Cochrane · systematic review · CD006383
Insulin detemir versus insulin glargine for type 2 diabetes mellitus
Swinnen, SG, Simon, ACR, Holleman, F, et al. · Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews · 2011 · Cochrane Library
Metabolic and Endocrine DisordersAMSTAR 2: not assessed
SoF tableOnly the outcomes this review put in its Summary of Findings table are listed (the Cochrane Handbook caps them at about seven per comparison). Its other analyses are not shown here.
Questions
7
current version
GRADE rated
5
No studies
2
Included studies
NR
No studies 2 · 28.6%Ungraded 0 · 0%Very low 0 · 0%Low 4 · 57.1%Moderate 0 · 0%High 1 · 14.3%
Ungraded means an effect was reported without a GRADE rating; it is not a gap. No studies means the review found nothing to answer the question. The six categories are a display order, not a score.
Questions and results
Insulin detemir (intervention) vs. Insulin glargin (control) for type 2 diabetes mellitus
Population: patients with type 2 diabetes mellitus
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Mortality ‐ not reported Insulin detemir (intervention) vs Insulin glargin (control) | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Quality of life and treatment satisfaction ‐ not reported Insulin detemir (intervention) vs Insulin glargin (control) | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Change in HbA1c Insulin detemir (intervention) vs Insulin glargin (control) | no estimate extracted | 4 studies · 2250 participants | Low Downgraded: indirectness |
Percentage of participants having at least one severe hypoglycaemic event Insulin detemir (intervention) vs Insulin glargin (control) | RR 0.82 [0.51, 1.32] | 4 studies · 2252 participants | Low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision |
Percentage of participants having at least one hypoglycaemic event Insulin detemir (intervention) vs Insulin glargin (control) | RR 0.98 [0.92, 1.05] | 4 studies · 2252 participants | Low Downgraded: risk of bias |
Weight gain Insulin detemir (intervention) vs Insulin glargin (control) | no estimate extracted | 4 studies · 2250 participants | High |
Percentage of participants having at least one injection site reaction Insulin detemir (intervention) vs Insulin glargin (control) | RR 3.31 [1.13, 9.73] | 4 studies · 2252 participants | Low Downgraded: risk of bias |