Non-Cochrane · intervention · PM41458471
Which is the best adhesive system for primary tooth enamel? A systematic review and network meta-analysis of bond strength data.
Oliveira Francisca Jennifer Duarte de, Silva Flor Maria Larissa da, de Bessa Mariana Silva, et al. · The Japanese dental science review · 2026 · PubMed · doi:10.1016/j.jdsr.2025.11.005
Findings
52 findings
| Population | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (1_Step_SE_noPAE) | three-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (3_Step_ER) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Network estimate (all evidence) | MD -20.28 [-29.04, -10.98] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-bottle universal adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (1b_Univ_noPAE) | three-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (3_Step_ER) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Node-splitting: network estimate | MD -19.3 [-30.5, -7.7] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-bottle universal adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (1b_Univ_noPAE) | three-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (3_Step_ER) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Node-splitting: indirect evidence | MD -25.6 [-40.5, -11.4] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-bottle universal adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (1b_Univ_noPAE) | three-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (3_Step_ER) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Node-splitting: direct evidence | MD -9.31 [-27.5, 8.32] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-bottle universal adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (1b_Univ_noPAE) | three-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (3_Step_ER) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Network estimate (all evidence) | MD -19.36 [-30.41, -7.65] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-bottle universal adhesive with phosphoric acid etching (1b_Univ_PAE) | three-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (3_Step_ER) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Network estimate (all evidence) | MD -13.53 [-25.5, -0.86] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | two-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (2_Step_ER) | three-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (3_Step_ER) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Node-splitting: direct evidence | MD -20.7 [-33, -8.52] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | two-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (2_Step_ER) | three-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (3_Step_ER) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Node-splitting: network estimate | MD -15.3 [-24.2, -5.83] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | two-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (2_Step_ER) | three-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (3_Step_ER) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Node-splitting: indirect evidence | MD -3.02 [-18.7, 12.7] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | two-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (2_Step_ER) | three-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (3_Step_ER) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Network estimate (all evidence) | MD -15.25 [-24.12, -5.79] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | two-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (2_Step_SE_noPAE) | three-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (3_Step_ER) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Node-splitting: direct evidence | MD -6.07 [-21.7, 10] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | two-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (2_Step_SE_noPAE) | three-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (3_Step_ER) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Node-splitting: network estimate | MD -17.7 [-26.9, -8.31] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | two-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (2_Step_SE_noPAE) | three-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (3_Step_ER) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Network estimate (all evidence) | MD -17.73 [-26.96, -8.25] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | two-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (2_Step_SE_noPAE) | three-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (3_Step_ER) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Node-splitting: indirect evidence | MD -23.9 [-35.5, -12.7] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | two-bottle universal adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (2b_Univ_noPAE) | three-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (3_Step_ER) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Network estimate (all evidence) | MD -16.77 [-30.56, -2.44] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | two-bottle universal adhesive with phosphoric acid etching (2b_Univ_PAE) | three-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (3_Step_ER) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Network estimate (all evidence) | MD -6.37 [-20.83, 8.65] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (1_Step_SE_noPAE) | one-bottle universal adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (1b_Univ_noPAE) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Node-splitting: network estimate | MD -0.98 [-9.69, 7.76] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (1_Step_SE_noPAE) | one-bottle universal adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (1b_Univ_noPAE) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Network estimate (all evidence) | MD -0.95 [-9.62, 7.75] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (1_Step_SE_noPAE) | one-bottle universal adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (1b_Univ_noPAE) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Node-splitting: indirect evidence | MD -1.01 [-12.5, 10.4] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (1_Step_SE_noPAE) | one-bottle universal adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (1b_Univ_noPAE) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Node-splitting: direct evidence | MD 2.33 [-17.3, 21.8] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (1_Step_SE_noPAE) | one-bottle universal adhesive with phosphoric acid etching (1b_Univ_PAE) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Network estimate (all evidence) | MD -6.78 [-16.61, 3.1] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-bottle universal adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (1b_Univ_noPAE) | one-bottle universal adhesive with phosphoric acid etching (1b_Univ_PAE) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Network estimate (all evidence) | MD -5.83 [-12.61, 0.98] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (1_Step_SE_noPAE) | two-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (2_Step_ER) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Node-splitting: network estimate | MD -4.99 [-9.28, -0.958] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (1_Step_SE_noPAE) | two-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (2_Step_ER) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Node-splitting: indirect evidence | MD -0.136 [-20.9, 20] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (1_Step_SE_noPAE) | two-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (2_Step_ER) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Node-splitting: direct evidence | MD -5.54 [-10.5, -0.99] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (1_Step_SE_noPAE) | two-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (2_Step_ER) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Network estimate (all evidence) | MD -5.01 [-9.3, -0.97] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-bottle universal adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (1b_Univ_noPAE) | two-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (2_Step_ER) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Network estimate (all evidence) | MD -4.05 [-12.89, 4.53] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-bottle universal adhesive with phosphoric acid etching (1b_Univ_PAE) | two-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (2_Step_ER) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Network estimate (all evidence) | MD 1.75 [-8.19, 11.6] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (1_Step_SE_noPAE) | two-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (2_Step_SE_noPAE) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Node-splitting: network estimate | MD -2.54 [-7.57, 2.54] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (1_Step_SE_noPAE) | two-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (2_Step_SE_noPAE) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Node-splitting: direct evidence | MD -1.29 [-8.02, 5.72] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (1_Step_SE_noPAE) | two-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (2_Step_SE_noPAE) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Node-splitting: indirect evidence | MD -7.14 [-19.8, 4.13] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (1_Step_SE_noPAE) | two-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (2_Step_SE_noPAE) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Network estimate (all evidence) | MD -2.55 [-7.51, 2.59] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-bottle universal adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (1b_Univ_noPAE) | two-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (2_Step_SE_noPAE) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Network estimate (all evidence) | MD -1.58 [-8.97, 5.87] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-bottle universal adhesive with phosphoric acid etching (1b_Univ_PAE) | two-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (2_Step_SE_noPAE) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Network estimate (all evidence) | MD 4.24 [-4.44, 13.02] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | two-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (2_Step_ER) | two-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (2_Step_SE_noPAE) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Node-splitting: direct evidence | MD 3.81 [-2.38, 10.7] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | two-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (2_Step_ER) | two-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (2_Step_SE_noPAE) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Node-splitting: network estimate | MD 2.45 [-2.32, 7.54] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | two-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (2_Step_ER) | two-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (2_Step_SE_noPAE) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Network estimate (all evidence) | MD 2.49 [-2.3, 7.61] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | two-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (2_Step_ER) | two-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (2_Step_SE_noPAE) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Node-splitting: indirect evidence | MD -4.53 [-19.7, 11.4] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (1_Step_SE_noPAE) | two-bottle universal adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (2b_Univ_noPAE) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Network estimate (all evidence) | MD -3.51 [-16.12, 8.93] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-bottle universal adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (1b_Univ_noPAE) | two-bottle universal adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (2b_Univ_noPAE) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Network estimate (all evidence) | MD -2.59 [-15.7, 10.59] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-bottle universal adhesive with phosphoric acid etching (1b_Univ_PAE) | two-bottle universal adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (2b_Univ_noPAE) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Network estimate (all evidence) | MD 3.24 [-10.84, 17.32] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | two-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (2_Step_ER) | two-bottle universal adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (2b_Univ_noPAE) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Network estimate (all evidence) | MD 1.53 [-10.99, 14.12] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | two-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (2_Step_SE_noPAE) | two-bottle universal adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (2b_Univ_noPAE) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Network estimate (all evidence) | MD -0.98 [-13.03, 11.05] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (1_Step_SE_noPAE) | two-bottle universal adhesive with phosphoric acid etching (2b_Univ_PAE) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Network estimate (all evidence) | MD -13.94 [-27.27, -0.7] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-bottle universal adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (1b_Univ_noPAE) | two-bottle universal adhesive with phosphoric acid etching (2b_Univ_PAE) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Network estimate (all evidence) | MD -12.97 [-26.97, 0.85] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | one-bottle universal adhesive with phosphoric acid etching (1b_Univ_PAE) | two-bottle universal adhesive with phosphoric acid etching (2b_Univ_PAE) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Network estimate (all evidence) | MD -7.15 [-22.11, 7.54] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | two-step etch-and-rinse adhesive (2_Step_ER) | two-bottle universal adhesive with phosphoric acid etching (2b_Univ_PAE) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Network estimate (all evidence) | MD -8.91 [-22.34, 4.52] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | two-step self-etch adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (2_Step_SE_noPAE) | two-bottle universal adhesive with phosphoric acid etching (2b_Univ_PAE) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Network estimate (all evidence) | MD -11.4 [-24.37, 1.49] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary (deciduous) tooth enamel | two-bottle universal adhesive without phosphoric acid etching (2b_Univ_noPAE) | two-bottle universal adhesive with phosphoric acid etching (2b_Univ_PAE) | Bond strength to primary tooth enamel (shear, microshear or microtensile; MPa) 24 h · In vitro (laboratory) · Network estimate (all evidence) | MD -10.4 [-25.77, 4.78] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary tooth enamel (extracted human deciduous teeth) | 2_Step_SE_noPAE | 1b_Univ_PAE | Bond strength (MPa), shear, microshear or microtensile 24 h · In vitro laboratory · Node-split indirect estimate | MD -4.53 [-22.0, 12.9] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary tooth enamel (extracted human deciduous teeth) | 2_Step_SE_noPAE | 1b_Univ_PAE | Bond strength (MPa), shear, microshear or microtensile 24 h · In vitro laboratory · Node-split direct estimate | MD -4.42 [-16.7, 7.79] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary tooth enamel (extracted human deciduous teeth) | 2_Step_SE_noPAE | 1b_Univ_PAE | Bond strength (MPa), shear, microshear or microtensile 24 h · In vitro laboratory · Node-split network estimate | MD -4.17 [-13.0, 4.41] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
Included primary studies 15
Open in Studies| Study | Year | Also included by | Outcomes it informs here | Trial data |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agostini 2001 Bond strength of self-etching primers to enamel and dentin of primary teeth. PMID:11800447 | 2001 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Antoniazzi 2016 Selective Acid Etching Improves the Bond Strength of Universal Adhesive to Sound and Demineralized Enamel of Primary Teeth. PMID:27419240 | 2016 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Firoozmand 2015 Effect of Fluoride and Simplified Adhesive Systems on the Bond Strength of Primary Molars and Incisors. PMID:26312974 | 2015 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Kensche 2015 Shear bond strength of different types of adhesive systems to dentin and enamel of deciduous teeth in vitro. PMID:26280753 | 2016 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Kim 2021 Shear Bond Strength of Different MDP-Containing Adhesive Systems on Enamel and Dentin from Primary Teeth. PMID:34192754 | 2021 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Knirsch 2009 Bonding effectiveness of different adhesion approaches to unground versus ground primary tooth enamel. PMID:19566374 | 2009 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Luo 2020 [Effects of three self-etch adhesives and mild salivary contamination on the bonding durability of deciduous teeth]. PMID:33550335 | 2020 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Marquezan 2007 Microtensile bond strength of contemporary adhesives to primary enamel and dentin. PMID:18389678 | 2008 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Nozari 2014 Comparison of Shear Bond Strength of Composite Restorations to Intact Enamel of Primary Incisors When Using Different Conditioners and… DOI:10.18869/acadpub.3dj.3.2.23 | 2014 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Nozari 2024 Influence of Different Application Modes of a Universal Adhesive System on the Bond Strength of Bulk‐Fill Composite Resin to Enamel and… DOI:10.1002/cre2.947 | 2024 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Nozari 2024 Influence of Different Application Modes of a Universal Adhesive System on the Bond Strength of Bulk-Fill Composite Resin to Enamel and… PMID:39205379 | 2024 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ramires-Romito 2007 Microtensile bond strength of sealant and adhesive systems applied to occlusal primary enamel. PMID:17542206 | 2007 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Soares 2020 Microtensile Bond Strength of Three Different Adhesive Systems to Primary Enamel: An In Vitro Study. PMID:33369560 | 2020 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Tichy 2023 The Effect of Bonding Strategy and Aging on Adhesion to Primary Enamel: An In-Vitro Study. PMID:37843501 | 2023 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Xu 2023 Exploration and preliminary clinical investigation of an adhesive approach for primary tooth restoration. PMID:36894170 | 2022 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
Review question
| Element | Planned (methods) | Found (results) |
|---|---|---|
| Population | Primary tooth enamel | Human deciduous (primary) tooth enamel, prismatic (n=9 studies) and aprismatic (n=5 studies) |
| Intervention | Any type of dental adhesive | 35 adhesive systems grouped into 8 strategies: 3_Step_ER, 2_Step_ER, 2_Step_SE_noPAE, 1_Step_SE_noPAE, 2b_Univ_PAE, 1b_Univ_PAE, 2b_Univ_noPAE, 1b_Univ_noPAE |
| Comparison | Different adhesive systems or adhesion strategies | Network meta-analysis with 3_Step_ER as reference; all pairs compared |
| Outcomes | Bond strength (shear, microshear or microtensile) at 24 h | Bond strength (MPa), shear (n=11 studies) or microtensile (n=3 studies); mean difference at 24 h |
| Study designs | In vitro studies; no year or language limit | In vitro studies (n=14 included; n=10 in network meta-analysis) |
| Timing | 24 h | 24 h (studies with thermocycling or aging excluded from quantitative analysis) |
AMSTAR 2 items
Two independent extractors rated each item. Their ratings are shown side by side because they have not been reconciled yet. The overall rating follows Shea et al. 2017: one critical flaw gives Low, more than one gives Critically Low.
| Item | Extractor A | Extractor B | Agree |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1Research question includes PICO components | Yes | Yes | yes |
| 2Protocol established before the reviewcritical | Partial Yes | Partial Yes | yes |
| 3Choice of study designs explained | No | No | yes |
| 4Comprehensive literature searchcritical | Partial Yes | Partial Yes | yes |
| 5Study selection in duplicate | Yes | Yes | yes |
| 6Data extraction in duplicate | Yes | Yes | yes |
| 7List of excluded studies with reasonscritical | No | No | yes |
| 8Included studies described in detail | Partial Yes | Yes | no |
| 9Risk of bias assessed satisfactorilycritical | RCT: N/A · NRSI: Partial Yes | NRSI: Partial Yes · RCT: N/A | no |
| 10Funding of included studies reported | No | No | yes |
| 11Appropriate meta-analysis methodscritical | RCT: N/A · NRSI: Yes | NRSI: Partial Yes · RCT: N/A | no |
| 12Impact of risk of bias on the pooled results | No | Yes | no |
| 13Risk of bias accounted for in interpretationcritical | Yes | Yes | yes |
| 14Heterogeneity explained | Yes | Yes | yes |
| 15Publication bias investigatedcritical | No | No | yes |
| 16Conflicts of interest reported | No | Yes | no |
| Overall | Critically Low | Critically Low | yes |