Cochrane · systematic review · CD013719
Treatments for alopecia areata: a network meta‐analysis
Mateos-Haro, M, Novoa-Candia, M, Sánchez Vanegas, G, et al. · Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews · 2023 · Cochrane Library
SkinAMSTAR 2: not assessed
SoF tableOnly the outcomes this review put in its Summary of Findings table are listed (the Cochrane Handbook caps them at about seven per comparison). Its other analyses are not shown here.
Questions
48
current version
GRADE rated
24
No studies
24
Included studies
NR
No studies 24 · 50%Ungraded 0 · 0%Very low 17 · 35.4%Low 5 · 10.4%Moderate 0 · 0%High 2 · 4.2%
Ungraded means an effect was reported without a GRADE rating; it is not a gap. No studies means the review found nothing to answer the question. The six categories are a display order, not a score.
Questions and results
Summary of findings table ‐ Oral classical immunosuppressants (prednisolone or cyclosporine) compared to placebo for adults with alopecia areata
Population: adults with alopecia areata
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Short‐term hair regrowth ≥ 75% (between 12 and 26 weeks of Summary of findings table ‐ Oral classical immunosuppressants (prednisolone or cyclosporine) vs placebo | RR 4.68 [0.57, 38.27] | 2 studies · 79 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision |
Incidence of serious adverse events Summary of findings table ‐ Oral classical immunosuppressants (prednisolone or cyclosporine) vs placebo | no estimate extracted | 2 studies · 79 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision |
Health‐related quality of life (AQoL‐8D) Summary of findings table ‐ Oral classical immunosuppressants (prednisolone or cyclosporine) vs placebo | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 36 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision |
Long‐term hair regrowth ≥ 75% (greater than 26 weeks of Summary of findings table ‐ Oral classical immunosuppressants (prednisolone or cyclosporine) vs placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Summary of findings table ‐ Oral classical immunosuppressants (betamethasone) compared to oral classical immunosuppressants (azathioprine, methotrexate, prednisolone) for adults with alopecia areata
Population: adults with alopecia areata
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Short‐term hair regrowth ≥ 75% (between 12 and 26 weeks of Summary of findings table ‐ Oral classical immunosuppressants (betamethasone) vs oral classical immunosuppressants (azathioprine, methotrexate, prednisolone) | RR 1.67 [0.96, 2.88] | 2 studies · 80 participants | Low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision |
Incidence of serious adverse events Summary of findings table ‐ Oral classical immunosuppressants (betamethasone) vs oral classical immunosuppressants (azathioprine, methotrexate, prednisolone) | no estimate extracted | 4 studies · 154 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision |
Health‐related quality of life ‐ not reported Summary of findings table ‐ Oral classical immunosuppressants (betamethasone) vs oral classical immunosuppressants (azathioprine, methotrexate, prednisolone) | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Long‐term hair regrowth ≥ 75% (greater than 26 weeks of Summary of findings table ‐ Oral classical immunosuppressants (betamethasone) vs oral classical immunosuppressants (azathioprine, methotrexate, prednisolone) | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Summary of findings table ‐ Intralesional classical immunosuppresants (betamethasone or triamcinolone) compared to placebo for adults with alopecia areata
Population: adults with alopecia areata
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Short‐term hair regrowth ≥ 75% (between 12 and 26 weeks of Summary of findings table ‐ Intralesional classical immunosuppresants (betamethasone or triamcinolone) vs placebo | RR 13.84 [0.87, 219.76] | 1 study · 231 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision |
Incidence of serious adverse events Summary of findings table ‐ Intralesional classical immunosuppresants (betamethasone or triamcinolone) vs placebo | no estimate extracted | 4 studies · 543 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision |
Health‐related quality of life ‐ not reported Summary of findings table ‐ Intralesional classical immunosuppresants (betamethasone or triamcinolone) vs placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Long‐term hair regrowth ≥ 75% (greater than 26 weeks of Summary of findings table ‐ Intralesional classical immunosuppresants (betamethasone or triamcinolone) vs placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Summary of findings table ‐ Subcutaneous biologics (dupilumab) compared to placebo for adults with alopecia areata
Population: adults with alopecia areata
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Short‐term hair regrowth ≥ 75% Summary of findings table ‐ Subcutaneous biologics (dupilumab) vs placebo | RR 3.59 [0.19, 66.22] | 1 study · 60 participants | Low Downgraded: imprecision |
Incidence of serious adverse events Summary of findings table ‐ Subcutaneous biologics (dupilumab) vs placebo | RR 1.54 [0.07, 36.11] | 1 study · 60 participants | Low Downgraded: imprecision |
Health‐related quality of life ‐ not reported Summary of findings table ‐ Subcutaneous biologics (dupilumab) vs placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Long‐term hair regrowth ≥ 75% (greater than 26 weeks of Summary of findings table ‐ Subcutaneous biologics (dupilumab) vs placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Summary of findings table ‐ Oral small molecule inhibitors (apremilast or baricitinib) compared to placebo for adults with alopecia areata
Population: adults with alopecia areata
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Short‐term hair regrowth ≥ 75% (between 12 and 26 weeks of Summary of findings table ‐ Oral small molecule inhibitors (apremilast or baricitinib) vs placebo | RR 7.54 [3.9, 14.58] | 2 studies · 1200 participants | High |
Incidence of serious adverse events Summary of findings table ‐ Oral small molecule inhibitors (apremilast or baricitinib) vs placebo | RR 1.47 [0.6, 3.6] | 3 studies · 1224 participants | Low Downgraded: imprecision |
Health‐related quality of life ‐ not reported Summary of findings table ‐ Oral small molecule inhibitors (apremilast or baricitinib) vs placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Long‐term hair regrowth ≥ 75% (greater than 26 weeks of Summary of findings table ‐ Oral small molecule inhibitors (apremilast or baricitinib) vs placebo | RR 8.49 [4.7, 15.34] | 2 studies · 1200 participants | High |
Summary of findings table ‐ Oral small molecule inhibitors (ruxolitinib) compared to oral small molecule inhibitors (tofacitinib) for adults with alopecia areata
Population: adults with alopecia areata
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Short‐term hair regrowth ≥ 75% (between 12 and 26 weeks of Summary of findings table ‐ Oral small molecule inhibitors (ruxolitinib) vs oral small molecule inhibitors (tofacitinib) | RR 1.08 [0.77, 1.52] | 1 study · 80 participants | Very low Downgraded: imprecision |
Incidence of serious adverse events Summary of findings table ‐ Oral small molecule inhibitors (ruxolitinib) vs oral small molecule inhibitors (tofacitinib) | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 80 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision |
Health‐related quality of life ‐ not reported Summary of findings table ‐ Oral small molecule inhibitors (ruxolitinib) vs oral small molecule inhibitors (tofacitinib) | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Long‐term hair regrowth ≥ 75% (greater than 26 weeks of Summary of findings table ‐ Oral small molecule inhibitors (ruxolitinib) vs oral small molecule inhibitors (tofacitinib) | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Summary of findings table ‐ Topical small molecule inhibitors (ruxolitinib) compared to placebo for adults with alopecia areata
Population: adults with alopecia areata
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Short‐term hair regrowth ≥ 75% (between 12 and 26 weeks of Summary of findings table ‐ Topical small molecule inhibitors (ruxolitinib) vs placebo | RR 5 [0.25, 100.89] | 1 study · 78 participants | Low Downgraded: imprecision |
Incidence of serious adverse events Summary of findings table ‐ Topical small molecule inhibitors (ruxolitinib) vs placebo | RR 0.33 [0.01, 7.94] | 1 study · 78 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision |
Health‐related quality of life ‐ not reported Summary of findings table ‐ Topical small molecule inhibitors (ruxolitinib) vs placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Long‐term hair regrowth ≥ 75% (greater than 26 weeks of Summary of findings table ‐ Topical small molecule inhibitors (ruxolitinib) vs placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Summary of findings table ‐ Contact immunotherapy (diphencyprone or squaric acid dibutil ester) compared to placebo for adults with alopecia areata
Population: adults with alopecia areata
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Short‐term hair regrowth ≥ 75% (between 12 and 26 weeks of Summary of findings table ‐ Contact immunotherapy (diphencyprone or squaric acid dibutil ester) vs placebo | RR 1.16 [0.79, 1.71] | 1 study · 99 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision |
Incidence of serious adverse events ‐ not reported Summary of findings table ‐ Contact immunotherapy (diphencyprone or squaric acid dibutil ester) vs placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Health‐related quality of life ‐ not reported Summary of findings table ‐ Contact immunotherapy (diphencyprone or squaric acid dibutil ester) vs placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Long‐term hair regrowth ≥ 75% (greater than 26 weeks of Summary of findings table ‐ Contact immunotherapy (diphencyprone or squaric acid dibutil ester) vs placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Summary of findings table ‐ Contact immunotherapy (diphencyprone or squaric acid dibutil ester) compared to hair growth stimulants (minoxidil) for adults with alopecia areata
