Question · asked by 1 review
Primary (complete) wound closure vs Secondary (partial) wound closure: Maximal mouth opening (interincisal distance)
- Population
- Adults with mandibular third molars requiring removal
- Intervention
- Primary (complete) wound closure
- Comparison
- Secondary (partial) wound closure
- Outcome
- Maximal mouth opening (interincisal distance)
Primary (complete) wound closure showed no clear difference in maximum mouth opening (mean) compared with secondary (partial) wound closure; GRADE not reported.
What each review found
Include earlier review versions| Finding | Effect | Studies | GRADE certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Primary (complete) wound closure vs Secondary (partial) wound closure Maximum mouth opening (mean) · Adults with mandibular third molars requiring removal · 7 days Primary (complete) wound closure showed no clear difference in maximum mouth opening (mean) compared with secondary (partial) wound closure; GRADE not reported. Surgical techniques for the removal of mandibular wisdom teeth (2020) · Cochrane All outcomes | MD -0.29 [-0.90, 0.32] | 4 studies · 274 participants | GRADE not reported |
Findings are shown side by side, never pooled across reviews.
The reviews
| Review | Searched up to | Included studies | AMSTAR 2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Surgical techniques for the removal of mandibular wisdom teeth 2020 · Cochrane All outcomes | 2019-07 | Not listed | Not assessed |
How reviews are matched to this question
Reviews word the same question differently. Four decision models (TypeSafe's Jev, Liquid AI's d1-ultra, SubQ Snap and Baseten's Elephant) judged each wording of the population, intervention, comparator and outcome against the others; two wordings count as the same when at least three of them agree and none clearly disagrees, and findings count as this question only when all four elements match. Timing, setting and subgroup never split a question: they are shown on each finding.