Non-Cochrane · aetiology · PM41398005
Multi-cohort evidence linking edentulism to frailty among older adults.
He Jun, Xie Xun, Wang Ying · Scientific reports · 2025 · PubMed · doi:10.1038/s41598-025-27516-6
Findings
Population Community-dwelling adults aged over 50 years (CHARLS, ELSA, HRS cohorts)
4 findings
| Edentulism (self-reported complete loss of all natural teeth; exposure) | Dentate (not edentulous) | Frailty index (per 1% unit) Edentulism at baseline (2011-2014); frailty at follow-up wave (2018-2019) · Population-based cohorts in China, England and the United States · Fully adjusted (Model 4/Model 2 in Table 2); Fixed-effect model | MD 2.85 [2.33, 3.38] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 27274 participants |
| Edentulism (self-reported complete loss of all natural teeth; exposure) | Dentate (not edentulous) | Frailty index (per 1% unit) Edentulism at baseline (2011-2014); frailty at follow-up wave (2018-2019) · Population-based cohorts in China, England and the United States · Fully adjusted (Model 4/Model 2 in Table 2); Random-effects model (selected, I2 above 50%) | MD 2.68 [1.67, 3.69] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 27274 participants |
| Edentulism (self-reported complete loss of all natural teeth; exposure) | Dentate (not edentulous) | Frailty status (binary, frailty index > 25%) Edentulism at baseline (2011-2014); frailty at follow-up wave (2018-2019) · Population-based cohorts in China, England and the United States · Fully adjusted (Model 4/Model 2 in Table 2); Random-effects model | OR 1.36 [1.21, 1.53] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 27274 participants |
| Edentulism (self-reported complete loss of all natural teeth; exposure) | Dentate (not edentulous) | Frailty status (binary, frailty index > 25%) Edentulism at baseline (2011-2014); frailty at follow-up wave (2018-2019) · Population-based cohorts in China, England and the United States · Fully adjusted (Model 4/Model 2 in Table 2); Fixed-effect model (selected, I2 below 50%) | OR 1.38 [1.26, 1.50] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 27274 participants |
Included primary studies 5
Open in Studies| Study | Year | Also included by | Outcomes it informs here | Trial data |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CHARLS 2011-2018 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| ELSA 2014-2019 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Sonnega 2014 (Health and Retirement Study (HRS)) Cohort Profile: the Health and Retirement Study (HRS). PMID:24671021 | 2014 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Steptoe 2013 (English Longitudinal Study of Ageing (ELSA)) Cohort profile: the English longitudinal study of ageing. PMID:23143611 | 2013 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Zhao 2014 (China Health and Retirement Longitudinal Study (CHARLS)) Cohort profile: the China Health and Retirement Longitudinal Study (CHARLS). PMID:23243115 | 2014 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
Review question
| Element | Planned (methods) | Found (results) |
|---|---|---|
| Population | Participants aged over 50 years at baseline in CHARLS, ELSA, HRS with complete data on edentulism, frailty and covariates | Adults aged over 50 years: CHARLS (n=9,869), ELSA (n=5,083), HRS (n=12,322) |
| Intervention | Self-reported complete edentulism | Edentulism (CHARLS 905; ELSA 428; HRS 1,801) |
| Comparison | Dentate participants | Dentate (CHARLS 8,964; ELSA 4,655; HRS 10,521) |
| Outcomes | Frailty index (linear regression) and frailty status/phenotype (logistic regression) | Frailty status (binary); frailty index per 1% unit |
| Study designs | Longitudinal analysis of three nationally representative prospective cohorts | Three prospective cohorts (n=3) |
| Timing | Baseline exposure; frailty at follow-up wave (about 6 to 7 years) | CHARLS 2011 to 2018; ELSA 2014 to 2019; HRS 2012 to 2018 |