Cochrane · systematic review · CD010551

Pelvic floor muscle training added to another active treatment versus the same active treatment alone for urinary incontinence in women

Ayeleke, RO, Hay‐Smith, EJC, Omar, MI · Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews · 2015 · Cochrane Library

Incontinence2 versionsAMSTAR 2: not assessed
SoF tableOnly the outcomes this review put in its Summary of Findings table are listed (the Cochrane Handbook caps them at about seven per comparison). Its other analyses are not shown here.
Questions
63
current version
GRADE rated
11
No studies
52
Included studies
NR
No studies 52 · 82.5%Ungraded 0 · 0%Very low 7 · 11.1%Low 1 · 1.6%Moderate 3 · 4.8%High 0 · 0%

Ungraded means an effect was reported without a GRADE rating; it is not a gap. No studies means the review found nothing to answer the question. The six categories are a display order, not a score.

Questions and results

Current version only

PFMT added to vaginal cones versus vaginal cones alone for urinary incontinence in women

Population: women with urinary incontinence
CD010551.PUB3 (current) · 7 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Number of women cured or improved (subjective) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to vaginal cones vs vaginal cones alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women reporting incontinence at 1 year or more after treatment (subjective) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to vaginal cones vs vaginal cones alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Objective measure of urine leakage (pad test)
PFMT added to vaginal cones vs vaginal cones alone
RR 1.27 [0.94, 1.71]1 study · 34 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Number of women experiencing pain ‐ not reported
PFMT added to vaginal cones vs vaginal cones alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Condition‐specific quality of life assessed by patient questionnaire such as Incontinence Impact Questionnaire (IIQ), King's Health Questionnaire (KHQ) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to vaginal cones vs vaginal cones alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
General health status evaluation e.g. Short Form (SF)‐36 ‐ not reported
PFMT added to vaginal cones vs vaginal cones alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women requiring further treatment such as surgery, drugs, mechanical devices (relapse) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to vaginal cones vs vaginal cones alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies

PFMT added to lifestyle intervention versus lifestyle intervention alone for urinary incontinence in women

Population: women with urinary incontinence
CD010551.PUB3 (current) · 7 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Number of women cured or improved (subjective) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to lifestyle intervention vs lifestyle intervention alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women reporting incontinence at 1 year or more after treatment (subjective) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to lifestyle intervention vs lifestyle intervention alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Objective measure of urine leakage (e.g. pad test) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to lifestyle intervention vs lifestyle intervention alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women reporting adverse events ‐ not reported
PFMT added to lifestyle intervention vs lifestyle intervention alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Condition‐specific quality of life ‐ not reported
PFMT added to lifestyle intervention vs lifestyle intervention alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
General health status evaluation e.g. Short Form (SF)‐36 ‐ not reported
PFMT added to lifestyle intervention vs lifestyle intervention alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women requiring further treatment such as surgery, drugs, mechanical devices (relapse) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to lifestyle intervention vs lifestyle intervention alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies

PFMT added to bladder training versus bladder training alone for urinary incontinence in women

Population: women with urinary incontinence
CD010551.PUB3 (current) · 7 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Number of women cured ‐ 3 months after treatment
PFMT added to bladder training vs bladder training alone
RR 1.71 [0.84, 3.46]1 study · 122 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Number of women reporting incontinence at 1 year or more after treatment (subjective) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to bladder training vs bladder training alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Objective measure of urine leakage (e.g. pad test) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to bladder training vs bladder training alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women experiencing pain ‐ not reported
PFMT added to bladder training vs bladder training alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Condition‐specific quality of life ‐ 3 months after treatment Incontinence Impact Questionnaire‐ Revised (IIQ‐R)
PFMT added to bladder training vs bladder training alone
no estimate extracted1 study · 118 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
General health status evaluation e.g. Short Form (SF)‐36 ‐ not reported
PFMT added to bladder training vs bladder training alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women requiring further treatment such as surgery, drugs, mechanical devices (relapse)
PFMT added to bladder training vs bladder training alone
RR 0.95 [0.57, 1.57]1 study · 96 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision

PFMT added to electrical stimulation versus electrical stimulation alone (excluding implanted electrodes) for urinary incontinence in women

Population: women with urinary incontinence
CD010551.PUB3 (current) · 7 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Number of women cured
PFMT added to electrical stimulation vs electrical stimulation alone (excluding implanted electrodes)
RR 2.06 [0.79, 5.38]2 studies · 56 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias
Number of women reporting incontinence at 1 year or more after treatment (subjective) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to electrical stimulation vs electrical stimulation alone (excluding implanted electrodes)
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Objective measure of urine leakage (e.g. pad test) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to electrical stimulation vs electrical stimulation alone (excluding implanted electrodes)
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women experiencing pain ‐ not reported
PFMT added to electrical stimulation vs electrical stimulation alone (excluding implanted electrodes)
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Condition‐specific quality of life assessed by patient questionnaire such as Incontinence Impact Questionnaire (IIQ), King's Health Questionnaire (KHQ) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to electrical stimulation vs electrical stimulation alone (excluding implanted electrodes)
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
General health status evaluation e.g. Short Form (SF)‐36 ‐ not reported
PFMT added to electrical stimulation vs electrical stimulation alone (excluding implanted electrodes)
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women requiring further treatment such as surgery, drugs, mechanical devices (relapse) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to electrical stimulation vs electrical stimulation alone (excluding implanted electrodes)
no estimate extractedNRNo studies

PFMT added to magnetic stimulation versus magnetic stimulation alone for urinary incontinence in women

Population: women with urinary incontinence
CD010551.PUB3 (current) · 7 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Number of women cured or improved (subjective) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to magnetic stimulation vs magnetic stimulation alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women reporting incontinence at 1 year or more after treatment (subjective) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to magnetic stimulation vs magnetic stimulation alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Objective measure of urine leakage (e.g. pad test) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to magnetic stimulation vs magnetic stimulation alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women reporting adverse events ‐ not reported
PFMT added to magnetic stimulation vs magnetic stimulation alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Condition‐specific quality of life assessed by patient questionnaire such as Incontinence Impact Questionnaire (IIQ), King's Health Questionnaire (KHQ) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to magnetic stimulation vs magnetic stimulation alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
General health status evaluation e.g. Short Form (SF)‐36 ‐ not reported
PFMT added to magnetic stimulation vs magnetic stimulation alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women requiring further treatment such as surgery, drugs, mechanical devices (relapse) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to magnetic stimulation vs magnetic stimulation alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies

PFMT added to continence pessary versus continence pessary alone for urinary incontinence in women

Population: women with urinary incontinence
CD010551.PUB3 (current) · 7 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Number of women cured or improved (subjective) at 12 months
PFMT added to continence pessary vs continence pessary alone
RR 0.88 [0.67, 1.16]1 study · 207 participantsModerate
Downgraded: imprecision
Number of women reporting incontinence at 1 year or more after treatment (subjective) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to continence pessary vs continence pessary alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Objective measure of urine leakage (e.g. pad test) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to continence pessary vs continence pessary alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women reporting adverse events ‐ not reported
PFMT added to continence pessary vs continence pessary alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Condition‐specific quality of life at 12 months Urogenital Distress Inventory (UDI)
PFMT added to continence pessary vs continence pessary alone
RR 0.81 [0.62, 1.08]1 study · 207 participantsModerate
Downgraded: imprecision
General health status evaluation e.g. Short Form (SF)‐36 ‐ not reported
PFMT added to continence pessary vs continence pessary alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women requiring further treatment such as surgery, drugs, mechanical devices (relapse) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to continence pessary vs continence pessary alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies

PFMT added to drug therapy versus drug therapy alone for urinary incontinence in women

Population: women with urinary incontinence
CD010551.PUB3 (current) · 7 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Number of women cured ‐ PFMT + clenbuterol versus clenbuterol
PFMT added to drug therapy vs drug therapy alone
RR 1.16 [0.83, 1.63]1 study · 32 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Number of women reporting incontinence at 1 year or more after treatment (subjective) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to drug therapy vs drug therapy alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Objective measure of urine leakage (e.g. pad test) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to drug therapy vs drug therapy alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women reporting adverse events
PFMT added to drug therapy vs drug therapy alone
RR 0.84 [1.6, 45]1 study · 162 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Condition‐specific quality of life on I‐QoL Questionnaire ‐ PFMT + duloxetine versus duloxetine Incontinence Quality of Life questionnaire
PFMT added to drug therapy vs drug therapy alone
no estimate extracted1 study · 101 participantsLow
Downgraded: imprecision
General health status evaluation e.g. Short Form (SF)‐36 ‐ not reported
PFMT added to drug therapy vs drug therapy alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women requiring further treatment such as surgery, drugs, mechanical devices (relapse) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to drug therapy vs drug therapy alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies

PFMT prior to surgical intervention versus surgical intervention alone for urinary incontinence in women

Population: women with urinary incontinence
CD010551.PUB3 (current) · 7 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Number of women cured or improved (subjective) ‐ not reported
PFMT prior to surgical intervention vs surgical intervention alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women reporting incontinence at 1 year or more after treatment (subjective) ‐ not reported
PFMT prior to surgical intervention vs surgical intervention alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Objective measure of urine leakage (e.g. pad test) ‐ not reported
PFMT prior to surgical intervention vs surgical intervention alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women reporting adverse events ‐ not reported
PFMT prior to surgical intervention vs surgical intervention alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Condition‐specific quality of life assessed by patient questionnaire such as Incontinence Impact Questionnaire (IIQ), King's Health Questionnaire (KHQ) ‐ not reported
PFMT prior to surgical intervention vs surgical intervention alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
General health status evaluation e.g. Short Form (SF)‐36 ‐ not reported
PFMT prior to surgical intervention vs surgical intervention alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women requiring further treatment such as surgery, drugs, mechanical devices (relapse) ‐ not reported
PFMT prior to surgical intervention vs surgical intervention alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies

PFMT added to HSGS versus HSGS alone for urinary incontinence in women

Population: women with urinary incontinence
CD010551.PUB3 (current) · 7 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Number of women cured
PFMT added to HSGS vs HSGS alone
RR 2.38 [1.19, 4.73]1 study · 74 participantsModerate
Downgraded: risk of bias
Number of women reporting incontinence at 1 year or more after treatment (subjective) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to HSGS vs HSGS alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Objective measure of urine leakage (e.g. pad test) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to HSGS vs HSGS alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women experiencing pain ‐ not reported
PFMT added to HSGS vs HSGS alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Condition‐specific quality of life assessed by patient questionnaire such as Incontinence Impact Questionnaire (IIQ), King's Health Questionnaire (KHQ) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to HSGS vs HSGS alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
General health status evaluation e.g. Short Form (SF)‐36 ‐ not reported
PFMT added to HSGS vs HSGS alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women requiring further treatment such as surgery, drugs, mechanical devices (relapse) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to HSGS vs HSGS alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies

PFMT added to vaginal cones versus vaginal cones alone for urinary incontinence in women

Population: patients with urinary incontinence in women
CD010551.PUB2 · 7 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Number of women cured or improved (subjective) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to vaginal cones vs vaginal cones alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women reporting incontinence at 1 year or more after treatment (subjective) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to vaginal cones vs vaginal cones alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Objective measure of urine leakage (pad test)
PFMT added to vaginal cones vs vaginal cones alone
RR 1.27 [0.94, 1.71]1 study · 34 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Number of women experiencing pain ‐ not reported
PFMT added to vaginal cones vs vaginal cones alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Condition‐specific quality of life assessed by patient questionnaire such as Incontinence Impact Questionnaire (IIQ), King's Health Questionnaire (KHQ) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to vaginal cones vs vaginal cones alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
General health status evaluation e.g. Short Form (SF)‐36 ‐ not reported
PFMT added to vaginal cones vs vaginal cones alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women requiring further treatment such as surgery, drugs, mechanical devices (relapse) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to vaginal cones vs vaginal cones alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies

PFMT added to lifestyle intervention versus lifestyle intervention alone for urinary incontinence in women

Population: patients with urinary incontinence in women
CD010551.PUB2 · 7 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Number of women cured or improved (subjective) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to lifestyle intervention vs lifestyle intervention alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women reporting incontinence at 1 year or more after treatment (subjective) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to lifestyle intervention vs lifestyle intervention alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Objective measure of urine leakage (e.g. pad test) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to lifestyle intervention vs lifestyle intervention alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women reporting adverse events ‐ not reported
PFMT added to lifestyle intervention vs lifestyle intervention alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Condition‐specific quality of life ‐ not reported
PFMT added to lifestyle intervention vs lifestyle intervention alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
General health status evaluation e.g. Short Form (SF)‐36 ‐ not reported
PFMT added to lifestyle intervention vs lifestyle intervention alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women requiring further treatment such as surgery, drugs, mechanical devices (relapse) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to lifestyle intervention vs lifestyle intervention alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies

PFMT added to bladder training versus bladder training alone for urinary incontinence in women

Population: patients with urinary incontinence in women
CD010551.PUB2 · 7 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Number of women cured ‐ 3 months after treatment
PFMT added to bladder training vs bladder training alone
RR 1.71 [0.84, 3.46]1 study · 122 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Number of women reporting incontinence at 1 year or more after treatment (subjective) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to bladder training vs bladder training alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Objective measure of urine leakage (e.g. pad test) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to bladder training vs bladder training alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women experiencing pain ‐ not reported
PFMT added to bladder training vs bladder training alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Condition‐specific quality of life ‐ 3 months after treatment Incontinence Impact Questionnaire‐ Revised (IIQ‐R)
PFMT added to bladder training vs bladder training alone
no estimate extracted1 study · 118 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
General health status evaluation e.g. Short Form (SF)‐36 ‐ not reported
PFMT added to bladder training vs bladder training alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women requiring further treatment such as surgery, drugs, mechanical devices (relapse)
PFMT added to bladder training vs bladder training alone
RR 0.95 [0.57, 1.57]1 study · 96 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision

PFMT added to electrical stimulation versus electrical stimulation alone (excluding implanted electrodes) for urinary incontinence in women

Population: patients with urinary incontinence in women
CD010551.PUB2 · 7 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Number of women cured
PFMT added to electrical stimulation vs electrical stimulation alone (excluding implanted electrodes)
RR 3 [0.37, 24.58]1 study · 22 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias
Number of women reporting incontinence at 1 year or more after treatment (subjective) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to electrical stimulation vs electrical stimulation alone (excluding implanted electrodes)
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Objective measure of urine leakage (e.g. pad test) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to electrical stimulation vs electrical stimulation alone (excluding implanted electrodes)
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women experiencing pain ‐ not reported
PFMT added to electrical stimulation vs electrical stimulation alone (excluding implanted electrodes)
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Condition‐specific quality of life assessed by patient questionnaire such as Incontinence Impact Questionnaire (IIQ), King's Health Questionnaire (KHQ) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to electrical stimulation vs electrical stimulation alone (excluding implanted electrodes)
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
General health status evaluation e.g. Short Form (SF)‐36 ‐ not reported
PFMT added to electrical stimulation vs electrical stimulation alone (excluding implanted electrodes)
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women requiring further treatment such as surgery, drugs, mechanical devices (relapse) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to electrical stimulation vs electrical stimulation alone (excluding implanted electrodes)
no estimate extractedNRNo studies

PFMT added to magnetic stimulation versus magnetic stimulation alone for urinary incontinence in women

Population: patients with urinary incontinence in women
CD010551.PUB2 · 7 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Number of women cured or improved (subjective) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to magnetic stimulation vs magnetic stimulation alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women reporting incontinence at 1 year or more after treatment (subjective) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to magnetic stimulation vs magnetic stimulation alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Objective measure of urine leakage (e.g. pad test) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to magnetic stimulation vs magnetic stimulation alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women reporting adverse events ‐ not reported
PFMT added to magnetic stimulation vs magnetic stimulation alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Condition‐specific quality of life assessed by patient questionnaire such as Incontinence Impact Questionnaire (IIQ), King's Health Questionnaire (KHQ) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to magnetic stimulation vs magnetic stimulation alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
General health status evaluation e.g. Short Form (SF)‐36 ‐ not reported
PFMT added to magnetic stimulation vs magnetic stimulation alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women requiring further treatment such as surgery, drugs, mechanical devices (relapse) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to magnetic stimulation vs magnetic stimulation alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies

PFMT added to continence pessary versus continence pessary alone for urinary incontinence in women

Population: patients with urinary incontinence in women
CD010551.PUB2 · 7 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Number of women cured or improved (subjective) at 12 months
PFMT added to continence pessary vs continence pessary alone
RR 0.88 [0.67, 1.16]1 study · 207 participantsModerate
Downgraded: imprecision
Number of women reporting incontinence at 1 year or more after treatment (subjective) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to continence pessary vs continence pessary alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Objective measure of urine leakage (e.g. pad test) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to continence pessary vs continence pessary alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women reporting adverse events ‐ not reported
PFMT added to continence pessary vs continence pessary alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Condition‐specific quality of life at 12 months Urogenital Distress Inventory (UDI)
PFMT added to continence pessary vs continence pessary alone
RR 0.81 [0.62, 1.08]1 study · 207 participantsModerate
Downgraded: imprecision
General health status evaluation e.g. Short Form (SF)‐36 ‐ not reported
PFMT added to continence pessary vs continence pessary alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women requiring further treatment such as surgery, drugs, mechanical devices (relapse) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to continence pessary vs continence pessary alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies

PFMT added to drug therapy versus drug therapy alone for urinary incontinence in women

Population: patients with urinary incontinence in women
CD010551.PUB2 · 7 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Number of women cured ‐ PFMT + clenbuterol versus clenbuterol
PFMT added to drug therapy vs drug therapy alone
RR 1.16 [0.83, 1.63]1 study · 32 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Number of women reporting incontinence at 1 year or more after treatment (subjective) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to drug therapy vs drug therapy alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Objective measure of urine leakage (e.g. pad test) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to drug therapy vs drug therapy alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women reporting adverse events
PFMT added to drug therapy vs drug therapy alone
RR 0.84 [1.6, 45]1 study · 162 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Condition‐specific quality of life on I‐QoL Questionnaire ‐ PFMT + duloxetine versus duloxetine Incontinence Quality of Life questionnaire
PFMT added to drug therapy vs drug therapy alone
no estimate extracted1 study · 101 participantsLow
Downgraded: imprecision
General health status evaluation e.g. Short Form (SF)‐36 ‐ not reported
PFMT added to drug therapy vs drug therapy alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women requiring further treatment such as surgery, drugs, mechanical devices (relapse) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to drug therapy vs drug therapy alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies

PFMT prior to surgical intervention versus surgical intervention alone for urinary incontinence in women

Population: patients with urinary incontinence in women
CD010551.PUB2 · 7 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Number of women cured or improved (subjective) ‐ not reported
PFMT prior to surgical intervention vs surgical intervention alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women reporting incontinence at 1 year or more after treatment (subjective) ‐ not reported
PFMT prior to surgical intervention vs surgical intervention alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Objective measure of urine leakage (e.g. pad test) ‐ not reported
PFMT prior to surgical intervention vs surgical intervention alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women reporting adverse events ‐ not reported
PFMT prior to surgical intervention vs surgical intervention alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Condition‐specific quality of life assessed by patient questionnaire such as Incontinence Impact Questionnaire (IIQ), King's Health Questionnaire (KHQ) ‐ not reported
PFMT prior to surgical intervention vs surgical intervention alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
General health status evaluation e.g. Short Form (SF)‐36 ‐ not reported
PFMT prior to surgical intervention vs surgical intervention alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women requiring further treatment such as surgery, drugs, mechanical devices (relapse) ‐ not reported
PFMT prior to surgical intervention vs surgical intervention alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies

PFMT added to HSGS versus HSGS alone for urinary incontinence in women

Population: patients with urinary incontinence in women
CD010551.PUB2 · 7 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Number of women cured
PFMT added to HSGS vs HSGS alone
RR 2.38 [1.19, 4.73]1 study · 74 participantsModerate
Downgraded: risk of bias
Number of women reporting incontinence at 1 year or more after treatment (subjective) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to HSGS vs HSGS alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Objective measure of urine leakage (e.g. pad test) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to HSGS vs HSGS alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women experiencing pain ‐ not reported
PFMT added to HSGS vs HSGS alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Condition‐specific quality of life assessed by patient questionnaire such as Incontinence Impact Questionnaire (IIQ), King's Health Questionnaire (KHQ) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to HSGS vs HSGS alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
General health status evaluation e.g. Short Form (SF)‐36 ‐ not reported
PFMT added to HSGS vs HSGS alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Number of women requiring further treatment such as surgery, drugs, mechanical devices (relapse) ‐ not reported
PFMT added to HSGS vs HSGS alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies