Question · asked by 1 review

Coronectomy vs Complete extraction (odontectomy): Maximal mouth opening (interincisal distance)

Population
Adults with mandibular third molars requiring removal
Intervention
Coronectomy
Comparison
Complete extraction (odontectomy)
Outcome
Maximal mouth opening (interincisal distance)

Coronectomy showed no clear difference in maximum mouth opening (mean) compared with complete extraction (odontectomy); GRADE not reported.

What each review found

Include earlier review versions
FindingEffectStudiesGRADE certainty
Coronectomy vs Complete extraction (odontectomy)
Maximum mouth opening (mean) · Adults with mandibular third molars requiring removal · 7 days
Coronectomy showed no clear difference in maximum mouth opening (mean) compared with complete extraction (odontectomy); GRADE not reported.
Surgical techniques for the removal of mandibular wisdom teeth (2020) · Cochrane All outcomes
MD -2.94 [-8.20, 2.32]1 study · 30 participantsGRADE not reported

Findings are shown side by side, never pooled across reviews.

The reviews

ReviewSearched up toIncluded studiesAMSTAR 2
Surgical techniques for the removal of mandibular wisdom teeth
2020 · Cochrane All outcomes
2019-07Not listedNot assessed
How reviews are matched to this question

Reviews word the same question differently. Four decision models (TypeSafe's Jev, Liquid AI's d1-ultra, SubQ Snap and Baseten's Elephant) judged each wording of the population, intervention, comparator and outcome against the others; two wordings count as the same when at least three of them agree and none clearly disagrees, and findings count as this question only when all four elements match. Timing, setting and subgroup never split a question: they are shown on each finding.