Cochrane · systematic review · CD003171
Surgical interventions for bilateral congenital cataract in children aged two years and under
Singh, R, Barker, L, Chen, SI, et al. · Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews · 2022 · Cochrane Library
Eyes and VisionAMSTAR 2: not assessed
SoF tableOnly the outcomes this review put in its Summary of Findings table are listed (the Cochrane Handbook caps them at about seven per comparison). Its other analyses are not shown here.
Questions
7
current version
GRADE rated
4
No studies
3
Included studies
NR
No studies 3 · 42.9%Ungraded 0 · 0%Very low 4 · 57.1%Low 0 · 0%Moderate 0 · 0%High 0 · 0%
Ungraded means an effect was reported without a GRADE rating; it is not a gap. No studies means the review found nothing to answer the question. The six categories are a display order, not a score.
Questions and results
Summary of findings table ‐ Pseudophakia compared to aphakia for bilateral congenital cataracts
Population: children younger than two years of age with bilateral congenital cataracts
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Visual acuity Summary of findings table ‐ Pseudophakia vs aphakia | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 54 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision |
Visual axis opacification Summary of findings table ‐ Pseudophakia vs aphakia | RR 1.29 [0.23, 7.13] | 1 study · 54 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision |
Amblyopia ‐ not reported Summary of findings table ‐ Pseudophakia vs aphakia | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Glaucoma at 5 years Summary of findings table ‐ Pseudophakia vs aphakia | RR 0.86 [0.24, 3.1] | 1 study · 54 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision |
Retinal detachment ‐ not reported Summary of findings table ‐ Pseudophakia vs aphakia | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Reoperation rate ‐ not reported Summary of findings table ‐ Pseudophakia vs aphakia | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Adverse events Summary of findings table ‐ Pseudophakia vs aphakia | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 54 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision |