (%) 31 GRADE not reported 23 studies · 68 participants |
| Surgery with or without adjuvant therapy | None (single cohort) | Distant recurrence Mean follow-up 46.4 months (range 1 to 201) · Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | Pooled proportion (%) 7 GRADE not reported 23 studies · 68 participants |
| Surgery with or without adjuvant therapy | None (single cohort) | Disease-free survival (DFS) 5 years · Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | 5-year Kaplan-Meier survival (%) 84.1 GRADE not reported 23 studies · 68 participants |
| Surgery with or without adjuvant therapy | None (single cohort) | Alive without disease at last follow-up Mean follow-up 46.4 months (range 1 to 201) · Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | Pooled proportion (%) 84 GRADE not reported 23 studies · 68 participants |
| Surgery with or without adjuvant therapy | None (single cohort) | Death from disease at last follow-up Mean follow-up 46.4 months (range 1 to 201) · Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | Pooled proportion (%) 7 GRADE not reported 23 studies · 68 participants |
| Female gender | Male gender | Disease-free survival (DFS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.08 [0.50, 6.43] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Female gender | Male gender | Local control of disease (LCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 3.48 [0.70, 17.41] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Female gender | Male gender | Distant control of disease (DCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 2.46 [0.26, 23.34] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Female gender | Male gender | Overall survival (OS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.86 [0.35, 10.03] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Female gender | Male gender | Regional control of disease (RCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.56 [0.07, 4.25] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Female gender | Male gender | Disease-specific survival (DSS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.10 [0.84, 1.82] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Age > 70 years | Age <= 70 years | Local control of disease (LCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.74 [0.39, 7.71] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Age > 70 years | Age <= 70 years | Regional control of disease (RCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 5.40 [0.68, 42.91] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Age > 70 years | Age <= 70 years | Disease-free survival (DFS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 3.29 [0.86, 12.49] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Age > 70 years | Age <= 70 years | Distant control of disease (DCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.18 [0.12, 11.62] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Age > 70 years | Age <= 70 years | Disease-specific survival (DSS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 2.03 [0.88, 2.81] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Age > 70 years | Age <= 70 years | Overall survival (OS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.66 [0.20, 9.48] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Smoking | Non-smokers | Disease-specific survival (DSS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.36 [0.12, 3.93] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Smoking | Non-smokers | Distant control of disease (DCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.87 [0.28, 9.80] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Smoking | Non-smokers | Local control of disease (LCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.44 [0.32, 1.71] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Smoking | Non-smokers | Overall survival (OS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.96 [0.52, 3.56] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Smoking | Non-smokers | Disease-free survival (DFS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.86 [0.48, 4.33] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Smoking | Non-smokers | Regional control of disease (RCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.73 [0.20, 3.40] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Alcohol | No alcohol | Overall survival (OS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.70 [0.31, 2.52] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Alcohol | No alcohol | Disease-specific survival (DSS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.40 [0.11, 4.55] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Alcohol | No alcohol | Disease-free survival (DFS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.80 [0.64, 3.22] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Alcohol | No alcohol | Local control of disease (LCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.74 [0.11, 3.45] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Alcohol | No alcohol | Regional control of disease (RCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.94 [0.31, 6.45] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Alcohol | No alcohol | Distant control of disease (DCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.31 [0.11, 3.44] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Diabetes mellitus | No diabetes mellitus | Distant control of disease (DCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.91 [0.75, 1.10] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Diabetes mellitus | No diabetes mellitus | Disease-free survival (DFS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.75 [0.08, 36.29] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Diabetes mellitus | No diabetes mellitus | Local control of disease (LCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.63 [0.40, 2.99] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Diabetes mellitus | No diabetes mellitus | Overall survival (OS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.81 [0.62, 1.08] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Diabetes mellitus | No diabetes mellitus | Regional control of disease (RCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 10.00 [0.31, 315.27] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Diabetes mellitus | No diabetes mellitus | Disease-specific survival (DSS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 4.30 [0.31, 13.72] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Immunodeficiency | No immunodeficiency | Distant control of disease (DCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.92 [0.77, 1.09] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Immunodeficiency | No immunodeficiency | Disease-specific survival (DSS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.97 [0.64, 3.07] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Immunodeficiency | No immunodeficiency | Disease-free survival (DFS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.58 [0.36, 2.94] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Immunodeficiency | No immunodeficiency | Local control of disease (LCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.60 [0.44, 2.79] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Immunodeficiency | No immunodeficiency | Overall survival (OS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.83 [0.64, 1.07] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Immunodeficiency | No immunodeficiency | Regional control of disease (RCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.83 [0.64, 1.07] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Facial nerve palsy at presentation | No facial nerve palsy | Disease-specific survival (DSS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.59 [0.11, 1.29] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Facial nerve palsy at presentation | No facial nerve palsy | Regional control of disease (RCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.93 [0.87, 2.43] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Facial nerve palsy at presentation | No facial nerve palsy | Overall survival (OS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 7.46 [1.01, 55.70] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Facial nerve palsy at presentation | No facial nerve palsy | Distant control of disease (DCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 4.83 [0.40, 57.70] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Facial nerve palsy at presentation | No facial nerve palsy | Local control of disease (LCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.27 [0.13, 12.63] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Facial nerve palsy at presentation | No facial nerve palsy | Disease-free survival (DFS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.92 [0.09, 8.91] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Tumor diameter > 25 mm | Tumor diameter <= 25 mm | Regional control of disease (RCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.07 [0.94, 1.23] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Tumor diameter > 25 mm | Tumor diameter <= 25 mm | Distant control of disease (DCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.78 [0.44, 14.03] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Tumor diameter > 25 mm | Tumor diameter <= 25 mm | Disease-free survival (DFS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.81 [0.27, 12.17] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Tumor diameter > 25 mm | Tumor diameter <= 25 mm | Overall survival (OS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.69 [0.13, 21.27] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Tumor diameter > 25 mm | Tumor diameter <= 25 mm | Local control of disease (LCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.25 [0.17, 9.02] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Tumor diameter > 25 mm | Tumor diameter <= 25 mm | Disease-specific survival (DSS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.27 [0.64, 2.23] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Advanced clinical T stage | Early clinical T stage | Overall survival (OS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.97 [0.08, 11.48] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Advanced clinical T stage | Early clinical T stage | Regional control of disease (RCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.97 [0.08, 11.48] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Advanced clinical T stage | Early clinical T stage | Disease-specific survival (DSS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.92 [0.28, 7.37] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Advanced clinical T stage | Early clinical T stage | Local control of disease (LCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 2.22 [0.48, 10.15] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Advanced clinical T stage | Early clinical T stage | Distant control of disease (DCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.97 [0.80, 11.48] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Advanced clinical T stage | Early clinical T stage | Disease-free survival (DFS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.86 [0.48, 7.21] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Clinical nodal metastasis | No clinical nodal metastasis | Regional control of disease (RCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 12.00 [7.40, 194.63] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Clinical nodal metastasis | No clinical nodal metastasis | Distant control of disease (DCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.94 [0.87, 1.01] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Clinical nodal metastasis | No clinical nodal metastasis | Disease-free survival (DFS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 2.00 [0.64, 24.32] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Clinical nodal metastasis | No clinical nodal metastasis | Overall survival (OS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.94 [0.87, 1.01] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Clinical nodal metastasis | No clinical nodal metastasis | Disease-specific survival (DSS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 2.60 [0.40, 6.68] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Clinical nodal metastasis | No clinical nodal metastasis | Local control of disease (LCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.84 [0.07, 1.94] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Absence of adjuvant therapy | Adjuvant therapy given | Local control of disease (LCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.44 [1.14, 2.93] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Absence of adjuvant therapy | Adjuvant therapy given | Disease-specific survival (DSS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.30 [1.06, 2.71] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Absence of adjuvant therapy | Adjuvant therapy given | Overall survival (OS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.44 [1.02, 2.07] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Absence of adjuvant therapy | Adjuvant therapy given | Disease-free survival (DFS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 14.37 [1.42, 142.35] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Absence of adjuvant therapy | Adjuvant therapy given | Distant control of disease (DCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 4.81 [0.34, 51.23] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Perineural invasion (PNI) | No PNI | Disease-specific survival (DSS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.21 [0.84, 1.98] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Perineural invasion (PNI) | No PNI | Distant control of disease (DCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.11 [0.90, 1.36] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Perineural invasion (PNI) | No PNI | Regional control of disease (RCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.11 [0.94, 1.36] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Perineural invasion (PNI) | No PNI | Disease-free survival (DFS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.66 [1.05, 2.76] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Perineural invasion (PNI) | No PNI | Local control of disease (LCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.42 [1.15, 1.89] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Perineural invasion (PNI) | No PNI | Overall survival (OS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.25 [0.92, 1.70] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Lymphovascular invasion (LVI) | No LVI | Distant control of disease (DCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 6.00 [0.31, 116.60] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Lymphovascular invasion (LVI) | No LVI | Regional control of disease (RCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.96 [0.88, 1.04] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Lymphovascular invasion (LVI) | No LVI | Disease-specific survival (DSS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.75 [0.38, 1.67] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Lymphovascular invasion (LVI) | No LVI | Local control of disease (LCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 4.89 [0.56, 42.30] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Lymphovascular invasion (LVI) | No LVI | Disease-free survival (DFS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 3.50 [0.43, 28.13] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Lymphovascular invasion (LVI) | No LVI | Overall survival (OS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 6.00 [0.31, 116.60] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Positive surgical margins (R+) | Negative surgical margins | Local control of disease (LCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.50 [0.67, 3.33] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Positive surgical margins (R+) | Negative surgical margins | Overall survival (OS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.50 [0.67, 3.34] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Positive surgical margins (R+) | Negative surgical margins | Disease-specific survival (DSS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.52 [1.29, 1.85] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Positive surgical margins (R+) | Negative surgical margins | Disease-free survival (DFS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.50 [0.67, 3.34] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Advanced pathological T stage | Early pathological T stage | Overall survival (OS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.10 [0.96, 1.27] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Advanced pathological T stage | Early pathological T stage | Local control of disease (LCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 3.33 [0.33, 32.94] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Advanced pathological T stage | Early pathological T stage | Disease-specific survival (DSS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.95 [0.35, 2.66] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Advanced pathological T stage | Early pathological T stage | Regional control of disease (RCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 1.05 [0.95, 1.56] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Advanced pathological T stage | Early pathological T stage | Distant control of disease (DCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.70 [0.04, 12.16] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Advanced pathological T stage | Early pathological T stage | Disease-free survival (DFS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 4.37 [0.46, 42.08] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Pathological nodal metastasis | No pathological nodal metastasis | Overall survival (OS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.69 [0.30, 1.53] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Pathological nodal metastasis | No pathological nodal metastasis | Disease-free survival (DFS) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.93 [0.84, 1.02] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Pathological nodal metastasis | No pathological nodal metastasis | Distant control of disease (DCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.97 [0.90, 1.03] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Pathological nodal metastasis | No pathological nodal metastasis | Local control of disease (LCD) Published case reports and case series, 1990 to 2025 | OR 0.93 [0.84, 1.07] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
Included primary studies 26
Open in Studies| Study | Year | Also included by | Outcomes it informs here | Trial data |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chung 2007 Synchronous double primary cancers of the unilateral parotid gland DOI:10.1080/00016480500415597 | 2007 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ellis 1990 Basal cell adenocarcinomas of the major salivary glands DOI:10.1016/0030-4220(90)90380-b | 1990 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Eroglu 2015 Basal cell adenocarcinoma of the parotid gland rare scalp metastasis: a case report DOI:10.5137/1019-5149.jtn.9956-13.1 | 2014 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Eroglu 2015 Basal cell adenocarcinoma of the parotid gland with rare scalp metastasis: a case report. PMID:25640567 | 2015 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ikeda 1998 A Case of Basal Cell Adenocarcinoma of the Parotid Gland. DOI:10.1620/tjem.186.51 | 1998 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Kim 1997 Basal cell adenocarcinoma of the salivary gland--a case report DOI:10.3346/jkms.1997.12.5.461 | 1997 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Kusafuka 2017 Carcinoma ex basal cell adenoma of the parotid gland: A report of an extremely rare case DOI:10.1111/pin.12538 | 2017 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Lin 2004 Tumors of the Accessory Lobe of the Parotid Gland: A 10‐Year Experience DOI:10.1097/00005537-200409000-00028 | 2004 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Manor 2006 Cytogenetic and fluorescence in situ hybridization analysis of a basal cell adenocarcinoma of the mandible DOI:10.1016/j.cancergencyto.2005.10.012 | 2006 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Mantsopoulos 2023 Limited parotid surgery as sole form of treatment for carefully selected malignant tumours of the parotid gland: Still sufficient on the… DOI:10.1016/j.amjoto.2022.103735 | 2023 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Markkanen-Leppanen 2010 Bilateral Basal cell adenocarcinoma of the parotid gland: in a recipient of kidney transplant. PMID:21151548 | 2010 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Muller 1996 Basal cell adenocarcinoma of the salivary glands. Report of seven cases and review of the literature. PMID:8952553 | 1996 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Nagao 1997 Carcinoma in Basal Cell Adenoma of the Parotid Gland DOI:10.1016/s0344-0338(97)80074-x | 1997 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ozgun 2014 Basal cell adenocarcinoma of the parotid gland detected in a patient with breast cancer DOI:10.1136/bcr-2014-203791 | 2014 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ozgun 2014 Basal cell adenocarcinoma of the parotid gland detected in a patient with breast cancer. PMID:24925533 | 2014 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Park 2024 Basal cell adenoma and basal cell adenocarcinoma of the parotid gland: clinical findings and surgical outcomes in a single-institution study DOI:10.1186/s12957-024-03378-6 | 2024 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Pisharodi 1995 Basal Cell Adenocarcinoma of the Salivary Gland:<i>Diagnosis by Fine-needle Aspiration Cytology</i> DOI:10.1093/ajcp/103.5.603 | 1995 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Pisharodi 1995 Basal cell adenocarcinoma of the salivary gland. Diagnosis by fine-needle aspiration cytology. PMID:7741107 | 1995 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Razali 2019 A Rare Case of Basal Cell Adenocarcinoma of Parotid Gland with Intracranial Extension DOI:10.1007/s12070-017-1116-3 | 2017 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Saharan 2024 Painless Nodular Cheek Skin Swelling: A Clinical Challenge. PMID:39221392 | 2024 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Saluja 2016 Novel t(1;3)(q21,p21) translocation in a basal cell adenocarcinoma of the parotid gland: potential association with tumorigenesis DOI:10.1016/j.humpath.2016.03.019 | 2016 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Takeuchi 2001 Basal cell adenocarcinomas of the submandibular and parotid glands recognized simultaneously report of a case DOI:10.1016/s0385-8146(00)00107-3 | 2001 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Terada 2021 Basal cell adenocarcinoma of the parotid gland: Comparison with basal cell adenoma for preoperative diagnosis DOI:10.1016/j.anl.2020.08.024 | 2021 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Tse 2001 Basal Cell Adenocarcinoma of the Salivary Gland DOI:10.1159/000328304 | 2001 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ulku 2017 High-Grade Basal Cell Adenocarcinoma Arising from the Parotid Gland: A Case Report and Review of the Literature. PMID:29515934 | 2017 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Vitorino 2022 Basal Cell Adenocarcinoma Arising from the Parotid Gland DOI:10.1159/000528090 | 2022 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
Review question
| Element | Planned (methods) | Found (results) |
|---|---|---|
| Population | Patients affected by parotid basal cell adenocarcinoma | 68 patients (25 male, 43 female; mean age 58.6 years) from 23 studies |
| Intervention | Surgery with or without adjuvant medical treatments | Surgery (total, subtotal, superficial parotidectomy, parotid node resection) with adjuvant therapy in 35% (RT 84%, chemotherapy 16%) |
| Comparison | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Outcomes | LCD, RCD, DCD, DFS, DSS, OS and prognostic factors | 5-year DFS 84.1%, DSS 92.7%, OS 88.3%; recurrence 31%; univariate ORs for prognostic factors on LCD, RCD, DCD, DFS, DSS, OS |
| Study designs | Case series and case reports | 6 case series and 17 case reports (n=23) |
| Timing | Articles published 1990 to 31 December 2025 | Mean follow-up 46.4 months (range 1 to 201) |