Population: adults with alopecia areata
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Short‐term hair regrowth ≥ 75% (between 12 and 26 weeks of Summary of findings table ‐ Contact immunotherapy (diphencyprone or squaric acid dibutil ester) vs hair growth stimulants (minoxidil) | RR 1.16 [0.79, 1.71] | 1 study · 99 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision |
Incidence of serious adverse events ‐ not reported Summary of findings table ‐ Contact immunotherapy (diphencyprone or squaric acid dibutil ester) vs hair growth stimulants (minoxidil) | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Health‐related quality of life ‐ not reported Summary of findings table ‐ Contact immunotherapy (diphencyprone or squaric acid dibutil ester) vs hair growth stimulants (minoxidil) | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Long‐term hair regrowth ≥ 75% (greater than 26 weeks of Summary of findings table ‐ Contact immunotherapy (diphencyprone or squaric acid dibutil ester) vs hair growth stimulants (minoxidil) | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Summary of findings table ‐ Contact immunotherapy (diphencyprone) + hair growth stimulants (minoxidil) compared to contact immunotherapy (diphencyprone) for adults with alopecia areata
Population: adults with alopecia areata
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Short‐term hair regrowth ≥ 75% (between 12 and 26 weeks of Summary of findings table ‐ Contact immunotherapy (diphencyprone) + hair growth stimulants (minoxidil) vs contact immunotherapy (diphencyprone) | RR 0.67 [0.13, 3.44] | 1 study · 30 participants | Very low Downgraded: imprecision |
Incidence of serious adverse events Summary of findings table ‐ Contact immunotherapy (diphencyprone) + hair growth stimulants (minoxidil) vs contact immunotherapy (diphencyprone) | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 30 participants | Very low Downgraded: imprecision |
Health‐related quality of life ‐ not reported Summary of findings table ‐ Contact immunotherapy (diphencyprone) + hair growth stimulants (minoxidil) vs contact immunotherapy (diphencyprone) | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Long‐term hair regrowth ≥ 75% (greater than 26 weeks of Summary of findings table ‐ Contact immunotherapy (diphencyprone) + hair growth stimulants (minoxidil) vs contact immunotherapy (diphencyprone) | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Summary of findings table ‐ Topical hair growth stimulants (minoxidil) compared to placebo for adults with alopecia areata
Population: adults with alopecia areata
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Short‐term hair regrowth ≥ 75% (between 12 and 26 weeks of Summary of findings table ‐ Topical hair growth stimulants (minoxidil) vs placebo | RR 2.31 [1.34, 3.96] | 2 studies · 202 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, inconsistency |
Incidence of serious adverse events Summary of findings table ‐ Topical hair growth stimulants (minoxidil) vs placebo | no estimate extracted | 4 studies · 304 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision |
Health‐related quality of life ‐ not reported Summary of findings table ‐ Topical hair growth stimulants (minoxidil) vs placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Long‐term hair regrowth ≥ 75% (greater than 26 weeks of Summary of findings table ‐ Topical hair growth stimulants (minoxidil) vs placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Summary of findings table ‐ Other therapies (cryotherapy) compared to other therapies (fractional CO2 laser) for adults with alopecia areata
Population: adults with alopecia areata
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Short‐term hair regrowth ≥ 75% Summary of findings table ‐ Other therapies (cryotherapy) vs other therapies (fractional CO2 laser) | RR 0.31 [0.11, 0.86] | 1 study · 80 participants | Very low Downgraded: imprecision |
Incidence of serious adverse events Summary of findings table ‐ Other therapies (cryotherapy) vs other therapies (fractional CO2 laser) | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 80 participants | Very low Downgraded: imprecision |
Health‐related quality of life ‐ not reported Summary of findings table ‐ Other therapies (cryotherapy) vs other therapies (fractional CO2 laser) | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Long‐term hair regrowth ≥ 75% ‐ not reported Summary of findings table ‐ Other therapies (cryotherapy) vs other therapies (fractional CO2 laser) | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |