Cochrane · systematic review · CD012745
Prophylactic plasma transfusion for patients without inherited bleeding disorders or anticoagulant use undergoing non‐cardiac surgery or invasive procedures
Huber, J, Stanworth, SJ, Doree, C, et al. · Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews · 2019 · Cochrane Library
HaematologyAMSTAR 2: not assessed
SoF tableOnly the outcomes this review put in its Summary of Findings table are listed (the Cochrane Handbook caps them at about seven per comparison). Its other analyses are not shown here.
Questions
21
current version
GRADE rated
10
No studies
11
Included studies
NR
No studies 11 · 52.4%Ungraded 0 · 0%Very low 9 · 42.9%Low 1 · 4.8%Moderate 0 · 0%High 0 · 0%
Ungraded means an effect was reported without a GRADE rating; it is not a gap. No studies means the review found nothing to answer the question. The six categories are a display order, not a score.
Questions and results
Prophylactic plasma transfusion before surgery/invasive procedures compared to no prophylactic plasma transfusion before surgery/invasive procedures (colloid, crystalloid, placebo, or no treatment) for patients undergoing non‐cardiac surgery or invasive procedures
Population: patients undergoing non‐cardiac surgery or invasive procedures
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
All‐cause mortality up to 30 days № of participants: 72 (1 RCT) Prophylactic plasma transfusion before surgery/invasive procedures vs no prophylactic plasma transfusion before surgery/invasive procedures (colloid, crystalloid, placebo, or no treatment) | RR 0.38 [0.13, 1.1] | NR | Very low Downgraded: indirectness |
Major bleeding within 24 hours № of participants: 148 (2 RCTs) Prophylactic plasma transfusion before surgery/invasive procedures vs no prophylactic plasma transfusion before surgery/invasive procedures (colloid, crystalloid, placebo, or no treatment) | RR 0.33 | NR | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, inconsistency, indirectness |
Number of transfusions per participant within 7 days № of participants: 76 (1 RCT) Prophylactic plasma transfusion before surgery/invasive procedures vs no prophylactic plasma transfusion before surgery/invasive procedures (colloid, crystalloid, placebo, or no treatment) | no estimate extracted | NR | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, inconsistency, indirectness |
Number of individuals requiring a transfusion within 7 days № of participants: 72 (1 RCT) Prophylactic plasma transfusion before surgery/invasive procedures vs no prophylactic plasma transfusion before surgery/invasive procedures (colloid, crystalloid, placebo, or no treatment) | no estimate extracted | NR | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, inconsistency, indirectness |
Serious adverse events measured by plasma transfusion‐related complications within 24 hours № of participants: 76 (1 RCT) Prophylactic plasma transfusion before surgery/invasive procedures vs no prophylactic plasma transfusion before surgery/invasive procedures (colloid, crystalloid, placebo, or no treatment) | no estimate extracted | NR | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, inconsistency, indirectness |
Serious adverse events measured by surgery or procedure‐related complications within 30 days ‐ not reported Prophylactic plasma transfusion before surgery/invasive procedures vs no prophylactic plasma transfusion before surgery/invasive procedures (colloid, crystalloid, placebo, or no treatment) | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Quality of life ‐ not reported Prophylactic plasma transfusion before surgery/invasive procedures vs no prophylactic plasma transfusion before surgery/invasive procedures (colloid, crystalloid, placebo, or no treatment) | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Prophylactic plasma transfusion before surgery/invasive procedures compared to alternative haemostatic agents for patients undergoing non‐cardiac surgery/invasive procedures
Population: patients undergoing non‐cardiac surgery/invasive procedures
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
All‐cause mortality up to 30 days ‐ not reported Prophylactic plasma transfusion before surgery/invasive procedures vs alternative haemostatic agents | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Major bleeding within 24 hours № of participants: 21 (1 RCT) Prophylactic plasma transfusion before surgery/invasive procedures vs alternative haemostatic agents | no estimate extracted | NR | Very low Downgraded: imprecision, indirectness |
Number of transfusions per participant within 7 days ‐ not reported Prophylactic plasma transfusion before surgery/invasive procedures vs alternative haemostatic agents | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Number of individuals requiring a transfusion within 7 days ‐ not reported Prophylactic plasma transfusion before surgery/invasive procedures vs alternative haemostatic agents | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Serious adverse events measured by plasma transfusion‐related complications within 24 hours № of participants: 21 (1 RCT) Prophylactic plasma transfusion before surgery/invasive procedures vs alternative haemostatic agents | RR 9.82 [0.59, 162.24] | NR | Very low Downgraded: imprecision, indirectness |
Serious adverse events measured by surgery or procedure‐related complications within 30 days ‐ not reported Prophylactic plasma transfusion before surgery/invasive procedures vs alternative haemostatic agents | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Quality of life ‐ not reported Prophylactic plasma transfusion before surgery/invasive procedures vs alternative haemostatic agents | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Thromboelastography threshold compared to standard of care (laboratory parameters) for patients undergoing non‐cardiac surgery or invasive procedures
Population: patients undergoing non‐cardiac surgery/invasive procedures
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
All‐cause mortality up to 30 days ‐ not reported Thromboelastography threshold vs standard of care (laboratory parameters) | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Major bleeding within 24 hours № of participants: 60 (1 RCT) Thromboelastography threshold vs standard of care (laboratory parameters) | RR 0.33 [0.01, 7.87] | NR | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias |
Number of transfusions per participant within 7 days ‐ not reported Thromboelastography threshold vs standard of care (laboratory parameters) | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Number of individuals requiring a transfusion within 7 days № of participants: 60 (1 RCT) Thromboelastography threshold vs standard of care (laboratory parameters) | RR 0.18 [0.08, 0.39] | NR | Low Downgraded: risk of bias |
Serious adverse events measured by plasma transfusion‐related complications within 24 hours № of participants: 60 (1 RCT) Thromboelastography threshold vs standard of care (laboratory parameters) | RR 0.33 [0.01, 7.87] | NR | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias |
Serious adverse events measured by surgery or procedure‐related complications within 30 days ‐ not reported Thromboelastography threshold vs standard of care (laboratory parameters) | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Quality of life ‐ not reported Thromboelastography threshold vs standard of care (laboratory parameters) | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |