Cochrane · systematic review · CD008394

Interventions for treating leg ulcers in people with sickle cell disease

Martí-Carvajal, AJ, Knight-Madden, JM, Martinez-Zapata, MJ · Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews · 2021 · Cochrane Library

Cystic Fibrosis and Genetic Disorders3 versionsAMSTAR 2: not assessed
SoF tableOnly the outcomes this review put in its Summary of Findings table are listed (the Cochrane Handbook caps them at about seven per comparison). Its other analyses are not shown here.
Questions
42
current version
GRADE rated
10
No studies
30
Included studies
NR
No studies 30 · 71.4%Ungraded 2 · 4.8%Very low 10 · 23.8%Low 0 · 0%Moderate 0 · 0%High 0 · 0%

Ungraded means an effect was reported without a GRADE rating; it is not a gap. No studies means the review found nothing to answer the question. The six categories are a display order, not a score.

Questions and results

Show all 3 versions

Isoxsuprine compared with placebo for leg ulcers in people with sickle cell disease

Population: individuals with sickle cell disease and a leg ulcer
7 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Complete leg ulcer closure (defined as 100% epithelization or skin closure without drainage)
Isoxsuprine vs placebo
RR 1.2 [0.4, 3.62]1 study · 40 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Time to ulcer closure ‐ not reported
Isoxsuprine vs placebo
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Change in ulcer size (surface area or volume)
Isoxsuprine vs placebo
no estimate extracted1 study · 40 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Ulcer‐free survival following treatment for SCLU (free from leg ulcer recurrence) ‐ not reported
Isoxsuprine vs placebo
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Quality of life ‐ not reported
Isoxsuprine vs placebo
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Amputation ‐ not reported
Isoxsuprine vs placebo
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Adverse events ‐ not reported
Isoxsuprine vs placebo
no estimate extractedNRNo studies

Arginine butyrate plus standard care alone compared with standard care alone for leg ulcers in people with sickle cell disease

Population: individuals with sickle cell disease and a leg ulcer
7 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Complete leg ulcer closure (defined as 100% epithelization or skin closure without drainage)
Arginine butyrate plus standard care alone vs standard care alone
RR 3.72 [0.9, 15.35]1 study · 23 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Time to ulcer closure ‐ not reported
Arginine butyrate plus standard care alone vs standard care alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Change in ulcer size (surface area or volume)
Arginine butyrate plus standard care alone vs standard care alone
no estimate extracted1 study · 23 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Ulcer‐free survival following treatment for SCLU (free from leg ulcer recurrence) ‐ not reported
Arginine butyrate plus standard care alone vs standard care alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Quality of life ‐ not reported
Arginine butyrate plus standard care alone vs standard care alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Amputation ‐ not reported
Arginine butyrate plus standard care alone vs standard care alone
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Adverse events
Arginine butyrate plus standard care alone vs standard care alone
no estimate extracted1 study · 23 participantsUngraded

Propionyl‐L‐carnitine compared with placebo for leg ulcers in people with sickle cell disease

Population: individuals with sickle cell disease and a leg ulcer
7 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Complete leg ulcer closure (defined as 100% epithelization or skin closure without drainage) ‐ not reported
Propionyl‐L‐carnitine vs placebo
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Time to ulcer closure ‐ not reported
Propionyl‐L‐carnitine vs placebo
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Change in ulcer size (surface area or volume)
Propionyl‐L‐carnitine vs placebo
no estimate extracted1 study · 15 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Ulcer‐free survival following treatment for SCLU (free from leg ulcer recurrence) ‐ not reported
Propionyl‐L‐carnitine vs placebo
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Quality of life ‐ not reported
Propionyl‐L‐carnitine vs placebo
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Amputation ‐ not reported
Propionyl‐L‐carnitine vs placebo
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Adverse events ‐ not measured
Propionyl‐L‐carnitine vs placebo
no estimate extractedNRNo studies

RGD peptide matrix compared with placebo for leg ulcers in people with sickle cell disease

Population: individuals with sickle cell disease and leg ulcer
7 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Complete closureUlcer area was determined by computerized planimetry
RGD peptide matrix vs placebo
RR 0.4 [0.15, 1.04]1 study · 55 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Time to ulcer closure ‐ not reported
RGD peptide matrix vs placebo
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Change in size ulcers healed ‐ not reported
RGD peptide matrix vs placebo
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Ulcer‐free survival following treatment for SCLU (free from leg ulcer recurrence) ‐ not reported
RGD peptide matrix vs placebo
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Quality of life ‐ not reported
RGD peptide matrix vs placebo
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Amputation ‐ not reported
RGD peptide matrix vs placebo
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Adverse events
RGD peptide matrix vs placebo
RR 0.76 [0.5, 1.17]1 study · 55 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision

Solcoseryl compared with antiseptic agent for leg ulcers in people with sickle cell disease

Population: individuals with sickle cell disease and leg ulcer
7 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Complete leg ulcer closure ‐ not reported
Solcoseryl vs antiseptic agent
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Time to closure ‐ not reported
Solcoseryl vs antiseptic agent
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Change in ulcer size (surface area or volume)
Solcoseryl vs antiseptic agent
no estimate extracted1 study · 35 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Ulcer‐free survival following treatment for SCLU (free from leg ulcer recurrence) ‐ not reported
Solcoseryl vs antiseptic agent
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Quality of life ‐ not reported
Solcoseryl vs antiseptic agent
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Amputation ‐ not reported
Solcoseryl vs antiseptic agent
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Adverse events
Solcoseryl vs antiseptic agent
no estimate extracted1 study · 35 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision

Duoderm® (hydroactive dressing) compared with antiseptic agent for leg ulcers in people with sickle cell disease

Population: individuals with sickle cell disease and leg ulcer
7 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Complete leg ulcer closure ‐ not reported
Duoderm® (hydroactive dressing) vs antiseptic agent
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Time to closure ‐ not reported
Duoderm® (hydroactive dressing) vs antiseptic agent
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Change in ulcer size (surface area or volume)
Duoderm® (hydroactive dressing) vs antiseptic agent
no estimate extracted1 study · 35 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Ulcer‐free survival following treatment for SCLU (free from leg ulcer recurrence) ‐ not reported
Duoderm® (hydroactive dressing) vs antiseptic agent
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Quality of life ‐ not reported
Duoderm® (hydroactive dressing) vs antiseptic agent
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Amputation ‐ not reported
Duoderm® (hydroactive dressing) vs antiseptic agent
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Adverse events
Duoderm® (hydroactive dressing) vs antiseptic agent
no estimate extracted1 study · 35 participantsUngraded