Non-Cochrane · prognostic · PM41467646
Clinicopathological Analysis and Survival Outcomes of Radiation-Induced Oral Squamous Cell Carcinoma: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis.
Moura Anne Evelyn Oliveira, Rodrigues-Fernandes Carla Isabelly, Normando Ana Gabriela Costa, et al. · Journal of oral pathology & medicine : official publication of the International Association of Oral Pathologists and the American Academy of Oral Pathology · 2026 · PubMed · doi:10.1111/jop.70106
Findings
37 findings
| Population | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma | Radiation-induced OSCC (R-OSCC) | Sporadic OSCC (S-OSCC) | Tumor stage T1+T2 vs T3+T4 Hospital-based cohorts (China) · R-OSCC group | OR 7.05 [3.63, 13.69] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 518 participants |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma | Radiation-induced OSCC (R-OSCC) | Sporadic OSCC (S-OSCC) | Tumor stage T1+T2 vs T3+T4 Hospital-based cohorts (China) · S-OSCC group | OR 5.04 [2.61, 9.73] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 2774 participants |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma | Radiation-induced OSCC (R-OSCC) | Sporadic OSCC (S-OSCC) | Lymphovascular invasion present vs absent Hospital-based cohorts (China) · S-OSCC group | OR 0.03 [0.03, 0.04] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 2542 participants |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma | Radiation-induced OSCC (R-OSCC) | Sporadic OSCC (S-OSCC) | Tongue vs other anatomic sites Hospital-based cohorts (China) · S-OSCC group | OR 4.22 [0.39, 45.89] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 2774 participants |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma | Radiation-induced OSCC (R-OSCC) | Sporadic OSCC (S-OSCC) | Male vs female sex Hospital-based cohorts (China) · Overall (R-OSCC and S-OSCC pooled) | OR 10.92 [9.0, 13.24] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 3292 participants |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma | Radiation-induced OSCC (R-OSCC) | Sporadic OSCC (S-OSCC) | Tongue vs other anatomic sites Hospital-based cohorts (China) · R-OSCC group | OR 5.94 [1.62, 21.69] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 518 participants |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma | Radiation-induced OSCC (R-OSCC) | Sporadic OSCC (S-OSCC) | Clinical stage I+II vs III+IV Hospital-based cohorts (China) · R-OSCC group | OR 2.91 [1.75, 4.82] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 518 participants |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma | Radiation-induced OSCC (R-OSCC) | Sporadic OSCC (S-OSCC) | Lymph node status N0 vs N+ Hospital-based cohorts (China) · Overall (R-OSCC and S-OSCC pooled) | OR 7.98 [3.13, 20.33] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 3292 participants |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma | Radiation-induced OSCC (R-OSCC) | Sporadic OSCC (S-OSCC) | Well vs moderate plus poor tumor differentiation Hospital-based cohorts (China) · Overall (R-OSCC and S-OSCC pooled) | OR 0.6 [0.27, 1.34] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 3292 participants |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma | Radiation-induced OSCC (R-OSCC) | Sporadic OSCC (S-OSCC) | Tobacco smoker vs non-smoker Hospital-based cohorts (China) · Overall (R-OSCC and S-OSCC pooled) | OR 0.21 [0.11, 0.42] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 3292 participants |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma | Radiation-induced OSCC (R-OSCC) | Sporadic OSCC (S-OSCC) | Lymph node status N0 vs N+ Hospital-based cohorts (China) · S-OSCC group | OR 4.76 [1.19, 19.0] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 2774 participants |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma | Radiation-induced OSCC (R-OSCC) | Sporadic OSCC (S-OSCC) | Male vs female sex Hospital-based cohorts (China) · R-OSCC group | OR 12.07 [6.79, 21.44] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 518 participants |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma | Radiation-induced OSCC (R-OSCC) | Sporadic OSCC (S-OSCC) | Clinical stage I+II vs III+IV Hospital-based cohorts (China) · S-OSCC group | OR 1.48 [0.79, 2.77] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 2774 participants |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma | Radiation-induced OSCC (R-OSCC) | Sporadic OSCC (S-OSCC) | Well vs moderate plus poor tumor differentiation Hospital-based cohorts (China) · R-OSCC group | OR 0.76 [0.2, 2.87] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 518 participants |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma | Radiation-induced OSCC (R-OSCC) | Sporadic OSCC (S-OSCC) | Tumor stage T1+T2 vs T3+T4 Hospital-based cohorts (China) · Overall (R-OSCC and S-OSCC pooled) | OR 5.88 [3.64, 9.51] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 3292 participants |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma | Radiation-induced OSCC (R-OSCC) | Sporadic OSCC (S-OSCC) | Well vs moderate plus poor tumor differentiation Hospital-based cohorts (China) · S-OSCC group | OR 0.47 [0.12, 1.86] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 2774 participants |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma | Radiation-induced OSCC (R-OSCC) | Sporadic OSCC (S-OSCC) | Lymphovascular invasion present vs absent Hospital-based cohorts (China) · Overall (R-OSCC and S-OSCC pooled) | OR 0.05 [0.03, 0.08] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 2828 participants |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma | Radiation-induced OSCC (R-OSCC) | Sporadic OSCC (S-OSCC) | Alcohol drinker vs non-drinker Hospital-based cohorts (China) · S-OSCC group | OR 0.02 [0.0, 0.11] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 2548 participants |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma | Radiation-induced OSCC (R-OSCC) | Sporadic OSCC (S-OSCC) | Tobacco smoker vs non-smoker Hospital-based cohorts (China) · S-OSCC group | OR 0.3 [0.12, 0.78] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 2774 participants |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma | Radiation-induced OSCC (R-OSCC) | Sporadic OSCC (S-OSCC) | Tongue vs other anatomic sites Hospital-based cohorts (China) · Overall (R-OSCC and S-OSCC pooled) | OR 5.06 [1.23, 20.81] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 3292 participants |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma | Radiation-induced OSCC (R-OSCC) | Sporadic OSCC (S-OSCC) | Perineural invasion present vs absent Hospital-based cohorts (China) · S-OSCC group | OR 0.06 [0.01, 0.31] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 2542 participants |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma | Radiation-induced OSCC (R-OSCC) | Sporadic OSCC (S-OSCC) | Male vs female sex Hospital-based cohorts (China) · S-OSCC group | OR 10.75 [9.02, 12.82] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 2774 participants |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma | Radiation-induced OSCC (R-OSCC) | Sporadic OSCC (S-OSCC) | Alcohol drinker vs non-drinker Hospital-based cohorts (China) · R-OSCC group | OR 0.01 [0.0, 0.02] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 398 participants |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma | Radiation-induced OSCC (R-OSCC) | Sporadic OSCC (S-OSCC) | Tobacco smoker vs non-smoker Hospital-based cohorts (China) · R-OSCC group | OR 0.14 [0.03, 0.63] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 518 participants |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma | Radiation-induced OSCC (R-OSCC) | Sporadic OSCC (S-OSCC) | Perineural invasion present vs absent Hospital-based cohorts (China) · R-OSCC group | OR 0.41 [0.05, 3.06] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 286 participants |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma | Radiation-induced OSCC (R-OSCC) | Sporadic OSCC (S-OSCC) | Clinical stage I+II vs III+IV Hospital-based cohorts (China) · Overall (R-OSCC and S-OSCC pooled) | OR 2.04 [1.29, 3.21] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 3292 participants |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma | Radiation-induced OSCC (R-OSCC) | Sporadic OSCC (S-OSCC) | Lymph node status N0 vs N+ Hospital-based cohorts (China) · R-OSCC group | OR 13.91 [3.43, 56.44] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 518 participants |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma | Radiation-induced OSCC (R-OSCC) | Sporadic OSCC (S-OSCC) | Lymphovascular invasion present vs absent Hospital-based cohorts (China) · R-OSCC group | OR 0.08 [0.04, 0.17] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 286 participants |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma | Radiation-induced OSCC (R-OSCC) | Sporadic OSCC (S-OSCC) | Perineural invasion present vs absent Hospital-based cohorts (China) · Overall (R-OSCC and S-OSCC pooled) | OR 0.16 [0.03, 0.8] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 2828 participants |
| Patients with radiation-induced OSCC | Sex: Male | Female | Disease-specific survival Hospital-based cohorts (China) | HR 1.12 [0.19, 6.44] GRADE not reported 2 studies |
| Patients with radiation-induced OSCC | Sex: Male | Female | Overall survival Hospital-based cohorts (China) | HR 0.99 [0.34, 2.9] GRADE not reported 3 studies |
| Patients with radiation-induced OSCC | Tobacco status: Smoker | Non-smoker | Overall survival Hospital-based cohorts (China) | HR 1.99 [1.33, 2.96] GRADE not reported 2 studies |
| Patients with radiation-induced OSCC | Clinical stage: Stage I+II (axis label as printed in figure) | Stage III+IV | Overall survival Hospital-based cohorts (China) | HR 2.27 [0.9, 5.73] GRADE not reported 2 studies |
| Patients with radiation-induced OSCC | Lymph node status: N+ (axis label as printed in figure) | N0 | Overall survival Hospital-based cohorts (China) | HR 1.59 [0.59, 4.25] GRADE not reported 2 studies |
| Patients with radiation-induced OSCC | Radiotherapy history: Prior radiotherapy (RT) | No prior radiotherapy | Overall survival Hospital-based cohorts (China) | HR 2.49 [1.8, 3.44] GRADE not reported 2 studies |
| Patients with radiation-induced OSCC | Radiotherapy history: Prior radiotherapy (RT) | No prior radiotherapy | Disease-specific survival Hospital-based cohorts (China) | HR 1.94 [1.21, 3.14] GRADE not reported 2 studies |
| Patients with R-OSCC and S-OSCC combined | Drinker | Non-drinker | Alcohol use Overall (all subgroups pooled) | OR 0.01 [0.00, 0.04] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 2946 participants |
Included primary studies 5
Open in Studies| Study | Year | Also included by | Outcomes it informs here | Trial data |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chow 2023 Comparison of Clinical Outcomes, Pathologic Characteristics, and Immune-Related Features of Postradiation vs Sporadic Oral Cavity Squamous… PMID:37459093 | 2023 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Dai 2020 Secondary Squamous Cell Carcinoma of the Oral Cavity after Nasopharyngeal Carcinoma. PMID:31163959 | 2020 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Hu 2018 The poor outcome of second primary oral squamous cell carcinoma is attributed to Bmi1 upregulation. PMID:29479858 | 2018 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Song 2021 Second primary oral squamous cell carcinoma after radiotherapy: a retrospective cohort study. PMID:35116585 | 2021 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Toda 2009 Radiation-induced cancer after radiotherapy for non-Hodgkin's lymphoma of the head and neck: a retrospective study. PMID:19591686 | 2009 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
Review question
| Element | Planned (methods) | Found (results) |
|---|---|---|
| Population | Patients diagnosed with oral squamous cell carcinoma (OSCC) | Patients with R-OSCC (n=310) and S-OSCC (n=1387) from 5 retrospective cohort studies (4 pooled) |
| Intervention | Exposure: previous radiotherapy for head and neck cancer (radiation-induced OSCC, R-OSCC) | R-OSCC after radiotherapy, mainly for nasopharyngeal carcinoma (n=310) |
| Comparison | No history of prior radiotherapy for head and neck cancer (sporadic OSCC, S-OSCC) | S-OSCC (n=1387) |
| Outcomes | Clinicopathological features, treatment modalities, and outcomes (overall survival, disease-specific survival) of R-OSCC | Anatomic site, clinical and tumor stage, perineural and lymphovascular invasion, sex, tobacco, alcohol, differentiation, lymph node status (OR); sex, smoking, clinical stage, lymph node status, radiotherapy history for overall survival and disease-specific survival (HR) |
| Study designs | Observational studies (cross-sectional and cohort designs) | Retrospective cohort studies (n=5; China n=4, Japan n=1) |
| Timing | Not specified | Mean follow-up 62.3 months in R-OSCC |